Jump to content


- - - - -

Will I be able to use my Nintendo USB Wifi adapter for the Wii


#1 pigeonpickup   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   25 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

pigeonpickup

Posted 23 September 2006 - 02:39 AM

It works great for the DS, but will it be compatible with the Wii? Im assuming so, but haven't heard any word on it.

#2 Oops! I did it again.   The Circus era is HERE! CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

Oops! I did it again.

Posted 23 September 2006 - 02:46 AM

Hasn't been addressed by Nintendo yet, but I'd say it's safe to assume it'll work just fine.

#3 zewone   Thursday CAGiversary!   43156 Posts   Joined 11.1 Years Ago  

Posted 23 September 2006 - 02:49 AM

It works with the PSP, of course it's gonna work for the Wii.

It's just a generic Wi-Fi adapter.

#4 Michaellvortega   Halo 3 is coming........ CAGiversary!   3643 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Michaellvortega

Posted 23 September 2006 - 03:00 AM

It works with the PSP, of course it's gonna work for the Wii.

It's just a generic Wi-Fi adapter.


Would it be funny if it didn't? Im 99% sure it will, but it would be a funny WTF moment as you read the literature that comes with the Wii promoting a Nintendo brand router.
DISCLAIMER:These postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Posted Image

#5 Oops! I did it again.   The Circus era is HERE! CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

Oops! I did it again.

Posted 23 September 2006 - 04:10 AM

It works with the PSP, of course it's gonna work for the Wii.

It's just a generic Wi-Fi adapter.


Is it really? I've read otherwise on various message boards here and there.

I never knew that, that's pretty cool.

#6 io   ... Super Moderators   23163 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 23 September 2006 - 04:18 AM

It works great for the DS, but will it be compatible with the Wii? Im assuming so, but haven't heard any word on it.


You were able to get that piece of crap to work for your DS? I did everything I could to get it to work and it just won't. I went through all of Nintendo's help pages and none of that stuff applied to me. The DS connects, but I don't get an IP. I've tried it on multiple computers on multiple networks.

I'm hoping EB takes it back even though I'm just past the 7 day return window :cry:.

I guess they must work for some people otherwise they would have been recalled :lol: - but it is useless for me...

#7 botticus   GHM4Life CAGiversary!   16400 Posts   Joined 9.8 Years Ago  

Posted 03 October 2006 - 10:45 PM

http://www.1up.com/d...ory?cId=3154188

There will be an ethernet kit available to use a wired connection, and it will be compatible with the DS Wi-Fi adapter.

#8 io   ... Super Moderators   23163 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 03 October 2006 - 11:23 PM

Hey, I was finally able to beat my DS wifi adapter into submission. It seems you have to create a bridge between whatever wired connection you have and the Nintendo wifi adapter. Thing is, THIS ISN'T IN ANY OF THE Fucking HELP PAGES! I had to dig around a bunch of other sites to find this out. This fixed the one error I kept getting - for which Nintendo's help page recommends uninstalling all kinds of software (virus protection, firewalls, etc).

The problem with the bridge is that it renders the Nintendo Wifi adapter software inoperable - so you have to uninstall the bridge, uninstall the software, reinstall the software, and reconnect the bridge every time you want to set it up. Ughhh.... Well, for the few times that I'll actually use it (when I'm in hotels) I guess I can put up with that. But I wouldn't recommend trying to use it with the Wii - just get that Ethernet kit Botticus mentioned :lol:.

#9 hack   shadow of the day. CAGiversary!   577 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:30 AM

Odd, my USB Connector installs and runs perfectly. Its a really odd device. It works for a lot of people, and doesn't for others. I've never had issues with it.

As for it creating a bridge, I've never heard of that solution. The actual setup has absolutely nothing to do with making a bridge. It simply installs the hardware ands turns on Internet Connection Sharing on your original Internet connection.

Back on topic - Nintendo and various other outlets have said that the USB Connector would work with the Wii.
prjkthack
Twitter / YouTube

#10 Oops! I did it again.   The Circus era is HERE! CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

Oops! I did it again.

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:42 AM

Thanks for the link, botticus. Eases my mind now that I was able to pick up one cheap on eBay.

#11 io   ... Super Moderators   23163 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:32 AM

As for it creating a bridge, I've never heard of that solution. The actual setup has absolutely nothing to do with making a bridge. It simply installs the hardware ands turns on Internet Connection Sharing on your original Internet connection.

Back on topic - Nintendo and various other outlets have said that the USB Connector would work with the Wii.


That's funny, because to get the bridge to work, you have to turn OFF the connection sharing :D.

#12 David85   Banned Banned   4852 Posts   Joined 11.1 Years Ago  

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:08 AM

It works with the PSP, of course it's gonna work for the Wii.

It's just a generic Wi-Fi adapter.



A really expensive generic Wi-Fi adapter.
"It (Wii) would be a complete failure if we didn't sell more units than the Nintendo GameCube". - Satoru Iwata 2005

"If you asked me if Sony's strength in hardware was in decline, right now I guess I would have to say that might be true." - Ken Kutaragi 9-9-06

Finally they speak the truth.

#13 Wolfpup   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   9955 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

Posted 05 October 2006 - 08:04 PM

Why are 1up's links always dead? Can someone tell me what this Ethernet kit is? I'd much rather have a wired connection than have to buy wifi stuff. (Wish Wii just had an Ethernet port-preferably in place of WiFi.)

#14 Baron O Hell   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   652 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Baron O Hell

Posted 09 October 2006 - 12:54 PM

The DS dongle only workds with PSP if you hack it which is fairly easy to do. I have it setup so it can connect to anything. However, it was a waste of money since I could have bought a wireless router for less.