PDA

View Full Version : Is this seller a scammer? - The sequel... he's at it again


judyjudyjudy
11-20-2004, 12:53 AM
Okay, so I commented on a seller selling a Panasonic Q using pictures from someone auctions in this thread.

Well... he seems to be at it again. I think this is a case of phishing eBay accounts, as it's a totally different seller now, but a lot of the same auctions (ie G4 w/ high end camera (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=80040&item=5733875 257&rd=1) and Atari 2600 w/30 games (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62054&item=8149016 305&rd=1)). Here are his auctions...

http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQgotopageZ1QQsassZmQ5fbQ5f123QQsorecordsperpag eZ25QQsosortorderZ1QQsosortpropertyZ1



***Older stuff***********************************
So, I'm still looking for a Panasonic Q due to unfortunate circumstances, so I regularly check the eBay auctions for them. I saw this auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62054&item=8148289 228&rd=1

The title and the pictures are identical to a previous auction I checked out. I remember this because the picture of the Q has a scratch underneath the first memory card slot. And if you look at his other auctions, they're all high value auctions that end in < 24hours. Like

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62054&item=8148282 954&rd=1

which is identical to auctions by this (much more reputable) seller, like

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62054&item=8147610 259&rd=1

His other auctions are similar to other ended auctions of other sellers as well. The guy also doesn't mention shipping options or payment options in any of his auctions. I hate to be all eBay police-like, but isn't this really sketchy? I mean, it could be he just happens to have all the exact same high value items and is too lazy to make his own listings, but that's a lot of auctions.

dnt_h8me2
11-20-2004, 12:57 AM
$58 for the Panasonic Q? Damn, I'm gonna have to watch this auction very closely...
EDIT: The guy does have 100% feedback, so I really dunno what to think.

dcfox
11-20-2004, 01:04 AM
Both auctions match each other word for word. Unless they are the same person, thats pretty strange. But I wouldn't bid on it unless you get a shipping price first as a precaution. Everything else looks like he's on the up and up, though.

help1
11-20-2004, 01:09 AM
Hey, ur dcfox, ive heard bad things from you.... what are you infamous for?

dcfox
11-20-2004, 01:11 AM
Hey, ur dcfox, ive heard bad things from you.... what are you infamous for?

Bad things from or about me? But I'm just your average CAG user, nothing special here. :idea:

dnt_h8me2
11-20-2004, 01:12 AM
Hey, ur dcfox, ive heard bad things from you.... what are you infamous for?
Your a Cheap Ass All-Star and you've never heard anything about dcfox? Wild!

Alpha2
11-20-2004, 01:14 AM
It looks to me like it's multiple sets being sold with the same pictures. I'd email the guy and ask him direct questions.

judyjudyjudy
11-20-2004, 01:22 AM
Some of the auctions are really unique though... like a highend Canon camera with a iMac G4 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=80040&item=5733366 280&rd=1) which this seller also has listed (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=80040&item=3853944 828&rd=1).

YoshiFan1
11-20-2004, 01:23 AM
Maybe the seller is just lazy and stole someone else's pictures and descriptions. It happens a lot, I'd still be cautious though.

bmulligan
11-20-2004, 01:44 AM
He just happens to have the same 30 atari 2600 games as the guy he stole the picture from ? A few of them aren't necessarily common. I'd be EXTREMELY suspicious of a guy who has identical pictures and descriptions as another auction with a different name.

judyjudyjudy
11-20-2004, 05:19 AM
He also happens to have the same 54 gameboy games (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62054&item=8148286 370&rd=1) as a another seller (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62054&item=8146374 093&rd=1) had previously sold.

Also, the Panasonic Q auction seems to have been pulled.

Vicious
11-20-2004, 09:07 AM
Report him immediately. I'd hate to see that poor person lose almost 2grand on that fake apple g4 auction

YoshiFan1
11-20-2004, 12:02 PM
I didn't realize the lots were identical, I just thought for the Panasonic Q, maybe they just stole the picture. Definetly not legit then if the lots are the same.

judyjudyjudy
11-20-2004, 01:56 PM
Well someone reported him, as it seems that all his auctions have been pulled, but he (kc5nib) is still registered. He has some completed auctions from people who did Buy It Now. I hope he doesn't just get a slap on a wrist.

judyjudyjudy
11-22-2004, 07:59 PM
He's back :P

help1
11-22-2004, 08:08 PM
taht is why I no longer buy from ebay...

judyjudyjudy
11-22-2004, 08:09 PM
Wow, they're gone already... nevermind