Jump to content


- - - - -

Getting Internet Upstairs


#1 adriley313   Banned Banned   7622 Posts   Joined 6.8 Years Ago  

Posted 14 March 2010 - 01:11 AM

Hey guys.

So here is my problem.
My friend has internet downstairs on his computer with a wireless router.

I just set up a computer in my new office upstairs but don't know how to get internet up there. Has it doesnt have a wifi thing built in. Its a 2004 computer.

Can anyone please help?
I have a router, not wireless but have one.

Thx a bunch
Now Playing:
:360: Prototype 2
:3ds: Fire Emblem: Awakening

Now Reading: Impulse by Steven Gould

#2 Malik112099   Got Wife? CAGiversary!   8220 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Malik112099

Posted 14 March 2010 - 01:56 AM

are you trying to use the internet from downstairs? if so, you need a "wifi thing" as you so elegantly put it
Posted Image

#3 JStryke  

Posted 14 March 2010 - 02:11 AM

Providing I read you're post right, you'll need to buy two things. A wireless router (linksys being the popular brand of choice) and a wireless reciever for your computer upstairs. I had a usb one myself years ago (Belkin) which worked quite nicely.

I stream on Twitch. At least two times a week. http://www.twitch.tv/jstryker416

JStryker416.png


#4 crystalklear64   Cocksmas Spirit CAGiversary!   13600 Posts   Joined 10.9 Years Ago  

crystalklear64

Posted 14 March 2010 - 02:14 AM

If your friend already has a wireless router functioning with the modem plugged into it, you just need a wifi card for your computer.

They come in PCI and USB. I suspect you'll want the later.

Alternatively, use a really long cat-5 cable.

ckjp.png


#5 jchoi   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   236 Posts   Joined 7.6 Years Ago  

Posted 14 March 2010 - 04:29 AM

This USB wireless adapter would probably be the cheapest, easiest way to get internet on your upstairs computer.

Install the drivers, plug it in, and connect to your friend's wireless router downstairs.

#6 austenwithane   Write Something Clever CAGiversary!   228 Posts   Joined 6.3 Years Ago  

austenwithane

Posted 14 March 2010 - 04:47 AM

Heres another option, just in case there is an issue with the wifi signal reaching upstairs.

http://www.homeplug.org/home/

This allows you to send signal over your power lines. Basically you take a cat-5 line from your router into the home plug and that plugs into an electrical outlet. A second home plug plugs into a power outlet near the PC and a cat-5 line runs from that to your PC. They aren't cheap but they're effective where wireless is a problem.
Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun. - Ash

#7 adriley313   Banned Banned   7622 Posts   Joined 6.8 Years Ago  

Posted 31 March 2010 - 05:30 PM

got the usb card.
thx a bunch guys
Now Playing:
:360: Prototype 2
:3ds: Fire Emblem: Awakening

Now Reading: Impulse by Steven Gould