PDA

View Full Version : Need help proving this is a scammer. please help asap


projecteightysix
07-04-2006, 09:22 PM
My friend found a Canon XL2 (camera) and emailed the guy asking if it was the real deal, he replied


Hello!

The item is brand new , never used , in original box, the final price is 1000 USD + shipping taxes and includes an US warranty of 2 years .

If you are really interested to buy this product please email me your eBay id, full name ,full address and phone number for shipping and eBay Staff will contact you with the payment instructions to complete this transaction.

Please note that this transaction will be made through eBay (eBay guarantees the safety of this transaction).


Please reply with the following details:

eBay user ID:
First Name:
Last Name:
Street Address:
City:
State/Province:
Zip Code:
Country:
Phone Number:

Thank you !

At this time, my friend said he couldn't find the auction anymore (which got me even more suspicious), he replied with it all filled out (bad idea in my opinion) and he got this

I will contact eBay right now.

Then "ebay" sends him an invoice:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v353/projecteightysix/ebay-1.jpg

the pay now link takes me to http://security-resolutions-center-program.com/aw-cgi.txt which is just abunch of jumbled html and crap. and if you just goto the site itself its ebay.


Also, check this out from the email "From : eBay <aw-confirm@ebay.com>
Reply-To : admin@security-resolutions-center-program.com"



Please give me your opinions so my friend won't do something he'll regret.

Thanks guys.

Socheata
07-04-2006, 09:41 PM
Definitely a scam.

To the best of my knowledge, eBay NEVER sends out payment invoices for an auction.

mtxbass1
07-04-2006, 10:06 PM
To the best of my knowledge, eBay NEVER sends out payment invoices for an auction.

You can request an invoice from someone if you win an auction and don't pay for it instantly.

projecteightysix
07-04-2006, 10:10 PM
there isnt even a auction # or anything on the invoice though

TheBlueWizard
07-04-2006, 10:32 PM
This is obviously a scam. Your gullible friend will be out his $1000 and eBay won't be able to help him. Paypal won't either, since its not a legitimate auction (even then, Paypal doesn't give a shit, but that's another topic).

Just tell your friend to move on, otherwise he'll be sorry.

eBay doesn't do this sort of thing. If he didn't win an auction, how can there be an invoice? I guarantee you that if he looks in his "my eBay", there will be no record of this item being purchased by him. If he still trys to pay through the fraudulent email, then he's a bigger idiot than I thought and deserves to lose his money.

Its people like this, with little or no common sense, that keep these scammers in business. If morons out there didn't fall for this sort of thing all the time, there wouldn't be these emails floating around.

End of rant.

TBW

Koggit
07-05-2006, 12:02 AM
Not knowing much about the internet and/or online auctions doesn't make a person an idiot.

Although, yeah, eBay ID is the only thing he would've needed/wanted if legit. security-resolutions-center-program.com is funny though... it's like "officially-verified-safe-legitimate-business.com!"

wubb
07-05-2006, 09:58 AM
"(eBay guarantees the safety of this transaction)."

eBay doesn't guarantee the safety of any transaction AFAIK.

Pretty obvious the scammer just used the info from the form your buddy sent back to fill in that mocked up invoice.

Have your buddy forward that e-mail to spoof@ebay.com (have him include full headers if he knows how to do that) and he should get a response pretty quickly.