Jump to content


- - - - -

CAGcast freezing my Zune..?


#1 Banzaiaap   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   15 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

Banzaiaap

Posted 22 April 2008 - 08:36 PM

Hi!

First of all, I'm a big fan of the show and every week is a party when the CAGcast comes out. Anyway.. I've got a Zune and I listen to alot of podcasts on it.. But: Some episodes of the CAGcast make my Zune freeze! I have to reset it before I can use it again.. It didn't happen on the last 4 or so episodes, but it did happen on several before that (I'm not a long time listener) and with the last one:116!

Is there anyone else with this problem?

Thanks and keep up the great work!

#2 BigD63   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   249 Posts   Joined 8.5 Years Ago  

Posted 22 April 2008 - 09:52 PM

it happened to me once, but I just re-synced it and it worked fine

#3 Brenex   Cobra Commander CAGiversary!   852 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

Posted 22 April 2008 - 10:08 PM

Same, before my zune got stolen. Go figure

#4 Bravelionheart   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   227 Posts   Joined 9.5 Years Ago  

Bravelionheart

Posted 22 April 2008 - 10:29 PM

I'm having the same problem. It's kind of odd and frustrating.


#5 CheapyD   Head Cheap Ass Administrators   17102 Posts   Joined 12.4 Years Ago  

Posted 22 April 2008 - 10:35 PM

The shows are created and encoded exactly the same way each week. I have no idea what could be causing the problem. Sorry!

#6 I Am ProZac   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   205 Posts   Joined 7.8 Years Ago  

I Am ProZac

Posted 22 April 2008 - 11:19 PM

I also had the problem a few times. Click to play and then it won't, if you click on any other file after that though, it locks up completely, correct?

It seems to happen randomly to me, doing it #110, #112, and #113 for me, but deleting it and re-adding it always fixed the problem.

I've never had it happen with any podcasts except the CAGcast (and it sounds like no one else has either), so maybe it's just the way the cast is encoded causes problems with the Zune every once in a while?

Definitely frustrating when your mp3 player is the only form of entertainment you'll have for the next few hours, and the CAGcast locks it up.
"It is not enough to succeed; Others must fail."

#7 jkanownik   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1439 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 23 April 2008 - 12:13 AM

This just happened to me for the first time today. All other podcasts including the latest CAG Foreplay are fine. I'll resync tonight and hopefully it will be fixed.
Posted Image

AC: 4682-1344-1734 (Leenie - Home)

#8 jkanownik   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1439 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 23 April 2008 - 03:23 AM

I resynched and it still isn't working.
Posted Image

AC: 4682-1344-1734 (Leenie - Home)

#9 Banzaiaap   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   15 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

Banzaiaap

Posted 23 April 2008 - 06:17 AM

I resynched and it still isn't working.


Same here. Tried redownloading and then syncing but nope.. Nothing.

#10 Noedskou   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   67 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Noedskou

Posted 23 April 2008 - 10:58 AM

Ok ok, just to mess things up. I'm planning on buying either an iPod or a Zune. Which one is better and why?

Posted ImagePosted Image
Gaming Log


"I have heard of this weed you speak of" - Wombat


#11 jakehoss   Now with 50% more "Cool". CAGiversary!   263 Posts   Joined 8.5 Years Ago  

jakehoss

Posted 23 April 2008 - 07:12 PM

Simple fix for this issue. Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Check out my Artwork at http://jakehosmer.deviantart.com/

#12 jkanownik   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1439 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 23 April 2008 - 09:18 PM

I deleted all of my podcasts and readded the subscriptions and it fixed it. I'll take the few minutes of extra work over the extra $$$ for an iPod. I am much happier hating my $100 Zune than I was hating my $300 iPod.

And you couldn't find a smaller picture?
Posted Image

AC: 4682-1344-1734 (Leenie - Home)

#13 jakehoss   Now with 50% more "Cool". CAGiversary!   263 Posts   Joined 8.5 Years Ago  

jakehoss

Posted 23 April 2008 - 09:41 PM

I deleted all of my podcasts and readded the subscriptions and it fixed it. I'll take the few minutes of extra work over the extra $$$ for an iPod. I am much happier hating my $100 Zune than I was hating my $300 iPod.

