Technique
10-13-2006, 03:24 PM
I wake up this morning and check my email as usual only to find that "I" have sent $60 to someone who I don't even know or have had any transactions with. I wasn't the one who sent it. The first thing that crossed my mine was to change all of my eBay, PayPal, Gmail passwords to ensure that this didn't happen again. Then I called PayPal to report this and the lady sent me an email walking me through the steps of claiming it back. She told me that I must've come in contact with a spoof PayPal email or something, but to be honest I am VERY careful about that and I always check to make sure it's not. She then proceeded to tell me that it would take 7-10 business days (?!) to recieve my refund back IF I win the case.
Here's the contact information associated with the person's PayPal account.
Business Name:
Twisted Assault
Email:
twistedassault@gmail.com
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Business Contact Information
Customer Service URL: http://www.twisted-assault.com
Customer Service Email: twistedassault@gmail.com
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total Amount:
-$60.00 USD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date:
Oct. 13, 2006
Time:
05:28:32 PDT
Status:
Completed
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've checked the website and it doesn't seem to be working. I looked it up on whois.org and it looks like it's registered through a proxy.
Any suggestions on what else I should do? Just wait? Can someone help me figure out who did this maybe? :evil: Has this happend to anyone else before?
Here's the contact information associated with the person's PayPal account.
Business Name:
Twisted Assault
Email:
twistedassault@gmail.com
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Business Contact Information
Customer Service URL: http://www.twisted-assault.com
Customer Service Email: twistedassault@gmail.com
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total Amount:
-$60.00 USD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date:
Oct. 13, 2006
Time:
05:28:32 PDT
Status:
Completed
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've checked the website and it doesn't seem to be working. I looked it up on whois.org and it looks like it's registered through a proxy.
Any suggestions on what else I should do? Just wait? Can someone help me figure out who did this maybe? :evil: Has this happend to anyone else before?