Jump to content


- - - - -

Gaming headset recommendations anyone?


#1 HumanSnatcher   Disappear here... CAGiversary!   6882 Posts   Joined 9.8 Years Ago  

HumanSnatcher

Posted 15 October 2012 - 12:04 AM

I've been going thru reviews for gaming headsets for the past couple weeks or so and can't exactly decide on a specific one. I thought I'd ask my fellow CAGs if they use any and have any recommendations? I don't really care if its wireless or not. The only thing I'd like in one is one that works decently with a PC.

I will say that I keep going back to the Sony Pulse Elite Headset as that doesn't require and extra wires to get in game sound and has the ability to work with a PC very well and can work passively without being charged with mp3 players and such. Anyone here have one...if so whats your thoughts on it? Its pretty much the only one that covers all the bases

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16879261401

When I was in High School a friend got a 100% on a D.A.R.E. test and they gave him a D.A.R.E. duffel bag. Two years later, a drug dealer that was a friend of ours at the time asked to borrow something to transport 2kg of cocaine in and he handed over his D.A.R.E. bag. He brought it back to him with an oz of weed in it as a thank you.



#2 McFryyyyyy   Ninja Gaiden speedrunner CAGiversary!   3103 Posts   Joined 6.8 Years Ago   Has been playing Destiny
XONE

Posted 15 October 2012 - 03:54 AM

The iteration before the one you mention is pretty good and about 40$ cheaper. Same functionality too :)
McFryyy.png
Currently Enjoying: :wiiu: Shovel Knight NG+++ and Smash

#3 humidore   Pasha CAGiversary!   1880 Posts   Joined 10.5 Years Ago  

Posted 17 October 2012 - 11:58 PM

The iteration before the one you mention is pretty good and about 40$ cheaper. Same functionality too :)


Can't use that model with anything other than a PS3 and PC since it only has Bluetooth functionality. I picked them up for use with my Vita, but learned there are no cables to connect it to"normal devices".


#4 AgentW   Ate a sandwich. CAGiversary!   459 Posts   Joined 4.3 Years Ago  

Posted 18 October 2012 - 03:06 AM

if you don't mind the wires, I've gone through 3 headsets across my systems, an the most comfortable and best sounding is the Siberia V2 from steelseries. So comfy. It has a ps3 version that comes with a longer usb cable to hook it up to the console, but also works on pc, with both the analog options and usb.

Otherwise, my other setup, for the consoles, is the turtlebeach x12 (decent if found for like $40, but almost any headset will work) and the Turtle beach DSS. The headset doesn't matter too much, but the DSS is awesome and creates virtual surround sound in any headset that it is connected to. It's fantastic. And both the x12 and the DSS were half the price of a decent set of real surround sound headsets.

So in conclusion, siberia v2 or the DSS + headset

#5 gsr1379   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   174 Posts   Joined 3.5 Years Ago  

Posted 18 October 2012 - 03:56 AM

I use a Astro mix amp and a sennheiser pc360. On my ps3 and Xbox. The mix amp should work on a pc as well. I really dig it.

#6 AirMcLaren   Trophy Whore CAGiversary!   244 Posts   Joined 4.5 Years Ago  

Posted 18 October 2012 - 07:05 AM

Astro A40's. Expensive but 100% worth it. Works on all systems.
Posted Image

#7 hpbbes   I typo'd my username CAGiversary!   1213 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:36 AM

I'll also vote for the A40's. They are very comfy even if you wear glasses.

#8 McFryyyyyy   Ninja Gaiden speedrunner CAGiversary!   3103 Posts   Joined 6.8 Years Ago   Has been playing Destiny
XONE

Posted 18 October 2012 - 03:24 PM

Can't use that model with anything other than a PS3 and PC since it only has Bluetooth functionality. I picked them up for use with my Vita, but learned there are no cables to connect it to"normal devices".


For what he needs which is PC and PS3 it is the same :roll:
McFryyy.png
Currently Enjoying: :wiiu: Shovel Knight NG+++ and Smash

#9 shadowkast   Lowball Ban Lowball Ban   4980 Posts   Joined 7.1 Years Ago  

shadowkast

Posted 19 October 2012 - 04:03 AM

For what he needs which is PC and PS3 it is the same :roll:


He never says he will strictly use it for those two only. Hell, he even mentions mp3 players. Save the eye roll buddy. Everyone its just trying to help him.

I basically Frankenstein'd my set; audio technica hd a700 (i think), DSS amp and a throat Mic. Cost me a hair more than my second choice, the astro a40's but i wanted a really good set of headphones rather than a headset

#10 gsr1379   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   174 Posts   Joined 3.5 Years Ago  

Posted 19 October 2012 - 04:59 AM

He never says he will strictly use it for those two only. Hell, he even mentions mp3 players. Save the eye roll buddy. Everyone its just trying to help him.

I basically Frankenstein'd my set; audio technica hd a700 (i think), DSS amp and a throat Mic. Cost me a hair more than my second choice, the astro a40's but i wanted a really good set of headphones rather than a headset


I did a similar set up at first. I used the mix amp, Denon d2000 and a zalman clip on mic.
It worked well but I wanted to be able to Mute my mic other then unplug it. So i "upgraded" to the pc360