Jump to content


- - - - -

Battlefield: Bad Company Vietnam DLC (PC) for free (must own BFBC2 vanilla)


#1 fohstick   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   2 Posts   Joined 5.0 Years Ago  

fohstick

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:15 AM

i have tested it on my BFBC2 cd-key from steam and it works. it should also work for the retail version

1. download origin (http://store.origin.com/)
2. login
3. copy your BFBC2 cd-key from steam or any other source
4. redeem your cd-key in origin
5. select BFBC2: Deluxe Edition

you'll get BFBC2 vanilla + vietnam for free on Origin

#2 SeanTM22   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1046 Posts   Joined 5.4 Years Ago  

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:20 AM

Hot damn! Thanks OP!

Edit: Where does Vietnam Show up?

#3 Magicman103   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   327 Posts   Joined 4.8 Years Ago  

Magicman103

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:21 AM

i have tested it on my BFBC2 cd-key from steam and it works. it should also work for the retail version

1. download origin (http://store.origin.com/)
2. login
3. copy your BFBC2 cd-key from steam or any other source
4. redeem your cd-key in origin
5. select BFBC2: Deluxe Edition

you'll get BFBC2 vanilla + vietnam for free on Origin


Woah thanks OP! So just so that im not mistaken, once you do this you can use the vietnam dlc with your steam copy of the game?

edit: aw man. i guess i didnt read carefully enough you cant use the dlc with your steam copy :(.

#4 justasplanned   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

justasplanned

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:28 AM

I'm pretty sure you won't be able to use your steam BFBC2 after doing this

#5 Magicman103   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   327 Posts   Joined 4.8 Years Ago  

Magicman103

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:31 AM

I'm pretty sure you won't be able to use your steam BFBC2 after doing this


you can still use it. but the vietnam dlc will only work on your origin copy.

#6 epicjas0n   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   58 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

epicjas0n

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:35 AM

I redeemed the deluxe edition but Origin refuses to start BFBC2. I might have to uninstall the game and install via Origin unless someone knows how to get it to work....(I have a physical copy, non-steam)
Posted Image

#7 petersa1d   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   265 Posts   Joined 5.2 Years Ago  

Posted 28 July 2011 - 04:55 AM

Did you happen to get this idea from a youtube user zephirex?

#8 RussellC   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   369 Posts   Joined 6.6 Years Ago  

RussellC

Posted 28 July 2011 - 05:48 AM

Neat. Downloading now.

#9 AsherFischell   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   198 Posts   Joined 6.1 Years Ago  

AsherFischell

Posted 28 July 2011 - 05:58 AM

If this is what I think it is, there's an error on origin that makes people think they're getting Vietnam, but whenever they try to play it it doesn't work, because you need an actual Vietnam download or cd key to play it. Someone posts this at least a couple of times a month. Could be wrong, though.

#10 CheapSteam   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   145 Posts   Joined 4.4 Years Ago  

Posted 28 July 2011 - 06:07 AM

This is OP first post? Well it will be mine as well. Posted Image

If this is what I think it is, there's an error on origin that makes people think they're getting Vietnam, but whenever they try to play it it doesn't work, because you need an actual Vietnam download or cd key to play it. Someone posts this at least a couple of times a month. Could be wrong, though.


You're right.


This isn't really new, the Steam Bad Company 2 serial will register on Origin as Deluxe Edition (with Vietnam) and will also download Vietnam, but in order to play Vietnam you will need the code.

#11 JayFx2   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   101 Posts   Joined 5.2 Years Ago  

Posted 28 July 2011 - 06:14 AM

try using my CD Key from Origin and it did not work at all.

Edit: I used another CD key from a retail copy and it worked! Can anyone confirm they can actually play Vietnam? I have not download it, since its a big file. it will take forever for me.

Edited by JayFx2, 28 July 2011 - 06:25 AM.


#12 gunstar808   Capitalism, Ho! CAGiversary!   823 Posts   Joined 8.4 Years Ago  

Posted 28 July 2011 - 06:55 AM

As a few others have said, this is probably the same thing that always gets posted. You still need to register the Vietnam serial in game to access it. Of course, I would be happy to be wrong here.

#13 justasplanned   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

justasplanned

Posted 28 July 2011 - 08:59 AM

Haha way to crush hopes and dreams guys

anyway, all joking aside I knew it was too good to be true

#14 Yankeessuck193   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   158 Posts   Joined 6.7 Years Ago  

Yankeessuck193

Posted 28 July 2011 - 07:50 PM

Yup, just tried and it works. Awesome find OP!
The chance of getting a Touchpad at my local BB is the chance of Texas legalizing gay marriage with Rick Perry as the governor. :applause:

#15 malethief   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   414 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

malethief

Posted 28 July 2011 - 08:27 PM

Doesn't work as you think, you still need a Vietnam serial key which it picked up for $5. Your just installing the deluxe edition with access to the Vietnam dlc you can't actually play...

