Jump to content


- - - - -

Xbox Live Arcade Unplugged - $7.99 (6 arcade games & 1 month of live)


#1 Maklershed   Feed me a stray cat CAGiversary!   34086 Posts   Joined 9.7 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 11:33 AM

Link:

http://www.amazon.co...F8&s=videogames


List Price: $19.99
Price: $7.99
You Save: $12.00 (60%)





What it is in the box ...


  • Geometry Wars
  • Bejeweled 2 Deluxe
  • Wik - Fable of Souls
  • Hardwood Backgammon
  • Outpost Kaloki X
  • Texas Hold 'Em
  • One Month Subscription to Xbox Live


Posted Image

#2 mkelehan   Xbox Live Arcade Fiend CAGiversary!   2469 Posts   Joined 11.0 Years Ago  

mkelehan

Posted 13 July 2008 - 01:37 PM

Wik is a great game that goes for $10.

#3 msam   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   115 Posts   Joined 7.6 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 01:59 PM

The last time they dumped a ton of these, the codes that came with Unplugged for live had expired, so keep that caveat in mind.

#4 kidrocklive   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1960 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

kidrocklive

Posted 13 July 2008 - 03:01 PM

couldn't you just call microsoft and tell them about it, they look the code up and see that it was never used and then they issue you a new one or just credit your account?

#5 supermodestmouse   Gotta Catch Em All! CAGiversary!   835 Posts   Joined 8.3 Years Ago  

supermodestmouse

Posted 13 July 2008 - 03:28 PM

i heard that all "expired" codes still work. i know a lot of the ones i've found do ;)
http://www.cheapassg...ad.php?t=224637

smiles are free, don't be stingy :lol:

#6 joshnorm   Hey, Wha Happen.. CAGiversary!   2611 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 03:31 PM

The last time they dumped a ton of these, the codes that came with Unplugged for live had expired, so keep that caveat in mind.


I thought that codes don't expire. Hence why people that find the old Xbox Live packs for cheap can use that sub. card and get the 1 yr live.

Maybe its just the 1 month cards

#7 equest943   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   870 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 03:47 PM

I know the old 2 month cards from original Xbox days don't work.

#8 alpo845   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   195 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 04:05 PM

can you install these games to the HD? stupid question i know, but curious.
Page VS King and its not a Pay-Per-View

#9 Yars   I'd buy that for a dollar! CAGiversary!   2829 Posts   Joined 10.5 Years Ago   Has been playing Strider 2
PS1

Posted 13 July 2008 - 04:08 PM

Nope :(

#10 bigdaddybruce44   Murders & Executions CAGiversary!   13288 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

bigdaddybruce44

Posted 13 July 2008 - 04:12 PM

i heard that all "expired" codes still work. i know a lot of the ones i've found do ;)


Pretty much. I have gotten all types of "expired" cards to work. I suppose that, at some point, they might actually not work, but I don't know what that point is. It certainly isn't the date printed on them.

can you install these games to the HD? stupid question i know, but curious.


Nope, unfortunately. But a small price to pay for such a bargain.

#11 fidodido   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   3477 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 04:21 PM

i heard that all "expired" codes still work. i know a lot of the ones i've found do ;)


I bought Live Arcade from Amazon a couple of months ago and I was unable to get the code to work to renew my Gold account. I can't say if you were to create a new account if the code would work for it.

#12 trent82   Master Of Unlocking CAGiversary!   690 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 05:25 PM

the problem with this disc is that you need to put it in every time you want to play any of these games. part of the appeal of these smaller games is how you can just hit a button and play for 5 minutes. much of that appeal is lost if you need to get up out of your seat and put a disc in just for a quick gaming session. the disc that comes in the arcade bundle is the same way. i play my downloaded version of pac-man c.e. almost every time i turn on my 360 for just a quick 5 minute session. if i had to put the disc in, i would probably never play it.
3DS Friend Code :: 5112-3434-8624

#13 MIX_MASTER_ICE   The Night Stalker CAGiversary!   1971 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

MIX_MASTER_ICE

Posted 13 July 2008 - 06:32 PM

trent, not only are you a cheapass gamer, but you are also a lazyass gamer...lol.

