View Full Version : Fake CAG site?
magicalhairyarm
02-06-2010, 01:56 AM
While going through some google results I clicked on a link that I believed was a link to this site's forums. Later on, after looking at my history, I noticed that the links were actually to "www.cheapassgamers.com", with an S, and not "www.cheapassgamer.com".
I didn't notice anything strange while browsing through a few threads. Is that url a legit alternate or a bogus site? Should I be worried?
twiceborn
02-06-2010, 03:06 AM
Alternate/legit? Maybe? Worried? Most definitely.
krinjchrist
02-06-2010, 03:17 AM
If you do a whois on it, it shows up as owned by CheapyD. No worries!
Chairman_LMAO
02-06-2010, 03:29 AM
Cheapy's got a ton of sites that lead to CAG. Try cheapyd.com and cagcast.com.
shrike4242
02-06-2010, 09:21 AM
Anyone that owns a site usually tries to pick up some of the same site names that are close to their true site name, to make sure if you typo the name, it ends up still coming here.
Other people will pick up the typo'd-name sites, stick advertising up there and try to benefit from people's typographical mistakes. That, and try to ransom up the other names to the real siteholder to make some money by selling said sites.
James1221
02-06-2010, 09:36 AM
Alternate/legit? Maybe? Worried? Most definitely.
Mordin much