PDA

View Full Version : Check out this sham job...


CheapyD
06-28-2005, 03:03 PM
It was one of the google ads...I'll be blocking it shortly.

http://www.eidosgames.us/

Here is the original:
http://www.eidosgames.com/

Blade
06-28-2005, 03:07 PM
That's a nice scam job. It's not hard to scam, but still.

Thanks for telling us about this. I probably would've fallen for it. :sad:

uzumaki_star
06-28-2005, 03:08 PM
Now that my friend is some shady shit.

Strell
06-28-2005, 03:08 PM
"Battel Field"

Machine
06-28-2005, 03:10 PM
How can you be clever enough to set up a phony website but too stupid to spell correctly? Amazing...

Scorch
06-28-2005, 03:12 PM
How can you be clever enough to set up a phony website but too stupid to spell correctly? Amazing...

Especially considering the fact that its on the box.

the3rdkey
06-28-2005, 03:19 PM
These are some great deals. I picked up Doom 3 and Half-Life 2 for under $15.

psiufoxx2
06-28-2005, 05:27 PM
I made sure to enter all of my credit card information. And where it said "Comments" I added in my social security # and blood type, just in case. I sure hope I get my $5 copy of Thief soon!!

TimTucker
06-28-2005, 06:47 PM
Text on the fake site was overlapping in Mozilla due to some odd CSS or some such problem.

Real site doesn't have the problem. Amazing how they managed to add bugs in addition to the spelling mistakes when copying.

PenguinMaster
06-28-2005, 06:52 PM
They even put non-Eidos games in the store!

hiccupleftovers
06-29-2005, 05:12 PM
Text on the fake site was overlapping in Mozilla due to some odd CSS or some such problem.

Real site doesn't have the problem. Amazing how they managed to add bugs in addition to the spelling mistakes when copying.

yup, had the same errors on mine. That's a pretty good scam, minus the spelling mistakes and errors. Good thing we have our ever vigilant CheapyD on the lookout for us.

help1
06-29-2005, 05:19 PM
google ads are all scams.

Seventh
06-29-2005, 05:20 PM
The scam site was pretty accurate to the real site except for those small mistakes caught by our intelligent CAGers here :-). I betcha anything the average joe would have fallen for it...

Backlash
06-29-2005, 06:55 PM
The scam site loads about a billion times faster than the real Eidos site. Doh.

guessed
06-29-2005, 07:04 PM
On the checkout page, the "Conditions of Use", and the "Privacy Notice", both link to Amazon.

GreenMonkey
06-29-2005, 07:12 PM
Did anyone send an email to Eidos to notify them?

doraemonkerpal
06-29-2005, 07:18 PM
These are some great deals. I picked up Doom 3 and Half-Life 2 for under $15.

The scam site loads about a billion times faster than the real Eidos site. Doh.

On the checkout page, the "Conditions of Use", and the "Privacy Notice", both link to Amazon.

LOL!

i can see how an uninformed internet shopper could fall for this site :(

GuilewasNK
06-29-2005, 07:57 PM
That's some jacked up stuff right there.

AdamInPlaidum
06-29-2005, 08:01 PM
Bizarro! Bizarro!