Photo
- - - - -

NEVER, EVER buy a MadCatz Memory Card

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Rozz

Rozz

Posted 16 June 2007 - 08:18 PM

Sure, it may seem obvious to buy an official memory card. But I was suckered into buying a 16x Mad Catz memory card for $6. Since it held so much memory and was so cheap this was the card I have been using for over two years. (when I first bought my Cube). However today all my data was randomly corrupted out of nowhere :cry: All those saves... lost. Dammit, now I have to start over, and it doesent meatter for most games, but those fucking Smash Bros. states cannot be replaced! Oh well, I learned my lesson: never use a third party card. Now I have to shell out the cash for an official card (unless someone here wants to sell me one for a good price, need the one that holds the most memory).

#2 Badwill

Badwill

Posted 16 June 2007 - 08:37 PM

I think it's something that bears repeating to anyone on here. It always sucks losing data. I've had it happen to me a few times with third party cards and will never buy one again.
I'm a snake. Never trust a snake.

#3 4tygames

4tygames

Cover Guru

• CAGiversary!

Posted 16 June 2007 - 09:03 PM

Always, always buy First Party (Nintendo) memory cards. There was an article long ago about someone who took apart a Nintendo memory card and a third party memory card and the results were astounding. Nintendo uses screws to hold the memory card in place. The third party memory cards use glue. When the glue doesn't stick anymore, the data corrupts or sometime you will not even be able to use your memory card. When I first bought my GameCube, I bought a Mad Catz memory card along with the system. Once my Burnout 2 data was corrupted, I traded my three memory cards into Movie Trading Company for a nice $9 in cash. I was happy to get those crappy cards off of my hands.
Posted Image

Posted Image

#4 Tsukento

Tsukento

King of Pirates

• CAGiversary!

Posted 16 June 2007 - 10:11 PM