Edited by malethief, 01 August 2011 - 04:26 AM.


#16 Oktoberfest   Wisdom CAGiversary!   2873 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Oktoberfest

Posted 28 July 2011 - 08:48 PM

so you guys are actually playing Vietnam content?

Bing Rewards - Use Bing as your search engine and earn gift cards!


#17 The Carrot Cake Kid   Luvs Creamy Frosting CAGiversary!   1300 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

The Carrot Cake Kid

Posted 28 July 2011 - 10:20 PM

so you guys are actually playing Vietnam content?


Apparently it's a huge secret

#18 unc13 buck   MainelyCAGGIN' CAGiversary!   108 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

unc13 buck

Posted 28 July 2011 - 10:49 PM

Yeah this doesn't give you vietnam at all, so anyway we can shitcan this?


#19 aaronz77   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 6.0 Years Ago  

aaronz77

Posted 29 July 2011 - 06:14 PM

Origin has the DLC Vietnam add-on for $5 today (7-29) thru Monday. I don't know if it will work with the d2d version i already have tho. We'll see. Will post back later.

#20 mythus   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   653 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Posted 29 July 2011 - 06:22 PM

Ugh if you originally bought it on origins or ea downloader in the past, the key will only be shown as used. So basically it only works for any key obtained outside of origins.

#21 meatwad3000   The Mauve Avenger CAGiversary!   719 Posts   Joined 7.1 Years Ago  

meatwad3000

Posted 29 July 2011 - 06:39 PM

This is the deals section and not free section. A deal is if it costs like 1.00 but free is well, free. I didnt think knowing the difference was so hard.


disregard this post gargus is just a douchebag , thanks for the heads up OP

#22 M_A_C   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   268 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

Posted 30 July 2011 - 04:06 AM

tried it and it did not give me the Vietnam DLC.

#23 Dark Lord Greg   The Urban Legend CAGiversary!   1463 Posts   Joined 6.2 Years Ago  

Dark Lord Greg

Posted 30 July 2011 - 04:57 AM

oh wow and I just bought it during the steam summer sale

Dark+Lord+Greg.png


#24 jlg6184   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   52 Posts   Joined 8.2 Years Ago  

Posted 30 July 2011 - 01:52 PM

This did not work for me either. It shows me as having the Digi-Deluxe version, but in game, it asks for a separate code for Vietnam.

#25 chrisflyer   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   269 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

chrisflyer

Posted 30 July 2011 - 04:41 PM

worked for me. thanks op!

#26 cscream1   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   75 Posts   Joined 7.4 Years Ago  

cscream1

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:16 PM

this does work, i was just testing keys in origin a few days ago and it was surprised by it

also might have helped me get in battlefield 3 alpha too, but i'm not sure

i'm certainly not veteran cuz i only played BC2 on pc once!!!!!!!!! haha

#27 jlg6184   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   52 Posts   Joined 8.2 Years Ago  

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:22 PM

this does work, i was just testing keys in origin a few days ago and it was surprised by it

also might have helped me get in battlefield 3 alpha too, but i'm not sure

i'm certainly not veteran cuz i only played BC2 on pc once!!!!!!!!! haha


How does it work?? When I try to access Vietnam from within game, it still prompts me for a key, event though Origin says I have the Digital Deluxe version installed.

#28 Walfisch   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   20 Posts   Joined 5.2 Years Ago  

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:26 PM

How does it work?? When I try to access Vietnam from within game, it still prompts me for a key, event though Origin says I have the Digital Deluxe version installed.

Did you uninstall/reinstall?

#29 epicjas0n   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   58 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

epicjas0n

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:32 PM

How does it work?? When I try to access Vietnam from within game, it still prompts me for a key, event though Origin says I have the Digital Deluxe version installed.


Same with me. Although Origin shows the Deluxe version it will ask me for a key when I try to play Vietnam.
Posted Image

#30 jlg6184   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   52 Posts   Joined 8.2 Years Ago  

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:36 PM

Did you uninstall/reinstall?


No, but I guess I can. I will have to redownload everything though. I remember asking EA about it once, because someone else told me that I should be able to access it. When you open the game, there is a little BC2 Vietnam link on the side, but it prompts you for a key in order to play it