PDA

View Full Version : GTA Chicago - PS3 - 2007 hoax


SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 07:52 PM
http://www.gtachicago.com/

I AM WILLIAM H. MACY
03-31-2006, 08:06 PM
Sucks that it's only for PS3.

gtguru
03-31-2006, 08:10 PM
Sucks that its probably not real...I don't think that site is linked to from the rockstar sites, and it would be announced everywhere if it was true, I would think.

Ugamer_X
03-31-2006, 08:14 PM
fake

http://www.rockstargames.com/legal/

Edit: nice april fools joke for whoever did it.

SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 08:16 PM
fake

http://www.rockstargames.com/legal/

Edit: nice april fools joke for whoever did it.

...I really dont care either way...but how does Rockstar legal make it fake?

Ugamer_X
03-31-2006, 08:17 PM
...I really dont care either way...but how does Rockstar legal make it fake?
From that page...

The Warriors ® & © 2005 Paramount Pictures. All Rights Reserved.

SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 08:19 PM
So The Warriors was on Gameboy Color? It's an all encompasing legal page, and since The Warriors was not created by rockstar, they need that to cover thier butts

I AM WILLIAM H. MACY
03-31-2006, 08:21 PM
So The Warriors was on Gameboy Color? It's an all encompasing legal page, and since The Warriors was not created by rockstar, they need that to cover thier butts
He's saying that they took that from The Warriors page, and forgot to edit that out.

Ugamer_X
03-31-2006, 08:22 PM
So The Warriors was on Gameboy Color? It's an all encompasing legal page, and since The Warriors was not created by rockstar, they need that to cover thier butts
That's okay, I'll give you the next few hours to work it out, write all your thoughts down on a piece of paper, and then you can forgive me later.

ryanbph
03-31-2006, 08:23 PM
With their legal problems, I can't imagine they would only release it on the ps3, unless sony gives them a ton of cash.

SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 08:26 PM
That's okay, I'll give you the next few hours to work it out, write all your thoughts down on a piece of paper, and then you can forgive me later.

http://www.rockstargames.com/midnightclub3/

Click on legal there smartass

Ugamer_X
03-31-2006, 08:28 PM
http://www.rockstargames.com/midnightclub3/

Click on legal there smartass
Yeah, I just noticed they do it with all their pages...but if you want to believe this, especially a day before April 1st, then be my guest.

OntheDL
03-31-2006, 08:29 PM
HOLY SHIT!SHIFTONE!!!ELEVEN!!! I hope they have the Sears Tower and Charlie Trotter's place. Fuck yeah. Big up Chi-Town. Frank Thomas, Al Capone all that shit. GTA FUCKIN CHICAGO.

evanft
03-31-2006, 08:34 PM
HOLY SHIT!SHIFTONE!!!ELEVEN!!! I hope they have the Sears Tower and Charlie Trotter's place. Fuck yeah. Big up Chi-Town. Frank Thomas, Al Capone all that shit. GTA FUCKIN CHICAGO.

Retawd.

SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 08:36 PM
Yeah, I just noticed they do it with all their pages...but if you want to believe this, especially a day before April 1st, then be my guest.
As previously noted...I dont give a shit either way. But i'll err on the side of truth until proven otherwise.

...and actually, found some more info out there about it taking place in 1930's Chicago (note the lettering for Chicago on that page)

BiLo
03-31-2006, 08:37 PM
Yeah, I just noticed they do it with all their pages...but if you want to believe this, especially a day before April 1st, then be my guest.
Chicago GTA is fake, but the legal page is real. Rockstar worked on The Warriors game last year... Wtf are you talking about.

scsg75
03-31-2006, 08:39 PM
Someone already debunked this on gamefaqs:

How odd that known GTA websites are registered through Network Solutions and list Rockstar New York as the website owner.

This "GTA Chicago" website hides behind a proxy service.

www.grandtheftautosanandeas.com results:

http://www.networksolutions.com


Registrant:
Rockstar Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US

Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOSANANDREAS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Administrator, System ContactMiddleName domains@take2games.com
Take 2 Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US
212-334-6633 fax: 212-334-6644

Record expires on 17-May-2013.
Record created on 04-Mar-2004.
Database last updated on 31-Mar-2006 19:25:36 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.5
NS5.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.4

Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited


www.grandtheftautochicago.com results:

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.

DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM
Created on: 05-Feb-06
Expires on: 05-Feb-07
Last Updated on: 04-Mar-06

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599

SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 08:41 PM
Someone already debunked this on gamefaqs:
STUFF


Good enough for me!

scsg75
03-31-2006, 08:42 PM
excluding that it's from gamefaqs, the fact that it is registered totally differently and by proxy than every other Rockstar site leads one to believe it is not originating from Rockstar and Take 2.

yukine
03-31-2006, 09:33 PM
Someone already debunked this on gamefaqs:

How odd that known GTA websites are registered through Network Solutions and list Rockstar New York as the website owner.

This "GTA Chicago" website hides behind a proxy service.

www.grandtheftautosanandeas.com (http://www.grandtheftautosanandeas.com) results:

http://www.networksolutions.com


Registrant:
Rockstar Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US

Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOSANANDREAS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Administrator, System ContactMiddleName domains@take2games.com
Take 2 Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US
212-334-6633 fax: 212-334-6644

Record expires on 17-May-2013.
Record created on 04-Mar-2004.
Database last updated on 31-Mar-2006 19:25:36 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.5
NS5.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.4

Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited


www.grandtheftautochicago.com (http://www.grandtheftautochicago.com) results:

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.

DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM
Created on: 05-Feb-06
Expires on: 05-Feb-07
Last Updated on: 04-Mar-06

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599

Go to the source... I did a Whois at GoDaddy and this turned up:

Domain servers in listed order:
APRIL.GTACHICAGO.COM
FOOLS.GTACHICAGO.COM

:lol:

SpottedNigel
03-31-2006, 09:37 PM
Nice :)

KEICHI
03-31-2006, 09:51 PM
lol owned.

OntheDL
03-31-2006, 10:23 PM
So, no Al Capone?

patrickcurry
03-31-2006, 11:05 PM
This has got to be a sack of bullshit

graf1k
03-31-2006, 11:35 PM
The biggest clue to me that this isn't legit is that fact that it's called GTA Chicago. Not since London 1969 has a GTA game used a real cities' name in it's games, and especially after all the hot coffee fallout, they won't dare ever again less they face a lawsuit from the city itself like that last True Crime NYC game.

zewone
04-02-2006, 12:15 AM
I already got a watch.