Jump to content


- - - - -

PS3 Guitar Hero 3 Guitar backwards compatible with PS2 titles?


#1 Gameboy415   16-bits of awesome CAGiversary!   3465 Posts   Joined 16.3 Years Ago  

Posted 10 July 2007 - 01:42 PM

Hey gang, just wondering if anyone could clear this up for me:

Can the new (PS3 specific) Guitar Hero 3 guitar be used with Guitar Hero 1, 2, and 80's games for PS2 (being played on a PS3)?

I've been playing GuitarFreaks over here in Japan on my Japanese PS2 and I'm dying to play the Guitar Hero games, but the current guitar controllers don't seem to be compatible with PS3. I figure this new controller potentially could fix that.

Has anyone heard anything about backwards compatibility?

#2 Mana Knight   Cloud Strife CAGiversary!   14401 Posts   Joined 15.9 Years Ago  

Mana Knight

Posted 10 July 2007 - 03:11 PM

Not yet I believe, but I want to know myself also.

#3 lanleague   Wingardium Leviosa! CAGiversary!   1327 Posts   Joined 15.7 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2007 - 04:05 PM

One can only hope. It'd make sense.

#4 iggywiggum   Go go go New Justice Team CAGiversary!   239 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

iggywiggum

Posted 14 July 2007 - 06:39 PM

I hope so. It would be a huge factor in me buying it.

#5 DesertEagleXIX   Semper Economus! CAGiversary!   3247 Posts   Joined 16.9 Years Ago  

DesertEagleXIX

Posted 14 July 2007 - 06:41 PM

They will be making changes to the fret buttons. I don't see how it could be b/c.

http://crunchgear.co...ails-announced/

#6 rvdrock   Master Of The Ellipsis CAGiversary!   1475 Posts   Joined 16.1 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2007 - 06:41 PM

Same here, I wanna know, i'd be all over that

#7 Skexis   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   237 Posts   Joined 15.9 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2007 - 06:50 PM

They will be making changes to the fret buttons. I don't see how it could be b/c.

http://crunchgear.co...ails-announced/


I don't see anything there about changing the fret buttons.
I know they were going to add in more fret buttons higher on the neck for solo play, but I think that's optional to use.

#8 creid   Dead For The Summer CAGiversary!   6779 Posts   Joined 16.6 Years Ago  

Posted 14 July 2007 - 06:53 PM

They will be making changes to the fret buttons. I don't see how it could be b/c.

http://crunchgear.co...ails-announced/

Huh? All this says is that the fret button colors can be changed. They have already made GH2 guitars for 360. So the GH3 guitar can't be too different, controlwise.

I'm thinking they will be compatible. There's really no commercial reason for them to be incompatible.

#9 FriskyTanuki   I have a piano CAGiversary!   69980 Posts   Joined 16.8 Years Ago  

FriskyTanuki

Posted 14 July 2007 - 10:09 PM

They will be making changes to the fret buttons. I don't see how it could be b/c.

http://crunchgear.co...ails-announced/

That's nearly two months old news, have you seen the guitars that were revealed this week? The only difference is that color is around the edges of the fret button instead of the whole fret button being green or whatever, so nothing has really changed.

#10 Super Macho Man   CRUNCH TIME CAGiversary!   2085 Posts   Joined 16.4 Years Ago  

Super Macho Man

Posted 14 July 2007 - 11:36 PM

I imagine that if the sixaxis works with PS2 games, it'd only make sense for the GH3 controller to work with the PS2 Guitar Hero games as well. Then again, I may not be understanding technical intricacies or stupid licensing issues that always seem to prevent logical things like this from working...

#11 DesertEagleXIX   Semper Economus! CAGiversary!   3247 Posts   Joined 16.9 Years Ago  

DesertEagleXIX

Posted 17 July 2007 - 09:24 PM

Ok, sorry guys. I had heard about new button colors, but I made a mistake.

