PDA

View Full Version : HELP: Is this Legit or a Scam?


Wlogan31
03-23-2006, 02:53 PM
I signed up for a Chase Circuit City Rewards card in December and have been using it ever since to earn money towards future purchases @ CC. Today, I received an e-mail looking like this:

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/3126/mes5tf.gif (http://mail.bellarmine.edu/exchweb/bin/redir.asp?URL=http://ityt.net/~hong/https:/chaseonline.chase.com/survey/)

Clicking the link takes me to this:

http://ityt.net/~hong/https:/chaseonline.chase.com/survey/

I'm just trying to figure out if this is legit or a scam because I could always use $20. It appears to be real to me, but I wasn't sure.

Thanks in advance!
Will

Scorch
03-23-2006, 02:56 PM
Can't you tell by looking at the link?

http://ityt.net/~hong/https:/chaseonline.chase.com/survey/

If I'm not mistaking, this guy's biggybacking onto the secure link. So no, don't click it.

//edit: Yes, scam.

http://rjohara.net/pfishing-scams/2006-chase-bank-online-department

Wlogan31
03-23-2006, 03:16 PM
Can't you tell by looking at the link?

http://ityt.net/~hong/https:/chaseonline.chase.com/survey/

If I'm not mistaking, this guy's biggybacking onto the secure link. So no, don't click it.

//edit: Yes, scam.

http://rjohara.net/pfishing-scams/2006-chase-bank-online-department

Why would I have asked if I could tell...thanks anyhow...

Mr Unoriginal
03-23-2006, 03:17 PM
Yeah I did it, it was great and I got $20!

eldad9
03-23-2006, 04:14 PM
It's good that you asked, but scary that you had to.

How likely is it that a Chinese company hosts a personal web page of a user called "Hong" who is collecting marketing data - non-securely, of course - on behalf of a U.S. bank?

What's even more scary is that some people actually go ahead and fall for it.

And there's no way to bring this person to justice.