#14 abhinav   "Scooty Puff Jr. sucks!" CAGiversary!   3856 Posts   Joined 9.3 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 06:38 PM

I will have to get this, just too cheap for so many games.

Twitter: Onekumar
Now Playing:
dragonageinquisitionboxjpg-a29905_160w.j2q1uoso.jpg


#15 Layd Dly   LEGEND..wait for it..DARY CAGiversary!   2204 Posts   Joined 9.3 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 07:31 PM

the problem with this disc is that you need to put it in every time you want to play any of these games. part of the appeal of these smaller games is how you can just hit a button and play for 5 minutes. much of that appeal is lost if you need to get up out of your seat and put a disc in just for a quick gaming session. the disc that comes in the arcade bundle is the same way. i play my downloaded version of pac-man c.e. almost every time i turn on my 360 for just a quick 5 minute session. if i had to put the disc in, i would probably never play it.



True but at least these dont apply to the DRM bs if your machine dies. These games are still a steal for tht price, even if you have 1 or 2 already.


Battle.net: Vinomen#1986
76561197994706915.pngAddFriend.png
168249.png


#16 joshnorm   Hey, Wha Happen.. CAGiversary!   2611 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 07:34 PM

I had to go ahead and pick this up. Worse case is this will be traded to GS. Thanks OP

#17 lanzarlaluna   has got the ADAM CAGiversary!   713 Posts   Joined 9.7 Years Ago  

lanzarlaluna

Posted 13 July 2008 - 08:12 PM

Thanks, Maklershed. I have Prime, so it's impossible to pass this up. =]

#18 TheEyecon   Red Sox Pride! CAGiversary!   357 Posts   Joined 7.0 Years Ago  

TheEyecon

Posted 13 July 2008 - 09:24 PM

great deal for the arcade games and the month of live
Posted Image

#19 kklems   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1657 Posts   Joined 10.3 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 09:31 PM

True but at least these dont apply to the DRM bs if your machine dies. These games are still a steal for tht price, even if you have 1 or 2 already.


Actually the drm bs is dead except if you had video/movie content on your console. If you send your console in for repairs and they replace msft is now transferring the drm to the new machine so you don't have to be on live to play anymore and also MSFT now allows you to assign/consolodate the rights of all your downloadable content to one console once a year (So you can transfer the drm from say a premium to an elite etc)

#20 bigdaddybruce44   Murders & Executions CAGiversary!   13288 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

bigdaddybruce44

Posted 13 July 2008 - 09:38 PM

Actually the drm bs is dead except if you had video/movie content on your console. If you send your console in for repairs and they replace msft is now transferring the drm to the new machine so you don't have to be on live to play anymore and also MSFT now allows you to assign/consolodate the rights of all your downloadable content to one console once a year (So you can transfer the drm from say a premium to an elite etc)


Unfortunately, though they are suppose to transfer the licenses when replacing a system, they don't. I got my system back a few weeks ago, and they tell you that the licenses have been transfered, and that you only have to redownload the content. It didn't work, though, so I had to use the web-based tool you mentioned, which, as you say, is only valid once a year.

#21 JJSP   Beyond economical repair. CAGiversary!   9851 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 09:55 PM

I picked this up for $10 from a CAG used and it was worth it. Saves HD space, and there's some solid games on the disc. Geometry Wars and Texas Hold 'Em alone are worth $8 - consider everything else a bonus.

Cause I'm sick of seeing ghosts, and I know how it's all gonna end

There's no triumph waiting, there's no sunset to ride off in

We all want to be great men, there's nothing romantic about it

I just want to know that I did all I could with what I was given

I just want to sell out my funeral.

