I'm afraid to play ICO..

Javery

CAGiversary!
Feedback
20 (100%)
I've had my PS2 for almost two years now and I have never had any problems with it at all (no DREs, etc.). I just opened my copy of ICO I bought during the CC sale back in December. Once the disc was in the PS2 it started making very loud clicking noises. :? My PS2 read the disc but shortly after I started playing, my character jumped out a window and then the disc started clicking again and never stopped. I had to reset from a blank screen. :(

Has this ever happened to anyone? Does it have something to do with the blue bottom on the disc? I put in another game and it worked fine but I am afraid to try again because of all the problems people have with DREs - I don't want to be one of them...

I hate that. the Sims i had had a blue bottom, and I was completely unaware. Once i put it in my disc, it just simply didn't work. i've come to the conclusion that my PS2 at my dad's isnt strong enough to play blue- discs, so i had to gloomily bring it over to my mom's house. Then again, its probably the fact that my dad got his PS2 off ebay, and something must've happened (wear and tear) that made it unable to play the blue disc, because what i heard is that since the white is the lightest color, its easiest to reflect off the disc and play, or something similar, but dark blue is much, much harder, especially for older PS2's. i wish they would stop making those stupid blue bottoms, it limits my ability to be able to play all the games on my PS2. unique yes, but simply not working.

There's a quick and safe solution to avoid these clicking sounds. Place two pieces of scotch tape of equal length equidistant from the center. It should look something like this:

| o |

The "|" are the pieces of tape. The "o" is the center of the CD (opening). This should fix those clicking sounds with blue-bottom discs.