PDA

View Full Version : Would you guys trust this DVD site?


TJordan522
04-24-2007, 12:21 PM
They have really low prices, but they seem a bit suspicious. What do you think?

www.bakpakmedia.com

exileinoblivion
04-24-2007, 12:26 PM
give them a call and see if you can find out more on their business liscence or anything like that.

It does seem a little odd to me that they don't list what regions the imported sets come from though.

Neo Queen Serenity
04-24-2007, 12:28 PM
I wouldn't trust them since all their DVDs are region free, which is usually a good sign of the DVDs being bootlegs.

In the FAQ section it says that the DVDs are region free.

Illini Jeeper
04-24-2007, 12:57 PM
*Sarcastic* You mean to tell me that CSI seasons 1-6 for $40 isn't real?! */Sarcastic* If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

elwood731
04-24-2007, 12:59 PM
They're most likely Hong Kong bootlegs.

Maklershed
04-24-2007, 01:10 PM
I would certainly not trust it. But thats up for you to decide.

PKRipp3r
04-24-2007, 01:15 PM
the whole site is just a modified flash template

and a crappy one at that

go with your gut instinct in cases like this....

it's usually right

Graystone
04-24-2007, 01:25 PM
Its a site thats either going to steal your credit card, or send you bootlegs from Hong Kong. Hell maybe even both.

speedy1961
04-24-2007, 07:02 PM
No.... I would NOT trust this site.

Enter / do business with them at your peril.

TJordan522
04-24-2007, 07:40 PM
Thanks for your help guys. I was relatively sure they were bad news, but I just wanted to check.

Well, being that I CAN'T get CSI Seasons 1-6 for $50, do you know where I can get a good deal on it?

Maklershed
04-24-2007, 07:45 PM
Thanks for your help guys. I was relatively sure they were bad news, but I just wanted to check.

Well, being that I CAN'T get CSI Seasons 1-6 for $50, do you know where I can get a good deal on it?

Well, assuming they'll stay on schedule .. www.deepdiscountdvd.com should be having their huge bi-annual sale very soon (like within a month). Their dvds are generally priced pretty low to begin with and then it'll be an additional 20% off each item and free shipping.

Ikohn4ever
04-24-2007, 07:47 PM
ehh you could always try one of those online credit cards prepaid for a certain amount

MrNEWZ
04-26-2007, 11:12 AM
A few interesting "catches":
Subtitle are also available in English, and in a foreign language. <-- "subtitle"

Also, on the FAQ page, you need to order *10* or more of the items listed to get them at the "Wholesale" Price. The return policy is non-existant (if we send you the wrong item ONLY).

Money Orders should be made to EZXchange, which also is a red flag. EZXchange's site: http://www.ezxchange.net/index.htm

There's anothe EZXchange here: http://www.ezxchange.org/

The whois for both EZXchanges are virtually blank.

The one for BakPak:

WHOIS information for: bakpakmedia.com:

[whois.crsnic.net]

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.


Domain Name: BAKPAKMEDIA.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net
Referral URL: http://WWW.TUCOWS.COM
Name Server: NS5.IXWEBHOSTING.COM
Name Server: NS6.IXWEBHOSTING.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 28-dec-2006
Creation Date: 28-dec-2006
Expiration Date: 28-dec-2007

>>> Last update of whois database: Thu, 26 Apr 2007 14:12:39 UTC <<<

NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring
registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar's Whois database to
view the registrar's reported date of expiration for this registration.

TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois
database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and
automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or
modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry
Services' ("VeriSign") Whois database is provided by VeriSign for
information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information
about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not
guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query, you agree to abide
by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only
for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data
to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone,
or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation,
repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly
prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to
use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or
query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register
domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right
to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure
operational stability. VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the
Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign
reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
Registrars.

[whois.opensrs.net]
IP Address: 128.121.95.55
Maximum Daily connection limit reached. Lookup refused.

linkpwns
05-03-2007, 04:41 PM
Now they have nothing but Baby Einstein dvds... and only 2 of them

Fakes...

Rozz
05-03-2007, 05:53 PM
BakPak Media is founded on the concept of you the consumer creatively saving money on media needs. We have the best price on Baby Einstein 23 DVD Set on the market.

http://www.bakpakmedia.com/images/business%20people%201.jpg
You'd have to be a total idiot to order from this site.

Also, look at the Baby Einstein image. The idiots didnt even bother taking away the eBay watermark when they stole the image from someone's eBay listing. Funny.