PDA

View Full Version : EBay Fraud?


Scorch
01-24-2005, 01:45 AM
I got this in my e-mail.. pretty sure it's fake, mainly because the email I received it on is not associated with an ebay account (to my knowledge)..

TKO Notice: Urgent Fraud Investigation Inbox

eBay@reply3.ebay.com
to me
Show options 7:59pm (3½ hours ago)

Warning: This message may not be from whom it claims to be. Beware of following any links in it or of providing the sender with any personal information. Learn more

External images are not displayed. Display external images
***Urgent Fraud Prevention Group Notice***

You have received this email because we have strong reason to believe that your eBay account had been recently compromised. In order to prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring we are required to open an investigation into this matter. To speed up this process, you are required to verify your eBay account by following the link below.

https://signin.ebay.com/saw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn&UsingSSL=1
(To complete the verification process you must fill in all the required fields)

Please Note: If your account informations are not updated within the next 72 hours, then we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. We apologize for this inconvenience, but the purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.

We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.
Thank you for your attention on this serious matter. We apologize for any delay in resolving this situation.

Regards,

Morris Franklin
eBay SafeHarbor
Investigations Team

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
eBay treats your personal information with the utmost care, and our Privacy Policy is designed to protect you and your information.
Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.
eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.





The stuff at the bottom made me think it's real, but I'm still not sure. Has anyone else gotten this notice? It also came with an "external image", which linked to..

http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/email/eBayLogo.gif

and it also links to a link from ebay.. I just don't know..

Fake?

mtxbass1
01-24-2005, 01:46 AM
forward it to spoof@ebay.com

They'll tell you if it's fake or not.

suko_32
01-24-2005, 01:50 AM
Ebay never asks for stuff like this so it's fake.

Rig
01-24-2005, 01:58 AM
Yep. IMO, this is a fake. Send it to that spoof email and let them look.

Xtreme331
01-24-2005, 02:00 AM
yah it's fake. I got the same exact e-mail a while ago and fell for it! Doh! Fortunately, i realized my mistake about two minutes later and went (on my own) to ebay and changed my password. The people who faked me where even resourceful enough to send me another email saying that someone had recently been trying to access my ebay account and would i please click on this link and confirm my identity by entering my id and password. :roll: sorry i'll only fall for that one once. Definitely pass any suspicious e-mails onto spoof@ebay.com. and remember, ALWAYS sign in to ebay only when you go to ebay on your own, never through an e-mail or other link.

gnawingonfoot
01-24-2005, 02:02 AM
They're all fakes.

ZForce915
01-24-2005, 02:05 AM
Just scanning over it this looks pretty good. But yeah, it's fake.

Scorch
01-24-2005, 02:14 AM
The email you reported was not sent by eBay. We have reported this email
to the appropriate authorities.

*thumbs up*

Moxio
01-24-2005, 02:16 AM
Fake.

Saucy Jack
01-24-2005, 03:02 AM
Yep, I get these occasionally, along with fake PayPal e-mails, saying that someone in Europe tried to access my account. "Perhaps you were vacationing in Europe, which explains the situation," the e-mail said. Gave me a good laugh.

Also, I had received a couple of fake e-mails from PayPal claiming to be invoices, saying that purchased a copy of Myst III for $290.00 (with Free Shipping, nonetheless), and to pay "cellphoneseller" within 3 days. That was too much. :)

camoor
01-24-2005, 07:42 AM
Wow.

I just sent them all of my information, including my mother's maiden name and social security number, just to be safe.

It's good ebay is still looking out for us, I'd hate to get caught by the scammers :wink:

pimpinc333
01-24-2005, 07:55 AM
Wow.

I just sent them all of my information, including my mother's maiden name and social security number, just to be safe.

It's good ebay is still looking out for us, I'd hate to get caught by the scammers :wink:

Holy Shit!!! I just did the same thing yesterday. I even sent them my Credit Cards and keys to my car.

The Successful Dropout
01-24-2005, 08:14 AM
i get that same exact email once a week....

moiety
01-24-2005, 10:15 AM
Ebay never asks for stuff like this so it's fake.

No online company/service ever asks for any of your information. They have it all on file. Scammers make it look legit, hell look at the reply email. It's close, but the 'reply3' before the ebay.com is the red alert. Unfortunately, a lot of people fall for this stuff.

Follandboy
01-24-2005, 10:19 AM
I get emails from eBay all of the time saying my account will be canceled and the such. Around 3 or 4 a week and I have been getting them for over a year now. I have ignored them all and my account is still up and going.

soulwish2003
01-24-2005, 10:24 AM
FAKE - I get a few of them a day...

sman113
01-24-2005, 10:25 AM
me too. i see to be getting at least three or four per week from ebay and one a week from paypal

screwkick
01-24-2005, 10:35 AM
It's a fake, I got one of these about a month ago. Send it to eBay. And make sure you don't log onto your account through that email, otherwise your account is hacked.