Do extracurriculars matter... in college?

Dead of Knight

CAGiversary!
Feedback
15 (100%)
I'm a freshman in accounting, with a 3.7 GPA in the honors program, and all I hear is, get involved, get leadership positions, blah blah blah. The thing is, I'm not too sociable and there's not really anything I'm truly interested in doing on campus. I definitely want to get an intership in my sophomore year and/or beyond, but that's about it. Is it REALLY necessary to become involved during college to get special opportunities and jobs? Or is it just crap to try to get you involved on campus?

[quote name='Dead of Knight']I'm a freshman in accounting, with a 3.7 GPA in the honors program, and all I hear is, get involved, get leadership positions, blah blah blah. The thing is, I'm not too sociable and there's not really anything I'm truly interested in doing on campus. I definitely want to get an intership in my sophomore years and/or beyond, but that's about it. Is it REALLY necessary to become involved during college to get special opportunities and jobs? Or is it just crap to try to get you involved on campus?[/QUOTE]

you could always volunteer that looks great and it shows that you were active, i worked at a soup kitchen, animal shelter, and a boys and girls club during my 4 years of college

Who's telling you this? I'm majoring in accounting too and no one has told me anything about extracurricular activities... but then again I'm at a community college.

[quote name='Blade']Can you play football?[/QUOTE]

No. And I'm a girl, so it doesn't matter anyways.

I would be game for volunteering for things like Ikohn said. Whenever I did that in high school, I enjoyed it. I just had to get up off my ass and do it. I just don't think I could handle a leadership position in some club, though, because I'm just very shy.

DT778: Pretty much everyone in a leadership position at college tells me this. My RA, my advisor, etc.