Quantcast Chrome Malware Warning
Check out the Price Tracker to see all of today's price drops! Follow CAG USA Video Game Deals on Twitter CAG Facebook CAG RSS Feed
Home

Search Bar

This search bar is a powerful tool for navigating CAG. You can use it to find the lowest prices on games, trade-in values, search members, forum and blog topics, and much more.

After searching for a game title, click the icon to pop-up a window with pricing information.

After typing in what you are looking for, you can filter your results by clicking on one of the tabs that pops up from the top of the search bar.

Tips

Looking for a game on a specific platform? Type in the platform name with the title!
Example: guitar hero 360

You don't need to click a pop-up tab to filter results. Just type what you are looking for right into the search bar.
Example: gears of war prices
Example: ninjatown review

Go Back   Cheap Ass Gamer > Forums > Cheap Ass Gamer Lifestyle > CAG News, Feedback & Site Assistance > Chrome Malware Warning
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

CAG News, Feedback & Site Assistance - The latest Cheap Ass Gamer site news will be posted here.
Users can post suggestions, feedback, questions about the site and any CAG related comments here.

Chrome Malware Warning

23 replies / 2879 views
Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2013, 11:51 PM   #1
Chrome Malware Warning

Quote:
Danger: Malware Ahead!
Google Chrome has blocked access to this page on www.cheapassgamer.com.

Content from www.qcksrv.com, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.

Malware is malicious software that causes things like identity theft, financial loss, and permanent file deletion. Learn more
Clicking on the details link brings up this page:
Quote:
What is the current listing status for www.qcksrv.com?
This site is not currently listed as suspicious.

What happened when Google visited this site?
Google has not visited this site within the past 90 days.

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, www.qcksrv.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
I'm also seeing a few other sites getting this warning and a quick search on Twitter shows that this is also happening a lot elsewhere, so I don't know if this is just a CAG problem or a problem with Chrome or the site in question.
__________________
Sign-up for the Ninth Annual CAG March Madness Contest Here

You read it. You can't unread it.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:00 AM   #2
I haven't gotten anything on CAG, but Firefox shows a warning when I try to go to Failblog.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:09 AM   #3
https://twitter.com/seanrea/status/298289094214164481

Here's one of the tweets noting this in my search and the search itself is showing hits on this in the last few minutes.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:20 AM   #4
I'm also using Chrome and got a Malware warning trying to access this page:

http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/...=337352&page=3
__________________

2011 Completed Games - 36 Games
2012 Completed Games - 29 Games
2013 Completed Games - ???

I support the*Give Us Bikini Anya Movement.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:39 AM   #5
Just got a warning from Chrome surfing CAG too:

Danger: Malware Ahead!
Google Chrome has blocked access to this page on www.cheapassgamer.com.
Content from cm.netseer.com, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:44 AM   #6
Same here, got it when going through the forums, using Chrome as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:52 AM   #7
Add me to the list. Having problems with malware alerts on CAG while using chrome too.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:45 AM   #8
I'm getting this as well. The last time something like this happened I think it was tied to someones signature.
__________________

XBL Achievement Trading Group
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:14 AM   #9
I'm having the exact same problem.
__________________


Feel free to add me on XBox Live and PSN!

Also, check out my CAG Blog! NEW POST: Top 5 Zelda Games

List of XBLA Games not to go on sale, 2010-2013 (Updated 5/8/13)
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:21 AM   #10
Just got a Malware alert when trying to access the PS3 forum on this site. WTF.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:32 AM   #11
Advertisement
Register for free to remove this ad

If someone gets this warning on a specific page, please paste the URL to that page here. I've checked over all posts, signatures, and user submitted content, and can't find any trace of that qcksrv url... and nothing in any of the pages linked in this thread so far. There's a chance that it was something submitted in a post that's already been removed and that the google warnings are cached from when it was first detected, since I believe it takes a while for those warnings to subside.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:55 AM   #12
Quote:
Originally Posted by John View Post
If someone gets this warning on a specific page, please paste the URL to that page here. I've checked over all posts, signatures, and user submitted content, and can't find any trace of that qcksrv url... and nothing in any of the pages linked in this thread so far. There's a chance that it was something submitted in a post that's already been removed and that the google warnings are cached from when it was first detected, since I believe it takes a while for those warnings to subside.
Got the cm.netseer.com malware warning at this URL.

http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/...splay.php?f=11
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:39 AM   #13
I got it on this page too! It loaded and then quickly switched to the screen which said the below. I stopped it from loading to read this page.
These links have given me the message:
http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/...archid=6333463
http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/...d.php?t=337628
And a bunch of other ones!
OK, my member page too!

Danger: Malware Ahead!
Google Chrome has blocked access to this page on www.cheapassgamer.com.
Content from cm.netseer.com, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.
Malware is malicious software that causes things like identity theft, financial loss, and permanent file deletion.
__________________


"The nationalist not only does not disapprove of atrocities committed by his own side, but he has a remarkable capacity for not even hearing about them." - George Orwell
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:48 AM   #14
Is anyone with these problems using any of the following extensions?

"Allow Right Click 1.2.13" extension
"send using Gmail (no button)" extension
"Ruul" extension
"Yontoo" extension
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:16 PM   #15
I received the malware warning in Google Chrome Version 25.0.1364.58 beta-m. It referenced content from netseer.com. The only extension I have is "Add to amazon Wish List" version 1.0.0.10. URL was from bookmarks, www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/index.php . OS is Win 7.

If anything further can help you, let me know.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 02:52 PM   #16
Seems to have gone away, I'm not getting it at all anymore.

Last edited by tylerh1701; 02-04-2013 at 07:12 PM..
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:46 PM   #17
Getting it right now.
__________________
KMart Clearance: All Kmart should have clearance at same time/prices may vary but usually are same/prices may scan lower than stickered/should ring up automatically
Sears Cl: ymmv nationwide/most likely marked incorrectly/prices vary.
TRU Cl: All TRU should have clearance at same time/prices the same/should ring up automatically.
Target Cl: ymmv nationwide/prices vary/scan to check prices/prices listed in thread are lowest confirmed.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:25 PM   #18
I'm no longer getting the warnings, but now none of the post buttons (bold, italics, links, quotes, etc.) work anymore. I can't do a quick edit of a post and a number of the images in the forum listings aren't showing up, which messes with the formatting of the forums/User CP. I'll check if they work in Firefox or if this is another Chrome bug.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:57 PM   #19
My background is white.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:01 PM   #20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitfallharry219 View Post
My background is white.
Same here. The formatting of the entire site has gone bonkers for me since I signed on about an hour ago. I am viewing in FireFox.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
HTML code is Off


Go Back  Cheap Ass Gamer > Forums > Cheap Ass Gamer Lifestyle > CAG News, Feedback & Site Assistance > Chrome Malware Warning

Contact us
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 AM.