PDA

View Full Version : Buying a car from someone overseas.


Sulmona
03-15-2005, 01:48 AM
I found a listing on cars.com for a Toyota Celica that has been modified, including nas, and 3 lcd screens for only $6,000 (the listing is no longer up). However, the problem is the seller resides in Athens with the car(says he is on military duty). He referred me to his lawyer who will handle the sale. Does anyone know how I would go about doing this? Obviously I cannot send $6,000 overseas until I see the car. Would it be fair for me to demand him to ship the car before I would be willing to pay a dime. I do not want to be scammed.

zion
03-15-2005, 01:52 AM
There is a form of transcation where payment is held by a 3rd party until the item is delivered. I forget what it is called though.

I think it's Escrow?

Sulmona
03-15-2005, 01:56 AM
would escrow allow me to see the car before payment occurred?

zion
03-15-2005, 01:59 AM
would escrow allow me to see the car before payment occurred?

What normally happens in an escrow transation is that they money is held and after the item is delivered and it's condition is checked payment is sent to the seller. Keep in mind that escrow transactions do cost you a fee to pay buy, but if he won't even consider it then the deal is more than likely a scam. You might do best in simply hiring a mechanic in Athens to check it out and mail you a couple of pictures.

Still buying overseas is always a bit iffy.

bignick
03-15-2005, 11:02 AM
I would do escrow. Shipping is gonna be alot though.

Sulmona
03-15-2005, 05:19 PM
here is the email he sent me:
Hello !
Sorry for delay.
I'm glad that you like my Celica GTS and I can only say that you have good taste
about cars!
I hope i will take arround $5,850 for my car.
I am glad to inform you that the car is in a perfect condition,has never been
involved in any accidents , has never been raced, It has a clear title and I
have registrated in USA, now I am currently located in Athena,Greece Athena
with the car.
I moved here two months ago when I got married.
Im in the U.S.Army (lieutenant), and here in base on Greece Athena i have here a
mission for ~1 year (more.....sorry secret!!!).
I put a low price because me and my wife decided to buy a car from here , from
Athens and i need money for this and I don't have time to stay for a high
price.
The car was never involved in an accident.
I took care of it like it was my own baby and now is in the same condition as it
was when I bought it - even better!
I have the car down here with me and i tryed to register it but it is too
difficult.
I try to sell my car on the internet 2 mounts ago when i was arrived here in
Athens but on the internet is a lots scammers that copy/paste my pics and scam
the people. Im in the army and i dont have the time for come back in US and
sell the car from US and i know i will sell the car at hight price than $9,000
If you are interested in the car please advice your full addresse so I can
estimate shipping cost and I will let you know my terms and conditions.
Please note that I have no time to waste or money and I think neither do you, so
I am asking seriousity.
Respectfully,
John

moiety
03-15-2005, 05:25 PM
Not the best grammar/spelling. :?

Have you gotten the VIN#? That might help in getting a history of the car, repairs, owners, etc.

Personally I wouldn't buy a car from overseas, but if you decide to go through with it, escrow is your best option. Everything might be fine, but be a wary consumer.

BigDirty
03-15-2005, 05:42 PM
A luitenent in the Army should be able to communicate better than that. Be very wary. Very very wary.

zion
03-15-2005, 05:50 PM
After reading that email I would stay far away, the grammer is terrible and it reads like every other Nigerian email scam I've read.

Grave_Addiction
03-15-2005, 06:00 PM
First off, we in the military, don't have "missions." We have assignments. That guy is no lieutenant.

Also, it's not nas, it's NOS. And no one would put NOS on a car if they had no intention of racing ... unless it was a show car, that is.

This is so clearly a scam.

The only military base/post I have found in Greece is Souda Bay Naval Support Activity in Chania, Greece.

Also, if this guy's "mission" is so secret, I highly doubt the Army would let his wife come along with him.

If you're that interested in the car, e-mail him back and ask him for his real name, what post he's stationed at, the name of his commander and his phone number.

MrBadExample
03-15-2005, 06:00 PM
So he bought the car in the US, shipped it to Athens, then found out it was too difficult to register there so now he wants to sell it back to the US?

Scam, scam, scam, scam, scam!

You'd be foolish to send him $6 much less $6000.

moiety
03-15-2005, 06:05 PM
I guess the saying holds true: "If it seems too good to be true..."

zewone
03-15-2005, 06:11 PM
Scam.