Quantcast GTA Chicago - PS3 - 2007 hoax - Cheap Ass Gamer
Home

Search Bar

This search bar is a powerful tool for navigating CAG. You can use it to find the lowest prices on games, search members, forum and blog topics, and much more.

After typing in what you are looking for, you can filter your results by clicking on one of the tabs that pops up from the top of the search bar.

Tips

Looking for a game on a specific platform? Type in the platform name with the title!
Example: guitar hero 360

You don't need to click a pop-up tab to filter results. Just type what you are looking for right into the search bar.
Example: gears of war prices
Example: ninjatown review

Go Back   Cheap Ass Gamer > Forums > Video Game Discussions > Sony Gaming > PS3 > GTA Chicago - PS3 - 2007 hoax
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

PS3 - Sony's entry into the next-generation

GTA Chicago - PS3 - 2007 hoax

25 replies / 1782 views
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2006, 07:52 PM   #1
GTA Chicago - PS3 - 2007 hoax

Advertisement
Register for free to remove this ad

http://www.gtachicago.com/

Last edited by SpottedNigel; 03-31-2006 at 08:44 PM..
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:06 PM   #2
Sucks that it's only for PS3.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:10 PM   #3
Sucks that its probably not real...I don't think that site is linked to from the rockstar sites, and it would be announced everywhere if it was true, I would think.
__________________
Trade List!!!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:14 PM   #4
fake

http://www.rockstargames.com/legal/

Edit: nice april fools joke for whoever did it.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:16 PM   #5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ugamer_X
fake

http://www.rockstargames.com/legal/

Edit: nice april fools joke for whoever did it.
...I really dont care either way...but how does Rockstar legal make it fake?
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:17 PM   #6
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpottedNigel
...I really dont care either way...but how does Rockstar legal make it fake?
From that page...

Quote:
The Warriors ® & © 2005 Paramount Pictures. All Rights Reserved.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:19 PM   #7
So The Warriors was on Gameboy Color? It's an all encompasing legal page, and since The Warriors was not created by rockstar, they need that to cover thier butts
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:21 PM   #8
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpottedNigel
So The Warriors was on Gameboy Color? It's an all encompasing legal page, and since The Warriors was not created by rockstar, they need that to cover thier butts
He's saying that they took that from The Warriors page, and forgot to edit that out.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:22 PM   #9
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpottedNigel
So The Warriors was on Gameboy Color? It's an all encompasing legal page, and since The Warriors was not created by rockstar, they need that to cover thier butts
That's okay, I'll give you the next few hours to work it out, write all your thoughts down on a piece of paper, and then you can forgive me later.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:23 PM   #10
With their legal problems, I can't imagine they would only release it on the ps3, unless sony gives them a ton of cash.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:26 PM   #11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ugamer_X
That's okay, I'll give you the next few hours to work it out, write all your thoughts down on a piece of paper, and then you can forgive me later.
http://www.rockstargames.com/midnightclub3/

Click on legal there smartass
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:28 PM   #12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpottedNigel
http://www.rockstargames.com/midnightclub3/

Click on legal there smartass
Yeah, I just noticed they do it with all their pages...but if you want to believe this, especially a day before April 1st, then be my guest.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:29 PM   #13
HOLY SHIT!SHIFTONE!!!ELEVEN!!! I hope they have the Sears Tower and Charlie Trotter's place. yeah. Big up Chi-Town. Frank Thomas, Al Capone all that shit. GTA FUCKIN CHICAGO.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:34 PM   #14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmieMac
HOLY SHIT!SHIFTONE!!!ELEVEN!!! I hope they have the Sears Tower and Charlie Trotter's place. yeah. Big up Chi-Town. Frank Thomas, Al Capone all that shit. GTA FUCKIN CHICAGO.
Retawd.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:36 PM   #15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ugamer_X
Yeah, I just noticed they do it with all their pages...but if you want to believe this, especially a day before April 1st, then be my guest.
As previously noted...I dont give a shit either way. But i'll err on the side of truth until proven otherwise.

...and actually, found some more info out there about it taking place in 1930's Chicago (note the lettering for Chicago on that page)
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:37 PM   #16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ugamer_X
Yeah, I just noticed they do it with all their pages...but if you want to believe this, especially a day before April 1st, then be my guest.
Chicago GTA is fake, but the legal page is real. Rockstar worked on The Warriors game last year... Wtf are you talking about.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:39 PM   #17
Someone already debunked this on gamefaqs:

How odd that known GTA websites are registered through Network Solutions and list Rockstar New York as the website owner.

This "GTA Chicago" website hides behind a proxy service.

www.grandtheftautosanandeas.com results:

http://www.networksolutions.com


Registrant:
Rockstar Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US

Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOSANANDREAS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Administrator, System ContactMiddleName domains@take2games.com
Take 2 Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US
212-334-6633 fax: 212-334-6644

Record expires on 17-May-2013.
Record created on 04-Mar-2004.
Database last updated on 31-Mar-2006 19:25:36 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.5
NS5.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.4

Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited


www.grandtheftautochicago.com results:

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.

DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM
Created on: 05-Feb-06
Expires on: 05-Feb-07
Last Updated on: 04-Mar-06

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599
__________________


Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:41 PM   #18
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsg75
Someone already debunked this on gamefaqs:
STUFF
Good enough for me!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:42 PM   #19
excluding that it's from gamefaqs, the fact that it is registered totally differently and by proxy than every other Rockstar site leads one to believe it is not originating from Rockstar and Take 2.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 09:33 PM   #20
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsg75
Someone already debunked this on gamefaqs:

How odd that known GTA websites are registered through Network Solutions and list Rockstar New York as the website owner.

This "GTA Chicago" website hides behind a proxy service.

www.grandtheftautosanandeas.com results:

http://www.networksolutions.com


Registrant:
Rockstar Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US

Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOSANANDREAS.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Administrator, System ContactMiddleName domains@take2games.com
Take 2 Games
622 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
US
212-334-6633 fax: 212-334-6644

Record expires on 17-May-2013.
Record created on 04-Mar-2004.
Database last updated on 31-Mar-2006 19:25:36 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.5
NS5.TAKE2GAMES.COM 63.236.94.4

Registry Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited


www.grandtheftautochicago.com results:

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.

DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM
Created on: 05-Feb-06
Expires on: 05-Feb-07
Last Updated on: 04-Mar-06

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration GRANDTHEFTAUTOCHICAGO.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599
Go to the source... I did a Whois at GoDaddy and this turned up:

Domain servers in listed order:
APRIL.GTACHICAGO.COM
FOOLS.GTACHICAGO.COM

__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
HTML code is Off


Go Back  Cheap Ass Gamer > Forums > Video Game Discussions > Sony Gaming > PS3 > GTA Chicago - PS3 - 2007 hoax

Contact us
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.