And you couldn't find a smaller picture?


lol true..
And miss annoying everyone with the giant picture ? thats half the fun.:D
Posted Image
Posted Image
Check out my Artwork at http://jakehosmer.deviantart.com/

#14 Banzaiaap   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   15 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

Banzaiaap

Posted 24 April 2008 - 07:36 AM

Alright, I got it to work! :D At first I was deleting, redownloading resyncing, but just resyncing without redownload did the trick for me. :)

#15 MSUHitman   Checkmate Arcade Co-Host CAGiversary!   12582 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Posted 24 April 2008 - 07:42 AM

This happened for a lot of Zune owners a few months ago (myself included) but after I deleted/resynched several times and Cheapy reincoded some stuff it hasn't happened since for me. I hope this doesn't become a trend for my Zune.

Listen to the Checkmate Arcade video game podcast! Also available on ITunes, Stitcher Radio, or YouTube.
743275.png


#16 Plumberboy   Praise be to Miyamoto CAGiversary!   156 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Plumberboy

Posted 25 April 2008 - 05:09 AM

I listen to about 5 other pod casts and the CAGcast is the only one that results in my Zune freezing. While this usually occurs with the initial download, I've had to download "Blown Off" numerous times and have yet to get it to play without freezing my Zune.
"...only evil bad men like Saddam Hussein or Hitler could not love Mario." - EGM

#17 Richlough   ... CAGiversary!   3738 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 25 April 2008 - 05:48 AM

I use iTunes to subscribe to all of my favorite podcasts .

I just tell the Zune software to look in the folder they end up in .

BTW , I sent for a coffin for my 30GB Zune last night [WTF] .

card.pngl1.gif


#18 Wa-Keen   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   87 Posts   Joined 8.6 Years Ago  

Posted 08 May 2008 - 03:06 AM

What do you expect? Zune is made by Microsoft !
  • Animal Crossing City Folk: 4769-8848-6242
  • COD: Modern Warfare: Reflex Edition: 1483-6586-0338
  • Twitter.com/Cal619Guy

#19 CheapyD   Head Cheap Ass Administrators   17102 Posts   Joined 12.4 Years Ago  

Posted 08 May 2008 - 12:23 PM

Did the most recent show have the same problems?

#20 Banzaiaap   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   15 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

Banzaiaap

Posted 09 May 2008 - 06:28 AM

Did the most recent show have the same problems?


That was 117 right? I didn't have any problems, fortunately. Lets see what 118'll do.

#21 Plumberboy   Praise be to Miyamoto CAGiversary!   156 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Plumberboy

Posted 11 May 2008 - 09:10 PM

That was 117 right? I didn't have any problems, fortunately. Lets see what 118'll do.


The most recent show worked fine for me as well. The Zune software also updated - not sure if that had anything to do with it.
"...only evil bad men like Saddam Hussein or Hitler could not love Mario." - EGM

#22 dastly75   Resident Squirrel CAGiversary!   3561 Posts   Joined 11.1 Years Ago  

Posted 11 May 2008 - 09:12 PM

I've had this problem before, deleting the podcast off the Zune and then resync-ing it usually fixes the problem.

Cheap Ass Giraffes Grifball Team Captain

Posted Image

Posted Image


#23 oogravyoo   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 8.0 Years Ago  

oogravyoo

Posted 14 May 2008 - 05:38 PM

I have had the same problem with a few episodes of Cag.. its the only podcast I've had trouble with and I listed to about 10 different shows a week. I have had to resort to re-encoding the shows that freeze up to fix the problem.

Zune80

#24 Banzaiaap   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   15 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

Banzaiaap

Posted 16 May 2008 - 07:02 AM

Well, this one didn't freeze on me! :D (Episode 118 on a 30gig)

#25 happy   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1486 Posts   Joined 9.5 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 01:51 PM

It seems that it has worked for me (finally) since the zune update, although I need to reboot my Zune to get the program to recognize it and synch for some reason.