Jump to content


- - - - -

Seagate 750gb 7200rpm 2.5" (PS3) Hard Drive + Free Shipping = $74.99


#1 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:48 AM

For those that would like to upgrade their PS3 hard drive, I found a pretty good deal on Newegg for a 720gb Seagate Hard Drive.

I have a 120gb in one PS3 and 500gb in the other and needed a larger one to transfer everything over to the 120gb PS3. With this much storage space you will have 700+ gigs of storage space after the system files...plenty of space.


Here are the specs:

750GBSATA

3.0Gb/s

16MB Cache

7200 RPM

The hard drive is normally $89.99 and is already $5 off, but Newegg is also providing an additional code for another $10 off (EMCKDGK52)...making it $74.99 and about $0.10 a gigabyte!

Bonus to those that get to take advantage of tax free purchases from Newegg.

Offer ends 7/6/11

Current Amazon price is $84.99

Edited by Muthafodder, 05 July 2011 - 03:08 AM.


#2 Kaiser499   Gaming Guru CAGiversary!   2960 Posts   Joined 5.9 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:48 AM

Can PS3's even handle a hard drive above 500?

Hir7Lx6.gif

Check Out My Gaming Stream

Kaiser499.png


#3 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:55 AM

Can PS3's even handle a hard drive above 500?


FAT32 has a current limit of 2TB

I believe there was more concern over the increase of the RPMs over the standard 5400, but that has been debunked with users seeing faster load times, albeit small increases.

#4 blahtastic   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   349 Posts   Joined 7.0 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:57 AM

Well, the only drawback is that 7200RPM drives are loud and produces more heat than the 5400RPM, hence why 5400RPM ones are recommended.

#5 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:59 AM

Well, the only drawback is that 7200RPM drives are loud and produces more heat than the 5400RPM, hence why 5400RPM ones are recommended.


I think this is less of an issue with the slim models as they don't get near as hot as the phat ones.


Testing was performed by Joystiq regarding this issue way back in 2007 :)

More testing

#6 Saix_XIII   Video Game Addict CAGiversary!   5126 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:00 AM

Too bad the PS3 doesn't use the FAT32 file system internally. I am unsure what the limit the PS3 can see, but I THINK 720GB would work.

Also, people did tests on these and the heat it generates is marginal and the speed increase is marginal as well. Basically, just look at this as a 720GB HDD for $75. Ignore the speed part.

532919.pngsig.gif

Repetition in a game is NOT a bad thing, almost all games are repetitive. What matters is if YOU enjoy the game, then the repetition becomes enjoyable and doesn't feel monotonous or boring.
My Trade List


#7 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:02 AM

Apparently there is a noticeable increase in speed...a whopping 34 seconds ;)

Speed Test - Killzone 2

#8 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:04 AM

...but I THINK 720GB would work....



Folks have been using 1TB storage for years in their PS3s.

I'm looking forward to SSD tech to come down in price.

#9 trunks982   Wii are the Champions! CAGiversary!   4979 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:23 AM

is that better than the Western Digital black?

#10 Saix_XIII   Video Game Addict CAGiversary!   5126 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:27 AM

I personally prefer the WD brand to Seagate.

532919.pngsig.gif

Repetition in a game is NOT a bad thing, almost all games are repetitive. What matters is if YOU enjoy the game, then the repetition becomes enjoyable and doesn't feel monotonous or boring.
My Trade List


#11 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:36 AM

I do too...but I figured I would try Seagate again...it's been 8 years since my personal vendetta...

#12 Blade   Xenaphobic, Warrior Princess CAGiversary!   9244 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:52 AM

Apparently there is a noticeable increase in speed...a whopping 34 seconds ;)

Speed Test - Killzone 2


Did people really do tests on whether or not higher spindle speeds result in faster performance? What do they think RPM stands for, Rapes Per Monkey? :roll:

#13 VANDALHEART   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   271 Posts   Joined 4.2 Years Ago  

VANDALHEART

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:51 AM

I do too...but I figured I would try Seagate again...it's been 8 years since my personal vendetta...


I've been using a 250gb Seagate in my PS3 for years. Seagate and Western Digital are always my first two choices. Don't know what your vendetta is, but I know a bad drive can leave a terrible impression.

