Jump to content


- - - - -

Unoffical Upgrade your PS3 HDD thread


#1 doubledown   Funky Daddy CAGiversary!   11667 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 19 February 2008 - 05:15 PM

So, who has upgraded the HDD in the PS3? (It appears Best Buy was clearancing some 2.5" SATA drives...and I have gift cards to burn there).

A few links about upgrading:
http://www.gamersrep...com/article/43/
http://www.gamepro.c...es/127009.shtml
http://asia.cnet.com...032875-3,00.htm
http://vgstrategies....DDDriveSwap.htm

A few questions:

- Was it easy? Yes

- How do you transfer files over? Either use the PS3 backup utility (will need an external drive that is FAT32 and 32GB or larger) or copy files over individually to an external HDD or USB Thumb Drive or Flash Memory.

- How do you do it? See tutorials above

- What size drive do I need? 2.5" SATA HDD (Notebook HDD). 5400 RPM is stock, but 7200 will work...although, it may cause more heat.

- Any other tidbits? Have fun :)


I will TRY to keep the thread updated with good information.


Edited by doubledown, 18 June 2013 - 01:54 PM.


#2 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   15694 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 19 February 2008 - 05:21 PM

Are there any clearance prices online?

The dmc4 installation killed me.. I had to deleted it completely.

I heard that its rather easy to replace the hd. I assume you just have to format it and thats it.

How did everyone pass over their content? How can i copy over lets say games i have purchased like mk2 (which i cant find in the store anymore)

1080i is for douchebags


#3 doubledown   Funky Daddy CAGiversary!   11667 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 20 February 2008 - 01:38 AM

updated

#4 NamPaehc   !Anihc Ni Hsan CAGiversary!   4953 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

Posted 20 February 2008 - 03:33 AM

CNet has a guide too, Sony linked to in their official blog.

2ic4l5j.jpg


#5 zewone   Thursday CAGiversary!   43156 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 20 February 2008 - 05:35 AM

(which i cant find in the store anymore)


Anything you download is removed from the store.

You have to go into your past download lists to re-download things you've bought.

#6 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   15694 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 20 February 2008 - 05:37 AM

Anything you download is removed from the store.

You have to go into your past download lists to re-download things you've bought.


thanks for the info.. i was hoping that was the case

1080i is for douchebags


#7 Thomas96   I am Thomaticus! CAGiversary!   5941 Posts   Joined 10.9 Years Ago  

Posted 20 February 2008 - 05:40 AM

Please in your hoods don't forget to check Compusa.. they may have some notebook drives.. I picked up a 160gb HD for 78 dollars. which is a decent price imo. I used a external drive to back up my PS3 HD, and then I installed the new drive and restored my original hard drive contents from the save that was backed up on the external drive. It was easy.. I even set aside 10gb for the Other OS... I'm having a tough time getting a copy of YDL.. but I'll get it eventually.
Posted Image

#8 ashram   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   910 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

Posted 20 February 2008 - 01:07 PM

Please in your hoods don't forget to check Compusa.. they may have some notebook drives.. I picked up a 160gb HD for 78 dollars. which is a decent price imo. I used a external drive to back up my PS3 HD, and then I installed the new drive and restored my original hard drive contents from the save that was backed up on the external drive. It was easy.. I even set aside 10gb for the Other OS... I'm having a tough time getting a copy of YDL.. but I'll get it eventually.

compusa by me had (key word... had) a few 120gb's at $60 BEFORE 40% off....

also, be VERY careful when removing the screws when swapping drives. mine refused to unscrew and ended up stripping them. had to use a dremel to re-notch all the screws.

#9 Thomas96   I am Thomaticus! CAGiversary!   5941 Posts   Joined 10.9 Years Ago  

Posted 20 February 2008 - 01:42 PM

thanks for the info.. i was hoping that was the case




nice Kimbo avatar!
Posted Image

#10 QiG   I'm all out of gum.. CAGiversary!   2866 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2008 - 12:18 AM

I was thinking of upgrading my PS3s. I just got a second 40gb PS3 and my 60gb is starting to get full. I was wondering how so many of you have external HDs readily available? I checked online and they're not really that cheap.. to the point where I'm not sure it's a worthwhile investment at this point.

But I was thinking.. what exactly can you export? If there's no way to send demos/installed games, that leaves the settings and actual game saves? What would the average size of those be? Or IF you can send out the demos/installs, can you just buy an external enclosure and throw one of the extra PS3 drives in for the time being?

Aye
Posted Image

#11 BrownThunder   Professor of Crunkonomics CAGiversary!   335 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

BrownThunder

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:09 AM

Anyone who has done this, how to gameshare'd games and DLC transfer over? I've done a gameshare for Pixeljunk and Bowling, would I be able to use those still if I threw in a 320gb?

#12 v1et r1ce   Formerly nikelecious91 CAGiversary!   2162 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:21 AM

Hmm lets say I upgrade my 40gb HD. Then, my PS3 dies and I decide to move that HD to another PS3, will everything be the same? Or will it be like the 360 and make me do everything all over.


#13 Mana Knight   Chrom CAGiversary!   14399 Posts   Joined 10.9 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:28 AM

Anyone who has done this, how to gameshare'd games and DLC transfer over? I've done a gameshare for Pixeljunk and Bowling, would I be able to use those still if I threw in a 320gb?

If you do a system back-up utility with an external HDD, it will work. If you do not, you'll lose game-share stuff.

Hmm lets say I upgrade my 40gb HD. Then, my PS3 dies and I decide to move that HD to another PS3, will everything be the same? Or will it be like the 360 and make me do everything all over.