"The new color button design will definitely not affect the actual game play," Red Octane's Brian Lam told Destructoid. "Rather it is merely for a more authentic rock look and feel, and the SG and X-Plorer guitars will still work with their specific platform for the next Guitar Hero title."

http://www.destructo...ral-31753.phtml

#12 FriskyTanuki   I have a piano CAGiversary!   69980 Posts   Joined 16.8 Years Ago  

FriskyTanuki

Posted 17 July 2007 - 10:11 PM

Ok, sorry guys. I had heard about new button colors, but I made a mistake.

"The new color button design will definitely not affect the actual game play," Red Octane's Brian Lam told Destructoid. "Rather it is merely for a more authentic rock look and feel, and the SG and X-Plorer guitars will still work with their specific platform for the next Guitar Hero title."

http://www.destructo...ral-31753.phtml

How about you stop posting two month old news and get to this month's news?

Posted Image

#13 mr ryles   Plays bowling CAGiversary!   14732 Posts   Joined 16.8 Years Ago  

Posted 17 July 2007 - 10:15 PM

I don't think this helps your problem but this allows for your PS2 guitar hero guitar to be used on the PS3.

http://www.gamestop....oduct_id=802566

I think I will order one of them when the 80's edition comes out. This is good for me as I sold my ps2 when I got a ps3. So I still have the guitar hero games but no way to play them. This will fix that.

#14 Crimson_Raven25   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   115 Posts   Joined 12.9 Years Ago  

Crimson_Raven25

Posted 17 July 2007 - 11:44 PM

yeah im also picking a ps3/ps2 thingy i heard from a few people fro m forms sayin g that if u put it on normal when u start the game up everything but hard isnt laggy but hard 1-2 seconds off so im just playing easy and mid
and that should hold me of with out breaking the ps3/ps2 adp from being pissed off...(hopfully) a nd the gh3 gits look pretty sweet but black is always the best white is tooooo bright

#15 creid   Dead For The Summer CAGiversary!   6779 Posts   Joined 16.6 Years Ago  

Posted 18 July 2007 - 03:02 AM

I don't think this helps your problem but this allows for your PS2 guitar hero guitar to be used on the PS3.

http://www.gamestop....oduct_id=802566

I think I will order one of them when the 80's edition comes out. This is good for me as I sold my ps2 when I got a ps3. So I still have the guitar hero games but no way to play them. This will fix that.

Why do people keep linking to the product without reading the reviews? It doesn't work so well.

#16 MrBrando   I pity the fool! CAGiversary!   656 Posts   Joined 16.5 Years Ago  

Posted 25 July 2007 - 10:00 AM

hey I know this doesn't have to do with the PS3 version of guitar hero 3 but I just got the 80's edition and it works with the PS3. It's not perfect actually you need and adapter of course and if that adapter worked on GH 1 then it will work the same as on the 80's. Like on mine the whammy bar doesn't work and the fret is upsidedown but other than that everything works great.

#17 shaunLEGEND   Mr. Brightside CAGiversary!   241 Posts   Joined 14.3 Years Ago  

shaunLEGEND

Posted 25 July 2007 - 10:43 AM

I'm kind of bummed to be a bearer of bad news but I came across this in the official Rock Band forums. This was posted by a user named Shoeless:

Just a quick update for those who made the leap from the PS2 to PS3. After asking around the Guitar Hero forums, I got referred by an Admin to thread asking a similar question about Guitar Hero III's PS3 controller working with past Guitar Hero games. This is the answer I got back:

Quote:
To answer your question, the GH3 controller has been tested for the following:

GH1 (PS2) - 100% functionality
GH2 (PS2) - partial functionality
GH Encore (PS2) - partial functionality

You definitely want to keep your PS2 around in order to play some of the GH titles.
So there you have it. Even Neversoft/Red Octane haven't licked it completely.


I'm still holding out hope though. My plan is to buy GH3 for ps3 and Rock Band for 360(for online reasons). With my luck, watch the Rock Band ps3 guitar be backwards compatible with all the ps2 gh games lol.

#18 Layd Dly  

Posted 25 July 2007 - 08:19 PM

guess my ps2 will stay down stairs for a little while.