#14 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:58 AM

I've been using a 250gb Seagate in my PS3 for years. Seagate and Western Digital are always my first two choices. Don't know what your vendetta is, but I know a bad drive can leave a terrible impression.


I purchased a pimped out Dell 8400 desktop nearly 8 years ago...the stock Seagate failed just outside warranty...mere days...I was shot down from Dell and Seagate and swore them off.

I still use the 8400 as a home server though, the dual core processor at 3.6GHz still holds it's weight with upgraded RAM. Most experienced capacitor failure of the 8400 motherboard :fingers crossed: the desktop itself has been great.

At that time Seagate had high failure rates but have since rebounded, and as you've said, the consensus is nowadays that neither is superior in failure rates.

I just chalk up the failure rates to early adopters of new hard drives that are eventually fixed with newer firmware builds.

Did people really do tests on whether or not spindle speeds result in faster performance? What do they think RPM stands for, Rapes Per Monkey? :roll:


Dude, I saw it on YouTube...it's gotta be legit.

#15 jdawgg76   RIP Stan the Man CAGiversary!   3775 Posts   Joined 8.2 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:58 AM

For those who would prefer a 5400 rpm 750 GB HD, Fry's has a Hitachi for $60. Picked one up, but haven't installed it yet.

#16 getstew   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   23 Posts   Joined 7.5 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:03 AM

Careful. I read there is a very high defect rate with the Momentus. I can tell you that installed Hitachi Travelstar drives on both my laptop and PS3 - couldn't be happier. They're more quite than both of my previous drives. Plus, cooler and faster (I went from 5400 to 7200 on both). And there is a noticeable performance increase (in the PS3 too).

#17 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:16 AM

Careful. I read there is a very high defect rate with the Momentus. I can tell you that installed Hitachi Travelstar drives on both my laptop and PS3 - couldn't be happier. They're more quite than both of my previous drives. Plus, cooler and faster (I went from 5400 to 7200 on both). And there is a noticeable performance increase (in the PS3 too).


From the looks of the reviews (*all Momentus hard drive models), it appears that if you are going to get a "lemon" it will be obvious fairly soon, with that said there are warranties and it also appears that more people are satisfied than displeased...which is the case for most hard drives nowadays.

I also take any reviews online with a grain of salt what with competition, fanboys, and all...

It's also worth noting that all reviewers at Newegg that stated the hard drive was for their PS3 left a 5-star review.

#18 CheapAssHustla   Hustle..Hustle Hard CAGiversary!   6325 Posts   Joined 4.2 Years Ago  

CheapAssHustla

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:36 AM

For those that would like to upgrade their PS3 hard drive, I found a pretty good deal on Newegg for a 720gb Seagate Hard Drive.

I have a 120gb in one PS3 and 500gb in the other and needed a larger one to transfer everything over to the 120gb PS3. With this much storage space you will have 700+ gigs of storage space after the system files...plenty of space.


Here are the specs:

750GBSATA

3.0Gb/s

16MB Cache

7200 RPM

The hard drive is normally $89.99 and is already $5 off, but Newegg is also providing an additional code for another $10 off (EMCKDGK52)...making it $74.99 and about $0.10 a gigabyte!

Bonus to those that get to take advantage of tax free purchases from Newegg.

Offer ends 7/6/11

Current Amazon price is $84.99


I wonder if it will be cheaper around Black Friday? I know I'm waiting for a cheap 32 gb micro sd for my phone.

#19 shrike4242   Not My Job Anymore, Go Bother Someone Else. CAGiversary!   42374 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:44 AM

I've had multiple WD Scorpio Black drives in my primary PC and they run very fast, they're cool and they have five year warranties on them. They've all been rock solid and I've gone through upgrades of 320GB to 500GB to 750GB and each drive upgrade has been faster due to tighter areal density on the platters.

The Momentus drives only have two year warranties, plus they have had higher than expected failure / issue rates over other comparable drives.

#20 Muthafodder   Banned Banned   1845 Posts   Joined 5.8 Years Ago  

Muthafodder

Posted 05 July 2011 - 06:35 AM

Is there a way to transfer downloaded games, etc. from the old ps3 HDD to the new one like you can with the 360 HDD or do you have to redownload it all?


You can if you have two PS3s.
Or, you can backup and restore on the new hard drive.

#21 MrBubbles   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   195 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

MrBubbles

Posted 05 July 2011 - 06:44 AM

I've been using a 7200RPM HD on my slim for years without problems.