I just want to be enough for everyone.


#22 Tropicat   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   177 Posts   Joined 6.7 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 10:09 PM

I know the old 2 month cards from original Xbox days don't work.

Those wont work on an Xbox 360. I think they will work on the original Xbox.

#23 GunstarRed   The Rated 'G' Superstar CAGiversary!   1276 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 13 July 2008 - 11:38 PM

The Xbox Live codes still work. I tried one about two weeks ago and it went through. This disc is a steal for that price with all those games. I have noticed though that both this disc and the Arcade disc that came packed with the 360 Arcade bundle spin like crazy when playing. I've had those two discs heat up my XBox more than any other games and I can feel the heat really blowing out of the back of the system.

#24 MIX_MASTER_ICE   The Night Stalker CAGiversary!   1971 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

MIX_MASTER_ICE

Posted 14 July 2008 - 12:19 AM

The Xbox Live codes still work. I tried one about two weeks ago and it went through. This disc is a steal for that price with all those games. I have noticed though that both this disc and the Arcade disc that came packed with the 360 Arcade bundle spin like crazy when playing. I've had those two discs heat up my XBox more than any other games and I can feel the heat really blowing out of the back of the system.



That probably means your 360 is about to shoot craps. I don't notice my arcade disc being any louder than any other game. If it gets that hot just cook some waffles on it next time.

#25 GunstarRed   The Rated 'G' Superstar CAGiversary!   1276 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2008 - 12:30 AM

^^^I have a Falcon system this time. My first 360 was an older model and did the same thing with Live Arcade and that was my only disc that spun so fast and got scratched up by the system. My new 360 runs pretty quiet on every disc BUT these. Still not sure why when it's not like there's some serious graphic intensity or loading involved.

#26 MIX_MASTER_ICE   The Night Stalker CAGiversary!   1971 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

MIX_MASTER_ICE

Posted 14 July 2008 - 02:12 AM

^^^I have a Falcon system this time. My first 360 was an older model and did the same thing with Live Arcade and that was my only disc that spun so fast and got scratched up by the system. My new 360 runs pretty quiet on every disc BUT these. Still not sure why when it's not like there's some serious graphic intensity or loading involved.


This is a total guess, but could the Unplugged disc be a Cd and not a DVD? Those games are very small, so they wouldn't really need the space of a DVD. A CD will spin faster than a DVD....just a guess.

#27 TURBO   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   363 Posts   Joined 7.2 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2008 - 05:47 AM

i got this last year when they had the same deal. but the 1 month card that came w/ it said it was expired. oddly it still worked when i tried it.

but be aware, it's possible to get expired live cards in them.
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#28 Layd Dly   LEGEND..wait for it..DARY CAGiversary!   2204 Posts   Joined 9.3 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2008 - 01:03 PM

Actually the drm bs is dead except if you had video/movie content on your console. If you send your console in for repairs and they replace msft is now transferring the drm to the new machine so you don't have to be on live to play anymore and also MSFT now allows you to assign/consolodate the rights of all your downloadable content to one console once a year (So you can transfer the drm from say a premium to an elite etc)


True to a certain extent, but i had the best buy warranty since i bought my 360 a ways before they extended the warranty, and ive since replace my premium with an elite so now i have to login to play any of my old XBLA games, so DRM is still and issue for many people out there.


Battle.net: Vinomen#1986
76561197994706915.pngAddFriend.png
168249.png


#29 Bronson-Lee   VitaTag:GoForBroke94 CAGiversary!   2091 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

Bronson-Lee

Posted 14 July 2008 - 01:26 PM

Uh, you do realize there's a DRM tool that would solve your problem, right? It's on the damn website!

#30 mogamer   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1269 Posts   Joined 8.2 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2008 - 03:49 PM

That DRM tool is useful. I used it when it was released. But MS will never create a DRM tool that allows you to sell or trade XBLA games. This is why having these games on disc, and at a discount price, is great.