Precalculus Help...I know, I'm a noob :(

swetooth9

CAGiversary!
Feedback
68 (100%)
anyway, i'm probably sure i'm just not thinking of the right "combination" for lack of a better word...

here's a problem i'm stuck on:

simplify this...

1 - [ (cot^2 X + cot X) / (cot^2 X - 1) ] + 3

the answer should be either 3cotX - 4 or (3cosX - 4sinX) / (cosX - sinX)

the thing is, i have to show work, so i need help

if anyone is willing, thanks!

[quote name='swetooth9']anyway, i'm probably sure i'm just not thinking of the right "combination" for lack of a better word...

here's a problem i'm stuck on:

simplify this...

1 - [ (cot^2 X + cot X) / (cot^2 X - 1) ] + 3

the answer should be either 3cotX - 4 or (3cosX - 4sinX) / (cosX - sinX)

the thing is, i have to show work, so i need help

if anyone is willing, thanks![/QUOTE]
Ok...

1=> 1 - [ (cot^2 X + cot X) / (cot^2 X - 1) ] + 3

2=> 4 - [ (cot^2 X + cot X) / (cot^2 X - 1) ]

3=> 4 - [ {cotx(cotx + 1)} / (cotx + 1)*(cotx - 1) ]

4=> 4 - [ cotx / (cotx -1) ]

5=> [4cotx - 4 - cotx] / [cotx - 1]

6=> [3cotx - 4] / [cotx - 1]

7=> [(3cosx - 4sinx) / sinx) / (cosx - sinx) / sinx

8=> (3cosx - 4sinx) / (cosx - sinx)

edit: if you can't see what I did on a step, let me know.

I would have been able to answer a couple months ago, but that was last semester. My brain can only handle so much math, and right now it's on matrices.

Good luck.

[quote name='swetooth9']wait what did you do b/t steps 4 and 5?[/QUOTE]
Multiplied that 4 out front up and down by (cotx - 1) so the whole thing would be over the same denominator.

ohhhhhhhh, ok thanks, jmcc! :D

i didnt see that the bottom could be factored out until you showed me...i knew there was something i missed

thanks!

[quote name='swetooth9']ohhhhhhhh, ok thanks, jmcc! :D

i didnt see that the bottom could be factored out until you showed me...i knew there was something i missed

thanks![/QUOTE]
Sure, no problem.

edit: