downloading games from steam

DIRTBAG30

CAGiversary!
I am interested in the Total War games. I was wondering what are the pros and cons of buying and downloading from steam vs buying the games individually from the store. For example, what if I decided later to get a new computer in the future, would I be allowed to download these to the new computer without being charged from steam again?  Does the games from steam come with a players manual? I don't mean to sound like a noob but I am new to gaming. Any input would be appreciated.

Every game you buy is stored online in your personal steam library. Whenever you buy the game you have that game forever. If you need to change computers at any time, just install steam and log in and redownload all your games. :D

*Edit* The only cons I could think of for steam would be that you don't have the physical disks or boxes. If you don't care about stuff like that, steam all the way. 126 games and counting. :D Also, most don't come with a manual, but they have forums for questions on nearly every game. Plus you could easily find the manual online if needed. I've personally never had a problem where I needed one.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you buy STEAM version of a game, you can download it to any and all PCs you want, any time you want, as often as you want.  You can only be logged into your steam account from one PC at a time, but you're not limited to how often you download.

It's rather convenient if you have lots of games compared to the olden days when you had to local boxes,and floppies and CDs and keys and passwords, etc.   With Steam, you just need your log in credentials.  Steam Guard highly recommended.

Steam games have a manual in the Steam client, as well as community resources if you're inclined to use them.