#19 asianxcore   ...In Parseltongue CAGiversary!   6085 Posts   Joined 16.5 Years Ago  

Posted 25 July 2007 - 09:25 PM

Why do people keep linking to the product without reading the reviews? It doesn't work so well.


Agreed.

Pelican PS2/PS3 Adapter in a nutshell:

-2-D/3-D fighting games= amazing
-Guitar Hero= craptastic

#20 Gameboy415   16-bits of awesome CAGiversary!   3465 Posts   Joined 16.3 Years Ago  

Posted 26 July 2007 - 09:44 AM

How can a controller be "partially compatible"??
Do some of the buttons not work or something?

#21 Gameboy415   16-bits of awesome CAGiversary!   3465 Posts   Joined 16.3 Years Ago  

Posted 22 August 2007 - 02:06 AM

Anyone heard any news?

I plan to buy both Guitar Hero III and Rock Band for PS3 and, if the guitar(s) are backwards compatible, I'd love to play through Guitar Hero I/II/80's too.

Why couldn't the PS3 have a PS2 controller slot! X(

#22 Gameboy415   16-bits of awesome CAGiversary!   3465 Posts   Joined 16.3 Years Ago  

Posted 28 October 2007 - 10:44 PM

Well, now that the game is actually out, does anyone have a definite answer about backwards compatibility??

#23 Duckbutt   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   315 Posts   Joined 12.7 Years Ago  

Duckbutt

Posted 29 October 2007 - 12:45 AM

http://www.cheapassg...ad.php?t=156870

#24 PinkFuzzyBunny   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   1 Posts   Joined 12.6 Years Ago  

PinkFuzzyBunny

Posted 30 October 2007 - 11:48 PM

It has 0% backwards compatability as of the moment. The dongle will not even connect the guitar when GH1, GH2 or GH2:80s is put in (yes I have the ps3 version so this is per my experience)

However, this is something a simple software update can fix. The buttons are the same as they have always been. However, Sony is lazy and I wouldn't expect any software updates for at least a month.

#25 Duckbutt   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   315 Posts   Joined 12.7 Years Ago  

Duckbutt

Posted 31 October 2007 - 01:13 PM

As stated in the other thread, this is not an issue with Sony, it's a Red Octane problem. Red Octane has limited what guitars would work with GH because they wanted everybody to buy first party guitars. 3rd party guitars that worked with GH didn't work for GHII without an adapter. Harmonix has been saying for months that we can use the GHIII Les Paul for Rock Band, but whether or not we could use Rock Band's Strat was up to Red Octane. Much like what they've done in the past, Red Octane will not allow the use of the Strat on GHIII or any of the older titles.

#26 Gameboy415   16-bits of awesome CAGiversary!   3465 Posts   Joined 16.3 Years Ago  

Posted 01 November 2007 - 08:42 AM

Is there any chance the ROCK BAND guitar will work with the PS2 games??

This is getting ridiculous.
I might be returning the PS2 Guitar Hero games I have waiting for me in the States come Christmas time. :cry:

#27 Duckbutt   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   315 Posts   Joined 12.7 Years Ago  

Duckbutt

Posted 01 November 2007 - 11:17 AM

Nope, sucks, doesn't it?

#28 Gameboy415   16-bits of awesome CAGiversary!   3465 Posts   Joined 16.3 Years Ago  

Posted 01 November 2007 - 02:09 PM

Nope, sucks, doesn't it?


You know this for a fact?

#29 Duckbutt   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   315 Posts   Joined 12.7 Years Ago  

Duckbutt

Posted 01 November 2007 - 08:58 PM

Yeah, there was a report done by IGN, and it has been covered in the other thread.

#30 Dacoops3   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   42 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Dacoops3

Posted 05 November 2007 - 10:43 PM

I don't get it...wouldn't Red Octane/Activision make MORE MONEY by allowing the guitar to work with GH1/2/80's for PS2 on PS3? People would buy the older games that never had PS2's. This HAS to be addressed soon via a software update. I am sure I am not the only one that has a fucking PS2 sitting around just for the original GH games.