Jump to content


- - - - -

PS3 Broken?? Fan Won't Start!! HELP!!


#1 TheFreshPrince   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1797 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

TheFreshPrince

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:48 PM

Ok, so, I just bought a PS3, and it won't work!!!

The system turns on, and the light goes from red to green...and then it stops. The fan starts to start rolling, and then just dies! Any ideas, or is the system just hopelessly fryed?

Thanks

#2 Scorch   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   37482 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:49 PM

What do you expect us to know/say that a call to Sony wouldn't?

Posted Image


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#3 imascrub   Likes: Freesia | Jane | CAGiversary!   1283 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:51 PM

does the system boot up and get into the screen?
Can you feel any faint air blowing out of the right side or the back? It usually spins at low power/speed at the start so you may not hear it.

#4 TheFreshPrince   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1797 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

TheFreshPrince

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:54 PM

the system turns on, green light comes on. Fan starts up, warm air barely coming out the back of the unit....no picture or sound on TV. Then the fan dies basically, and the air stops. The green light is still on though....

#5 dallow   By Kaz! CAGiversary!   30342 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

Posted 18 June 2007 - 08:07 PM

What connection are you using?
Broken PS3s are rare, might want to exchange.

#6 4tygames   Cover Guru CAGiversary!   1238 Posts   Joined 9.7 Years Ago  

Posted 18 June 2007 - 08:11 PM

http://www.us.playst...onsumerServices
Posted Image

Posted Image


#7 Guest_Apossum_*

Guest_Apossum_*

Posted 18 June 2007 - 08:41 PM

1. the fan is very quiet. maybe it did stop for the system set up?

2. The blank screen thing may not mean a broken system! It doesn't automatically recognize a different input then what it is set to. Next time you load it up, hold the power button until it beeps 3 times (should be about 15 seconds.) this will switch it to the right input. The green light sounds hopeful.

3. If that doesn't work, call Sony.

#8 TheFreshPrince   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1797 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

TheFreshPrince

Posted 18 June 2007 - 09:01 PM

got it fixed, thanks!

#9 TimPV3   Butthole CAGiversary!   2479 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2007 - 06:22 AM

1. the fan is very quiet. maybe it did stop for the system set up?

2. The blank screen thing may not mean a broken system! It doesn't automatically recognize a different input then what it is set to. Next time you load it up, hold the power button until it beeps 3 times (should be about 15 seconds.) this will switch it to the right input. The green light sounds hopeful.

3. If that doesn't work, call Sony.

I laughed at this thread. Just goes to show how quiet the PS3 is.

#10 NamPaehc   !Anihc Ni Hsan CAGiversary!   4951 Posts   Joined 8.6 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2007 - 06:49 PM

Yeh, I'd like to hear how you "fixed" it.

Usually, people don't know you have to start with the cables that come with the system and then set it to whatever video settings you want. Guessing that is what happened here too.

2ic4l5j.jpg


#11 TC   Better w/o Kinect CAGiversary!   3051 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2007 - 07:47 PM

Yeh, I'd like to hear how you "fixed" it.

Usually, people don't know you have to start with the cables that come with the system and then set it to whatever video settings you want. Guessing that is what happened here too.


Ahh, I didn't know that either....Thanks! I'll remember that when I finally get one of these things.

#12 Guest_Apossum_*

Guest_Apossum_*

Posted 19 June 2007 - 08:02 PM

I wonder how many people have thought they had a broken PS3 and returned it.

#13 Dezuria   Loading, please wait... CAGiversary!   969 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2007 - 09:21 PM

Yeh, I'd like to hear how you "fixed" it.

Usually, people don't know you have to start with the cables that come with the system and then set it to whatever video settings you want. Guessing that is what happened here too.



I used the HDMI cable first and the PS3 worked just fine. I never even touched the AV cables it came with.


#14 Zoglog   Blogging = AIDS CAGiversary!   6498 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 20 June 2007 - 01:50 AM

Man... you all just got Bel Aired...........

http://seniorispwnd.ytmnd.com/

#15 TimPV3   Butthole CAGiversary!   2479 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 20 June 2007 - 09:11 AM

I wonder how many people have thought they had a broken PS3 and returned it.

I thought I did at first. After waiting in line 24+ hours I was about to cry at the thought of waiting weeks for Sony to replace it.