#22 illmatic21   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   276 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

illmatic21

Posted 05 July 2011 - 07:26 AM

Is there a way to transfer downloaded games, etc. from the old ps3 HDD to the new one like you can with the 360 HDD or do you have to redownload it all?


You can use an external hard drive to transfer your old hard drive to the new one. If that's a possible option for you. I just got a new hard drive for my PS3 and that's what I did. It transferred everything perfectly, even the files larger than 4GB that I thought wouldn't be copied over. Or if you meant you're getting a second PS3 and you want to just transfer one directly to the other... there's an option to link up your PS3's and do that.

I bought a 500GB WD Scorpio Blue hard drive for my PS3 a couple days ago. I've heard some stories of the PS3 dying faster with the 7200 hard drives. Whether or not that's true, I'm not sure. Some people swear it's not true, some swear it can cause issues. It might only be true in the case of the older systems, which I have (60gb). So I decided to play it safe and go with a 5400. I doubt I'd notice games loading a few seconds faster in certain games anyway. Not all games get a big decrease in loading times. A lot of games only get a small decrease with the 7200... like one or two seconds faster than a 5400. Depends on the game though.

But this is a good deal on the hard drive.

#23 blahtastic   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   349 Posts   Joined 7.0 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 11:57 AM

You can use an external hard drive to transfer your old hard drive to the new one. If that's a possible option for you. I just got a new hard drive for my PS3 and that's what I did. It transferred everything perfectly, even the files larger than 4GB that I thought wouldn't be copied over. Or if you meant you're getting a second PS3 and you want to just transfer one directly to the other... there's an option to link up your PS3's and do that.


Does that external HD have to be completely empty or can you use one that already has files on it?

#24 shadowkast   Lowball Ban Lowball Ban   4980 Posts   Joined 7.2 Years Ago  

shadowkast

Posted 05 July 2011 - 12:04 PM

Use an Ethernet cable. I just transferred 100 gigs and it took just over an hour

Is there a way to transfer downloaded games, etc. from the old ps3 HDD to the new one like you can with the 360 HDD or do you have to redownload it all?



#25 Sir_Fragalot   wants Startropics 3. CAGiversary!   8156 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Sir_Fragalot

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:12 PM

Does that external HD have to be completely empty or can you use one that already has files on it?

Check out the HD Upgrade Thread in the PS3 forum. I think you need a certain partition on your external but you can in theory have HD with files on it as long as you have the right partition made.

125063.png808669.png
"Mega Man 9 isn't hard, you're just not paying attention." -KingBroly


#26 trunks982   Wii are the Champions! CAGiversary!   4979 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:28 PM

looks like a nice drive for my mid-2009 macbook pro. i had a 5400rpm WD blue and it was lagging like hell. spinning beach ball every few secs. cant seem to fix it.

#27 elessar123   "AT LAST, SIR TERRY, WE MUST WALK TOGETHER." CAGiversary!   10003 Posts   Joined 6.1 Years Ago  

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:53 PM

Folks have been using 1TB storage for years in their PS3s.

I'm looking forward to SSD tech to come down in price.


They need to implement some stuff to make SSD even viable. Popping an SSD in a PS3 is a waste.

Also, some of the newest 7200 drives are more quiet and cooler than 5400 drives. I highly recommend WD Scorpio Blacks for this reason.

#28 mariol90   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   111 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Posted 06 July 2011 - 08:07 PM

I bought this right before it dropped to $75 (I paid $80 which isn't bad still). I have the original 60GB PS3, and the 750GB drive runs cooler than the old 60GB. The highest temp. the 60GB reached was 54C, I haven't taken out the 750GB again to see what it reached but after trying to restore all my data, it was 44 or 46C.

#29 cheapfrag   CAG'er CAGiversary!   1455 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

Posted 06 July 2011 - 09:53 PM

Does that external HD have to be completely empty or can you use one that already has files on it?


The external HDD must be formatted as FAT32.

#30 mariol90   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   111 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Posted 06 July 2011 - 10:13 PM

The external HDD must be formatted as FAT32.


you can still use a drive that has stuff on it as long as you make one FAT32 partition, and the other partitions aren't FAT32. I did this on a drive with 2 ntfs partitions and one FAT32, and the PS3 recognized the FAT32 partition properly (ignored the ntfs ones).