Quantcast You think this is a counterfeit game? - Cheap Ass Gamer
Home

Search Bar

This search bar is a powerful tool for navigating CAG. You can use it to find the lowest prices on games, search members, forum and blog topics, and much more.

After typing in what you are looking for, you can filter your results by clicking on one of the tabs that pops up from the top of the search bar.

Tips

Looking for a game on a specific platform? Type in the platform name with the title!
Example: guitar hero 360

You don't need to click a pop-up tab to filter results. Just type what you are looking for right into the search bar.
Example: gears of war prices
Example: ninjatown review

Go Back   Cheap Ass Gamer > Forums > Cheap Ass Gamer Deals > Other Deals & Requests > You think this is a counterfeit game?
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Other Deals & Requests - Post and request deals that are not video game related. Magazine deals and contests belong here too.

You think this is a counterfeit game?

31 replies / 1576 views
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2004, 06:09 PM   #1
You think this is a counterfeit game?

Advertisement
Register for free to remove this ad

I just recently won THUG and LOTRTT from ebay a decent prices, you think this is legit. No box pics, western union payment only, from peru! I just recently read a topic about counterfeit games and I noticed some of the examples mentioned here are the links to the games I won:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AIT&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AIT&rd=1

I just sent him an email saying I sent concealed cash, I didn't send anything. I'm waiting to see if any negative feedback pops up or he suddenly drops his account. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 06:13 PM   #2
I doubt they're bootleg, he'd be opening himself up to fraud charges sine he actualy says:
Quote:
I'm selling some overstock from my shop. Please check all the games, all are new, factory sealed, unopened. ANY UNIT IS UNUSED . This auction is for TONY HAWK'S UNDERGROUND FOR NINTENDO GAMECUBE. This is the ORIGINAL USA release.
__________________
http://www.the-real-alpha2.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by defender
Oh so now you are using intelligence and common sense to win the arguement...that's low man! This is CAG and you aren't allowed to do that.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 06:13 PM   #3
i dont think so...but ive been wrong before
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 06:15 PM   #4
why did you send him an e-mail? to trick him? if you're worried, western union/credit card transaction might be the safest way to go. i dunno much information about it b/c i always use paypal. best of luck to you
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mykevermin
Well, to be honest, it's hard for people to be outraged about something once they know the facts. And it takes more effort to dig up facts than be outraged.
"Meatloaf, smeatloaf, double-beatloaf. I hate meatloaf."
http://www.mixmakers.net/forums/
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:17 PM   #5
maybe you should have thought about that before you bid on the item. plus, you bid on TWO items from the same seller. it's really lame that you actually won the auctions and now you won't pay.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:21 PM   #6
Good luck, eBay is rather risky..
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:22 PM   #7
Re: You think this is a counterfeit game?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scdoanintendo
I just recently won THUG and LOTRTT from ebay a decent prices, you think this is legit. No box pics, western union payment only, from peru! What do you think?
You have made a poor judgement. Western uniom payment takes you outside of the ebay/paypal system. Also you will have no credit card protection.
Get his phone number : Check it
Get his Address : you might want it
Get your money back while you can
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:41 PM   #8
It is almost certainly a scam. This person has never sold anything on ebay, and all of a sudden, on March 9th he lists 478 3-day auctions for games? Plus, what little feedback he has is all from people who are no longer registered. That said, you shouldn't have lied about sending the money.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:53 PM   #9
so should i send money? do you think he will leave negative feedback?
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:56 PM   #10
games on ebay are cheap. I saw grand theft auto double pack sell for 18 shipped for xbox.
__________________
My Halo 2 stats My Trade List
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 08:09 PM   #11
I think the guy's feedback says a lot. 4 of the 5 users who left feedback are unregistered and the one who still is, gave negative feedback. It's too late, but perhaps a wait and see attitude would have been possible. If it was a scam there would have been someone who would voice their complaint and you would know for sure. Perhaps it's still possible if you "just sent" the money.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:00 PM   #12
Ebay Rule of Thumb:

Always investigate as much as possible the person you are intending to buy from. If anything about the auction worries you or makes you question the validity, don't bid/purchase the item! It's as simple as that. Once you've won, it's like a contract with that person that you will pay. Whether they are legit or not, think about and investigate your auctions, then proceed if no there are no red flags.

Personally, another rule that I follow is I don't bid on items without pictures. I want to see what I'm bidding on. (I know that doesn't apply to your auction, I was just making a personal note )
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:10 PM   #13
This may be legit. How ever it may not play in us/canada players. Don't buy if it says PAL version. It won't work because this is made to play on europe? palyers.

If not sure best to NOT bid. Once you bid its a legal contract that you will buy. You could get screwed and not really much you could do except leave negitive feedback. However if it's because you didn't read/follow up with seller then its really not fair to leave negitive feedback.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:11 PM   #14
I'm not sure if I would trust that seller. While the seller may be legit, with not accepting Paypal and no feedback from selling there is no way I would buy a game from them. It's just too risky especially since they are not in the US
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:21 PM   #15
THIS AD IS SHADEY!!! Like everyone said all the feedback he recieved was from not registered users, humm pretty suspicious....im not sure if i would pay but if its legit he will leave neg feedback and if he doesnt he just wanted to hurry and collect money as fast as possible, also with no pics for none of his auctions is werid too..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by munch View Post
The PS3 is boring.
TMK's response
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mana Knight View Post
It's because you have a 1080i TV...
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:30 PM   #16
Don't risk it another will come along
__________________

http://www.grapplemonkey.com/wp-content/2007/05/fryevtakayama.gif

Removed IMG tags due to sig guideline violations.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:33 PM   #17
I'd say you are on the path to getting ripped off. The people who left him feedbacks all have something in common - they've left each other feedback too. I think he/she set up several accounts to build each other's feedback up to pull off a big scam when the accounts have enough positives.

Especially userID yurikawin, his feedback rating it 56.7%.

I don't know what you should do, just bringing this to your attention.

If it were me I'd probably not proceed with the transaction.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 01:42 AM   #18
There is no such thing as a USA release. Its just like an Asia release.

There are only 3 regions:
NTSC, PAL, JPN
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:12 PM   #19
From Ebay's website:

7. Instant Cash Wire Transfers
(such as Western Union & MoneyGram)
eBay does not recommend the use of instant cash wire transfer services. These services are designed to allow you to send money to family and friends—people you know and trust. While sellers may offer this option, they cannot require you to pay this way. If you suspect a seller is trying to commit fraud by insisting on payment through an instant cash wire transfer, please decline to use it and report the seller to eBay.
Risks:

Vulnerable to criminal misuse
Difficult to identify and designate recipient
Not traceable
Does not offer verification and cancellation privileges
Generally, no recourse is available if the item is not delivered as promised, even if you used your credit card to send the payment
Not covered by the eBay Purchase Protection Program


So basically, don't even think about Western Union.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 07:27 PM   #20
It does seem rather scammy, you'd probably end up getting nothing or an empty box as it's really rather difficult to bootleg the GCN games. I too like having pictures to see what I'm getting. But then again, I check the seller's feedback and all that what not. So far I've bought a pretty good amount of stuff and I haven't been ripped off and I sell legit too, so as long as your wary you should be ok, but winning the auctions and agreeing to pay. The negative feedback though was kind of funky anyway, most of my transactions go with little to know communication either.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
HTML code is Off


Go Back  Cheap Ass Gamer > Forums > Cheap Ass Gamer Deals > Other Deals & Requests > You think this is a counterfeit game?

Contact us
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.