Nope, because it will ask to reformat it. You can back everything up to an external HDD using a system backup utility, and restore it back. That's what you have to do to keep everything.
Posted Image

#14 BrownThunder   Professor of Crunkonomics CAGiversary!   335 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

BrownThunder

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:42 AM

Thanks for the fast reply, I really appreciate it.

So if I've got a 60gb ps3 and an external HD with 100gb free (its a 500gb), will the system backup work? or does it have to be a completely clean HD?

#15 joseraul   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   200 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 03:44 AM

Bump for recommendations. What drives have the people around here used?

#16 TimPV3   Butthole CAGiversary!   2482 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 04:32 AM

320 GB drive, $112.99 shipped from Newegg

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822152111

Customer reviews are mostly positive in regards to the PS3. This is a fucking steal.




#17 Mana Knight   Chrom CAGiversary!   14399 Posts   Joined 10.9 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 12:09 PM

I got a 250GB Seagate SATA 2.5" HDD from Fry's (sold at Office Depot and Staples also) and it works great.
Posted Image

#18 fieldkillah   Bleeds Black & Gold CAGiversary!   1596 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

fieldkillah

Posted 21 July 2008 - 12:20 PM

320 GB drive, $112.99 shipped from Newegg

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822152111

Customer reviews are mostly positive in regards to the PS3. This is a fucking steal.


I put one of those in my PS3. Works fine, well worth it.
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

#19 StrandedBrit   Invaders Must Die CAGiversary!   2241 Posts   Joined 7.6 Years Ago  

StrandedBrit

Posted 21 July 2008 - 04:42 PM

Geeks.com was running a deal on the Seagate Momentus 160GB for $50 w/free shipping over the weekend, but looks like they sold out or pulled it. Great deal for those who don't want to go too big and for cheapness. Oh well.

#20 Nogib   *squeezing* the *juice* CAGiversary!   1423 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 07:37 PM

320 GB drive, $112.99 shipped from Newegg

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822152111

Customer reviews are mostly positive in regards to the PS3. This is a fucking steal.


Meh, I prefer the WD drive:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136197

Got it for $99.99 two weeks ago. ^_^ My PS3 has never been happier.
End of line.

#21 youinreverse   ...used to be Bioshocked CAGiversary!   5570 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

youinreverse

Posted 21 July 2008 - 07:44 PM

I'm quickly running out of space on my 60gb, I need to do this soon.

#22 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   15694 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 21 July 2008 - 07:54 PM

i seriously need to upgrade my 20gb but im just looking for a cheap upgrade.. 80gb would be fine

seriously after the latest firmware and mgs.. i barely have any room at all. HOME wont even start up.

http://cgi.ebay.com/...1QQcmdZViewItem

60 shipped for a 120 (even cheaper if you use cash back)

Edited by guyver2077, 21 July 2008 - 08:00 PM.

1080i is for douchebags


#23 StrandedBrit   Invaders Must Die CAGiversary!   2241 Posts   Joined 7.6 Years Ago  

StrandedBrit

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:22 PM

Actually they do have it in stock, but 'almost gone'.

Seagate Momentus 160GB for $47.50

add something else that qualifies for free shipping for 2.50 into your cart and you get it all for 50 total (free shipping for $50 and up total)!

#24 Paco   GO TEAM GIRTH! CAGiversary!   4016 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:26 PM

Once I get some money in, I'm going to upgrade to a 320 gb drive. Probably have a 500-1tb external usb drive on top of it just to go for the gusto. I actually like the playstation video store. The SD stuff is actually pretty high quality.

#25 fatez   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   732 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:32 PM

320 GB drive, $112.99 shipped from Newegg

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822152111

Customer reviews are mostly positive in regards to the PS3. This is a fucking steal.

I've installed 2 of these drives on 2 40gb ps3s. There was also a sale on the drive for $99.99 last week at newegg. It's an awesome drive for the ps3, although bewarned that there is a bug if you are trying to install this now with the 2.41 firmware. All the PSN games will have corrupted save data files. It will be unable to create a new save file aswell and they will all come out corrupted. But there is a simple fix that doesn't quite make sense. All you have to do is create an internal memory card (either psone/ps2) should be fine. That solved the issue for me, which I dont understand why.

#26 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   15694 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:38 PM

Actually they do have it in stock, but 'almost gone'.

Seagate Momentus 160GB for $47.50

add something else that qualifies for free shipping for 2.50 into your cart and you get it all for 50 total (free shipping for $50 and up total)!


whoa thats sick.. is this confirmed to be compatible?

1080i is for douchebags


#27 StrandedBrit   Invaders Must Die CAGiversary!   2241 Posts   Joined 7.6 Years Ago  

StrandedBrit

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:44 PM

whoa thats sick.. is this confirmed to be compatible?


I got one in mine. :D

#28 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   15694 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:53 PM

I got one in mine. :D



thanks! ordered

added a cheap sim card reader and cd paper sleeves for free shipping... goodbye shitty 20gb

Edited by guyver2077, 21 July 2008 - 08:56 PM.

1080i is for douchebags


#29 x3x1x   So fresh and so clean CAGiversary!   2207 Posts   Joined 8.5 Years Ago  

Posted 21 July 2008 - 09:41 PM

Thanks SB! Just ordered myself one.

#30 StrandedBrit   Invaders Must Die CAGiversary!   2241 Posts   Joined 7.6 Years Ago  

StrandedBrit

Posted 21 July 2008 - 10:30 PM

Thanks SB! Just ordered myself one.


No probs. BTW I replied to you other questions.