Jump to content


- - - - -

Ghostbusters (PS3) discussion thread


#1 Sinistar   Bob's my uncle CAGiversary!   1796 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 07:07 AM

I didn't see a thread started for this. I decided to get the PS3 version since the PC version is not going to have any online play whatsoever.
And a side note, Best Buy better not screw me over on the preorder deal. Last time I preordered from them I didn't get the preorder bonuses.

Anyway, anyone up for some multiplayer this week? Maybe we can have a weekly CAG night bustin' ghosts. :)
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Also check my GameFly Referral link here ;)

#2 JMEPO   Drakes Deception CAGiversary!   1718 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 08:03 AM

If I can't get it cheap you can count me in : )

#3 Darknyss   Trophies 4TW! CAGiversary!   924 Posts   Joined 11.0 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 03:28 PM

The difference between the 360 and PS3 versions is embarrassing. Seriously, how can they release it like this?

http://www.lensoftruth.com/?p=10974

#4 Bluth Superfan   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   105 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Bluth Superfan

Posted 16 June 2009 - 06:34 PM

The difference between the 360 and PS3 versions is embarrassing. Seriously, how can they release it like this?

http://www.lensoftruth.com/?p=10974


Guess now we know why that demo was never released at E3. Pretty lame job by TR on this one.

#5 Logain8955   Groovy Cactuar CAGiversary!   2367 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 09:52 PM

I'm hoping they do some kind of update or disc reprint to fix the ps3 version, it sucks.

Anyway, I'm still having fun with it, and since the PS3's the one that's typically hooked up, I'll be sticking with this version. The only thing I need to complete my transformation back into my 7 year old self is some Hi-C Ecto Cooler. They should have remade it for the game release.

#6 DestroVega   Life is short... stunt it CAGiversary!   7152 Posts   Joined 7.9 Years Ago  

DestroVega

Posted 16 June 2009 - 10:06 PM

ecto-cooler was the shit

Destro1.gif            DestroVega.jpg


#7 mguiddy   'nives 'n 'nades CAGiversary!   5947 Posts   Joined 7.9 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 10:24 PM

The difference between the 360 and PS3 versions is embarrassing. Seriously, how can they release it like this?

http://www.lensoftruth.com/?p=10974

A link someone posted in the comments says it's only running at 960x540...
What happened to "PS3 is the leading platform" for this game?

#8 deadpool 3.0   Casual Gamer CAGiversary!   7032 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 10:32 PM

Seems like the Guitar Hero games was the same way. That sucks that the ps3 version of Ghostbusters isn't up to par with the 360 version. I guess I'll be playing the 360 one.

deadpool_signature_by_hsalpihw-d38xyht.p


#9 Sinistar   Bob's my uncle CAGiversary!   1796 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

Posted 16 June 2009 - 11:45 PM

The difference between the 360 and PS3 versions is embarrassing. Seriously, how can they release it like this?

http://www.lensoftruth.com/?p=10974



What's that link? it's not loading for me..
Best Buy would not let me pick up my pre-order today even thgouth they had it in stock.. they said street date is not until tomorrow so I have to come back then.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Also check my GameFly Referral link here ;)

#10 Logain8955   Groovy Cactuar CAGiversary!   2367 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 01:46 AM

Main differences:

360 version runs at both 480p and 720p. The PS3 version is an upscaled 480p, so textures can be muddy and blurry. The character models look fine though, just the background stuff is wonky.

360 version has burning embers in the trail of destruction from the proton pack. PS3 does not.

I don't know about the 360 version, but my PS3 version's frozen twice already. Both of them in the Library level.

It's still a good game, but if you have both systems, the 360's the way to go.

#11 jh6269   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1630 Posts   Joined 6.1 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 03:09 AM

Ok, so I'm reading the reports about the PS3 version and reading that it's only 540p resolution. I have the unopened game right here, and on the back it says for the resolutions, 480p, 720p, 1080i, and 1080p.

Is this some kind of bug in the game, or are the reports BS?

#12 mguiddy   'nives 'n 'nades CAGiversary!   5947 Posts   Joined 7.9 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 03:24 AM

I'm no expert, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn last night, but I'm pretty sure that, while the game supports output at 480/720/1080p, the reports of 540p resolution means the game's native resolution is 540p. When it outputs at a higher resolution it upscales.

The box just means it supports upscaling to those resolutions, unlike some PS3 games that have to be forced (by having 480p and 1080p as the only options in the Display Options of the XMB) to upscale.

Again... Everything I just said may smell funny as I may just be talking from my ass... :lol:

#13 jh6269   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1630 Posts   Joined 6.1 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 03:38 AM

I'm no expert, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn last night, but I'm pretty sure that, while the game supports output at 480/720/1080p, the reports of 540p resolution means the game's native resolution is 540p. When it outputs at a higher resolution it upscales.

The box just means it supports upscaling to those resolutions, unlike some PS3 games that have to be forced (by having 480p and 1080p as the only options in the Display Options of the XMB) to upscale.

Again... Everything I just said may smell funny as I may just be talking from my ass... :lol:


So, in other words, you're saying that you can't polish a turd?

Sad... Well, I'll wait a few days before I go get my money back. People are pitching a fit on the Atari forums.

The strange thing is that many games only have 720p on the back of the box; so I was kind of getting my hopes up when I saw the 1080p on the box.

#14 fuss   Insert Custom User Title CAGiversary!   1252 Posts   Joined 7.9 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 05:38 AM

I'm no expert, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn last night,

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

All I know is I love my Ghostbusters on my PS3. Who wants to get in on some online play?

Posted ImagePosted Image

Posted Image


#15 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 17 June 2009 - 11:52 AM

I was considering this game, but I play on an SDtv still so the resolution nonsense would be squat to me. But I can understand why so many are pissed that the PS3 version isn't looking all shiny and pretty and shit.

As long as the game is FUN, that's ALL that matters, with the ONLY exception being if it's a REALLY buggy piece of shit that keeps crashing every other second.

Oh and fuss, I picked up Legends Of Wrestlemania for PS3 last night from Gamestop($35 there). I'm still getting a handle on the controls, but it's a fairly fun title and well worth the $35 from what I'm seeing thus far. Though I do wish that more wrestlers were unlocked from the start and that they had the 'modern' version of Triple H in it.

i added a link to more wang pics. yu wang i mean not wang wang as in penis.

Sarcasm-Just one of the many services I offer.
Posted Image

#16 Blackout   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   5172 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 04:48 PM

It boggles my mind that it's 2009 and we're still getting shit copies of multiplatform games on the PS3.



#17 HowStern   Knock Knock.. CAGiversary!   1390 Posts   Joined 7.0 Years Ago  

HowStern

Posted 17 June 2009 - 05:07 PM

There are places where the PS3 has better graphics though.
See my post here.

http://www.cheapassg...46&postcount=51
"Squeezing a guys jolly roger with your hey nani-nani means dollars" -Howard Stern to Jessica Hahn

#18 AdvOfJet   Brotherhood of Darkness CAGiversary!   1547 Posts   Joined 10.9 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 09:29 PM

Been playing the PS3 version for a couple days now and the graphic differences have been blown way out of proportion. I went to the exact places shown on the lens of truth site and it looks no where near that bad.

I also ran around in circles several times in the spot where they were showing the walls breaking apart and it never happened to me once. Either something was wrong with the specific copy they had, something is wrong with their PS3, or they are just full of shit.

Now, having said that, I have had numerous other issues with the PS3 version of the game. The main one is events not triggering. At one point in the first level after the tutorial, the hotel manager is supposed to come bitch at you and tell you what to do next, and he just stood in the hall and never moved. Rebooted and tried again, same thing. All my guys were just standing around in the middle of the room doing nothing and waiting for the next trigger for the story.

Reloaded a third time and finally got it to trigger after moving behind the manager and literally pushing him further down the hall. He eventually took off on his own and moved the story along.

When things are running smooth, absolutely love the game. Picked it up as a rental initially but I will actually be buying this later on down the road to add to my collection.

796630.png


#19 DarkNessBear   CABear CAGiversary!   6477 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

DarkNessBear

Posted 17 June 2009 - 09:53 PM

Yea, it's more of that problem where "darker looks better". I changed the contrast/levels on the PS3 image and they are pretty much identical once I did that.

http://img.photobuck...ord/2iigbrq.jpg

But besides that - the game does not look that good to begin with. So who cares?

Edited by DarkNessBear, 17 June 2009 - 10:31 PM.


#20 HowStern   Knock Knock.. CAGiversary!   1390 Posts   Joined 7.0 Years Ago  

HowStern

Posted 17 June 2009 - 10:08 PM

There is a lot more going on in the PS3 version. Like in the video that I quoted in my post above the explosion is much more graphically impressive on the ps3 side of the screen.

And in the image DarkNess posted the sign in the upper left corner has sparks coming out on the PS3 version but not the 360.
"Squeezing a guys jolly roger with your hey nani-nani means dollars" -Howard Stern to Jessica Hahn

#21 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 17 June 2009 - 10:24 PM


I also ran around in circles several times in the spot where they were showing the walls breaking apart and it never happened to me once. Either something was wrong with the specific copy they had, something is wrong with their PS3, or they are just full of shit.


Well, they did say that the copy they played was a 'preview copy' that was at some Play N Trade, so that may explain things a bit. Perhaps it was a late beta copy and not properly finished for either system, since I think it said that both were preview copies.

i added a link to more wang pics. yu wang i mean not wang wang as in penis.

Sarcasm-Just one of the many services I offer.
Posted Image

#22 Darknyss   Trophies 4TW! CAGiversary!   924 Posts   Joined 11.0 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 10:50 PM

TR's Mark Randel Responds to PS3 Ghostbusters controversy

For the record, the PS3 version [of Ghostbusters] is softer due to the 'quincunx' antialiasing filter and the fact we render at about 75% the resolution of the 360 version. So you cannot directly compare a screen shot of one to the other unless you scale them properly. The PS3 does have less available RAM than the 360 – but we managed to squeeze 3 out of 4 textures as full size on the PS3.

What a bunch of BS.

#23 jh6269   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1630 Posts   Joined 6.1 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 11:02 PM

TR's Mark Randel Responds to PS3 Ghostbusters controversy

The PS3 does have less available RAM than the 360 – but we managed to squeeze 3 out of 4 textures as full size on the PS3.

What a bunch of BS.


Wow, so the developers of Uncharted, MGS4, Infamous, and the developers of God of War III (and countless others) must have magical powers that defy the laws of physics!


Ok, so anyway, is the game good or not (gameplay-wise)? Is it really an 8 out of 10?

Edited by jh6269, 17 June 2009 - 11:04 PM.
to ask about gameplay


#24 HowStern   Knock Knock.. CAGiversary!   1390 Posts   Joined 7.0 Years Ago  

HowStern

Posted 17 June 2009 - 11:10 PM

Yeah that's a load of crap what that TR guy said. Both systems have the same amount of ram. And the PS3 has a faster processor for the graphics core.

http://www.gamespot.....html?type=tech
"Squeezing a guys jolly roger with your hey nani-nani means dollars" -Howard Stern to Jessica Hahn

#25 Sinistar   Bob's my uncle CAGiversary!   1796 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

Posted 17 June 2009 - 11:29 PM

Finally got my copy. Gonna pop it in a bit if anyone is up for some multiplayer.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Also check my GameFly Referral link here ;)

#26 Sinistar   Bob's my uncle CAGiversary!   1796 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2009 - 07:05 AM

Finally had to play a couple of stages in the single player.. I'm in the library now. The game is pretty fun, though when a lot of enemies on the screen at once you tend to get double teamed a lot but it's not too annoying. I like using the PK meter to search for stuff. I played a few multilayer private games with a friend, just to get a feel for it.. anyone up for a 4 player game?
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Also check my GameFly Referral link here ;)

#27 JMEPO   Drakes Deception CAGiversary!   1718 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2009 - 09:26 AM

Oh man... Those graphics look awful compared to the 360 version... That almost looks last gen. Oh well, guess I'll just wait for Ghostbusters 2 : /

#28 Gourd   Tofu Knight CAGiversary!   899 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2009 - 03:45 PM

... What I want to know is which system will be getting "exclusive" or "better" downloadable content?
SUPER EXPLOSIVE POWER SUIT Bangai-O!!!


#29 c335harp   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   45 Posts   Joined 8.0 Years Ago  

c335harp

Posted 19 June 2009 - 05:23 PM

If you own both systems, then get the 360 one. If you only own a PS3 and you planned on buying this game, I don't see what the issue is.

#30 NamPaehc   !Anihc Ni Hsan CAGiversary!   4953 Posts   Joined 8.8 Years Ago  

Posted 19 June 2009 - 06:22 PM

the muliplayer stat boarded is wacked. =/

i maxed out my lvl at 20 in 2 days , last uniform you get is like the gb2 suit.

2ic4l5j.jpg