Corsair Vengeance MM200 Standard Edition Gaming Mouse Mat $8.99 at Amazon

I'm new to this pc gaming thing is it really recommended for a "gaming" mousepad over a regular mousepad?

I'm new to this pc gaming thing is it really recommended for a "gaming" mousepad over a regular mousepad?
All preference really. Something like this or the Steelseries Qck are popular because they tend to be thicker, more durable, etc. than the average mouse pad but especially because they're big. Don't want to be trying to do something in the heat of the moment and have your mouse go off the mat.

So no, there's no huge performance boost like the marketing on this kind of thing claims but they're a nice, solid, gamer friendly mouse pad with good real estate for under $10.

All preference really. Something like this or the Steelseries Qck are popular because they tend to be thicker, more durable, etc. than the average mouse pad but especially because they're big. Don't want to be trying to do something in the heat of the moment and have your mouse go off the mat.

So no, there's no huge performance boost like the marketing on this kind of thing claims but they're a nice, solid, gamer friendly mouse pad with good real estate for under $10.
Thanks that's good to know. Also as far as gaming mice go, are those recommended too. I only want to entry game, at most Skyrim.

Thanks that's good to know. Also as far as gaming mice go, are those recommended too. I only want to entry game, at most Skyrim.
This pad will do fine then. I picked one up myself a while back at Frys. It's a good size without being oversized like a lot of other gaming mousepads, and it's functional. It's nothing special, but it gets the job done. It feels nicer than your typical freebie mousepad too. Personally, I get far more hung up on the mouse I use than the pad it sits on.

Last edited by a moderator: