Jump to content


- - - - -

Elder Scrolls: Arena for Free!


#1 dangerballs   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   3 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

dangerballs

Posted 05 April 2004 - 09:50 PM

Bethesda is providing a free download of Elder Scrolls: Arena (one of the largest RPGs in computer history) of their website as a 10th Anniversary gift. You'll have to download DOSBox to get it to run under XP or 2000.

http://www.elderscro...loads_games.htm

#2 Strider Turbulence   Son of the Old Gods CAGiversary!   5970 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Strider Turbulence

Posted 05 April 2004 - 11:28 PM

Hell yeah!

I loved Morrowind and the chance to play it's prequel for free is sweet.

birdie-intro.gifAlpha 2


#3 RBM   do I look like I'm joking CAGiversary!   978 Posts   Joined 11.1 Years Ago  

Posted 05 April 2004 - 11:32 PM

Hey, thanks for sharing this tidbit! I also enjoyed Morrowind very much and am glad to fool around with its predecessor.
"God is not known, he is not understood; he is used--sometimes as moral support, sometimes as friend, sometimes as an object of love.

If he proves himself useful, the religious consciousness asks for no more than that."

--a scholar at Bryn Mawr

#4 Admiral Ackbar   It's a trap! CAGiversary!   15818 Posts   Joined 11.1 Years Ago  

Admiral Ackbar

Posted 05 April 2004 - 11:38 PM

Can't beat free :)

The 2014 E3 Theme: "Coming in 2015."


#5 Sporadic   done with this site CAGiversary!   9499 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 05 April 2004 - 11:45 PM

Hey, thanks for sharing this tidbit! I also enjoyed Morrowind very much and am glad to fool around with its predecessor.


Actually this is Daggerfall's predecessor.

Arena.....Daggerfall.......Morrowind

#6 sm04as   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1638 Posts   Joined 11.2 Years Ago  

Posted 05 April 2004 - 11:59 PM

Minimum system requirements:
386/25 MHZ, DOS 5.0, 4MB RAM, 25MB HD Space, VGA graphics card, Mouse, Soundcard (Ensoniq, Aria, Roland, SoundBlaster, Ultrasound).


Thanks! ...finally something my computer can handle. :wink:

#7 Ganelon   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   186 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 12:09 AM

Awesome. Now everyone can get into the action. Too bad Arena <<<< Daggerfall and I already have all the Elder Scrolls games.

#8 ayolykewhoa   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   521 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

ayolykewhoa

Posted 06 April 2004 - 12:11 AM

YEAH!
"My son is NOT a communist. He may be a liar, a pig, an idiot, and a communist, but he is NOT a porn star."

#9 Scrubking   Feels the Force CAGiversary!   4804 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Scrubking

Posted 06 April 2004 - 12:47 AM

Is this game any good?

What's it look and play like?

Gameplay is what makes a game worth playing - not story or graphics


MY SITE


#10 dangerballs   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   3 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

dangerballs

Posted 06 April 2004 - 12:53 AM

Its kind of like Morrowind but with Wolfenstein 3d graphics.

#11 Timmt   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   784 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 12:55 AM

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Speaking of which, is anyone else having problems running dosBox? I follow the instructions exactly as outlined, but when I get to the step where it says, "type 'CD\ARENA' and press enter," I get an illegal prompt or something. Excuse my computer illiteracy. :oops:
Posted Image
Phantasy Star Online EP I&II
Hunter's Guild FAQ

#12 dsullo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   571 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 02:42 AM

I got it to work you have to follow the directions for the dos box and assign the C drive first. I played around with the commands created a character and for some reason the game ran like a DOG on my P4 1.8 with 768 of ram. I deleted everything . It was virtually unplayable.

I wish some of the classics can be remade and Windows XP compatible like Daggerfall , Arena, Thief 2 and others.

I would pay for that

#13 dangerballs   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   3 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

dangerballs

Posted 06 April 2004 - 04:41 AM

I got it to work you have to follow the directions for the dos box and assign the C drive first. I played around with the commands created a character and for some reason the game ran like a DOG on my P4 1.8 with 768 of ram. I deleted everything . It was virtually unplayable.

I wish some of the classics can be remade and Windows XP compatible like Daggerfall , Arena, Thief 2 and others.

I would pay for that


You need to up the clock cycles that DOSBox uses (CTRL+F12, try 10500-10800) and you may also want to up the frames that it is allowed to skip (CTRL+F8, frameskip = 7 or 8).

#14 punktank45   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   40 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

punktank45

Posted 06 April 2004 - 05:24 AM

Im with yellow i get up to the point in dosbox where you type CD\ARENA and it gives me an illegal command error.
Do you folks like coffee? Real coffee from the hills of Columbia? The Duncan Hills will wake you, from a thousand deaths, a cup of blackened blood, die die, your dying for a cup! Guatemalan Blend, Ethiopian, French Vanilla Roast, die die, your dying for a cup. Prepare for ultimate flavor, your gonna get some NOW! And scream for your cream. Duncan Hills Duncan Hills Duncan Hills COFFEE!

#15 punktank45   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   40 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

punktank45

Posted 06 April 2004 - 05:34 AM

Yeah i got it working

If you installed it to C:\ARENA like it did go to DOSBox and type MOUNT C C:\ARENA

Then C:

then finnaly ARENA

READY GO GO GO
Do you folks like coffee? Real coffee from the hills of Columbia? The Duncan Hills will wake you, from a thousand deaths, a cup of blackened blood, die die, your dying for a cup! Guatemalan Blend, Ethiopian, French Vanilla Roast, die die, your dying for a cup. Prepare for ultimate flavor, your gonna get some NOW! And scream for your cream. Duncan Hills Duncan Hills Duncan Hills COFFEE!

#16 Snake2715   Gotta Have Your Toys... CAGiversary!   8511 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 01:24 PM

This game is great. I just came here to tell everyone about the FREE download but i though I better do a search first and sure enough.

I almost dont want to download it due to me having such good memories of the game.

There are like 7 things you have to collect and I remember all had these riddles. The game was so cool for its time. A lot of the sound effects are used over and over in movies and games even now.

I am so glad I am getting my old Amd back which will run this perfectly.

#17 emperordahc  

emperordahc

Posted 06 April 2004 - 01:25 PM

This really kicks ass, considering how old it is.

I had to F12 my cycles up to 19220, and it runs perfectly.

HeeHeeHee. I wonder if lots of my old DOS games will run right on this thing?
cagSig.png828689.png

#18 dsullo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   571 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 01:27 PM

thanks dangerballs, that helped I followed your directions

"You need to up the clock cycles that DOSBox uses (CTRL+F12, try 10500-10800) and you may also want to up the frames that it is allowed to skip (CTRL+F8, frameskip = 7"

#19 SolinariDotCom   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   363 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

SolinariDotCom

Posted 06 April 2004 - 01:42 PM

Awesome. Now everyone can get into the action. Too bad Arena <<<< Daggerfall and I already have all the Elder Scrolls games.


Well, too bad Daggerfall > All other Elder Scrolls.

It's just so much better ;-).
//Josh
Old games collecting dust? Tired of EB ripping you a new one on trade ins? Join the Game Trading Zone today and make deals with other people like you.
GameTZ Username: Sartori

#20 dsullo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   571 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 02:04 PM

will this dos box allow XP users to play thief 2?

Another question. When playing Arena on the DosBox is there a way to have the game full screen. I could not figure that out and I am playing within a small window

#21 emperordahc  

emperordahc

Posted 06 April 2004 - 03:34 PM

will this dos box allow XP users to play thief 2?

Thief 2 is a Windows game. DOSBOX is only for old DOS games.

Another question. When playing Arena on the DosBox is there a way to have the game full screen. I could not figure that out and I am playing within a small window

ALT+Enter, just like all games.
cagSig.png828689.png

#22 SolinariDotCom   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   363 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

SolinariDotCom

Posted 06 April 2004 - 05:11 PM

Thief doesn't run on Windows XP, not sure about 2, though..
//Josh
Old games collecting dust? Tired of EB ripping you a new one on trade ins? Join the Game Trading Zone today and make deals with other people like you.
GameTZ Username: Sartori

#23 Kazaganthi   Blue Rogue CAGiversary!   1947 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 05:38 PM

I started the series with Daggerfall, a beautiful game in it's time.

I've been dieing to try Arena. Thanks

#24 Jujuboy   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   43 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 06:22 PM

Score! I pumped muchas horas into Daggerfall when I was around 12 - 13 but arena was before my time, this'll be fun to play around with a little.

#25 dsullo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   571 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 07:01 PM

Thief doesn't run on Windows XP, not sure about 2, though..


I think you are wrong. Thief runs on my Windows XP and I have always read that Thief II does not run on Windows XP. Either way I thought they were both DOS games. Maybe I am wrong.

I do want to try some of my old Ultima games on the DOS box.

#26 JGouldie   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   16 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 06 April 2004 - 08:04 PM

I do want to try some of my old Ultima games on the DOS box.

Definitely. Ultima IV rocks. I also want to get out Masters of Orion, Civilization, and some of my AD&D Pool of Radiance style games. Looks like I'll have plenty to do this weekend!

#27 emperordahc  

emperordahc

Posted 07 April 2004 - 02:09 PM

I think you are wrong. Thief runs on my Windows XP and I have always read that Thief II does not run on Windows XP. Either way I thought they were both DOS games. Maybe I am wrong.


Neither run in DOS.

--

Thief 1: http://www.eidosinte...fo.html?gmid=34

Minimum Specifications:
Pentium 200 MHz (with 4MB SVGA Video Card, no Hardware Acceleration)
Pentium 166 MHz (with 3D Hardware Accelerator Card, Minimum 4MB On-Board RAM, 100% DirectX 6.0 Compliant)
32MB RAM Memory
Windows 95/98 <---------- NOTE
Mouse Required
DirectX 6.0 Required (Included)
DirectMedia Required (Included)
Intel Indeo Video Codec Required (Included)
100% DirectX 6.0 Compliant Soundcard
4X CD-ROM Drive
60MB Hard Drive Space

--

Thief 2: http://www.eidosinte...fo.html?gmid=56

Minimum Specifications:
266 MHz Pentium II or equivalent
Windows 95/98 <---------- NOTE
48 MB RAM
DirectX 7.0 compliant 3D accelerated video card
DirectX 7.0 compliant sound card
DirectX 7.0 or higher (included)
4X CD-ROM Drive
250MB uncompressed hard drive space
Keyboard and Mouse
cagSig.png828689.png