Jump to content


- - - - -

PS3 Game hard drive install size index


#31 Purkeynator   Cheap before it was cool CAGiversary!   3239 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

Purkeynator

Posted 14 May 2008 - 12:08 AM

Didnt see GT5 Prologue on there...


Its on post #2. weighing in at a hefty 5.24 GB.
trade list (mostly guides with a few boxes and manuals)
http://www.cheapassg...ead.php?t=44132

#32 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 12.6 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 15 May 2008 - 02:24 AM

I'm glad I only have GTAIV which required the 3.3 gb install thus far and most of the games on that list(aside from maybe Assassin's Creed and Heavenly Sword) aren't ones I'd want to play anyway, since I have no intentions on upgrading my hdd on my PS3 anytime soon.

i added a link to more wang pics. yu wang i mean not wang wang as in penis.

Sarcasm-Just one of the many services I offer.
Posted Image

#33 CheapyD   Head Cheap Ass Administrators   17580 Posts   Joined 14.8 Years Ago  

Posted 17 May 2008 - 07:54 PM

Haze will have a 4GB mandatory install

#34 Dark Slayer120   Banned Banned   3838 Posts   Joined 13.7 Years Ago  

Dark Slayer120

Posted 17 May 2008 - 08:06 PM

Haze will have a 4GB mandatory install



Thats sad.
Posted Image

#35 StrandedBrit   Invaders Must Die CAGiversary!   2241 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

StrandedBrit

Posted 17 May 2008 - 08:13 PM

My Dark Sector reads 1.2GB.

#36 Purkeynator   Cheap before it was cool CAGiversary!   3239 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

Purkeynator

Posted 18 May 2008 - 05:07 AM

StrandedBrit- was that a mandatory or optional install?
I updated and organized the list better and alphabetized it. I checked Motorstorm and Tony Hawk Project 8. While they didn't require an "install" per se, they do have a hefty update files over 200mb associated with them. I am wondering if I should include these as installs or not and add them to the list? Your thoughts people?
trade list (mostly guides with a few boxes and manuals)
http://www.cheapassg...ead.php?t=44132

#37 shadylane   Believe... CAGiversary!   2596 Posts   Joined 14.2 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 05:15 AM

so let me ask this question....When one is done with the game and they store it away in there closet for safe keeping.

can they delete that install?

will it hurt the game save?

and

what folder should one delete it from?

shadylane310.png

33836.png


#38 YoshiFan1   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   9878 Posts   Joined 14.3 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 05:20 AM

On the ones that said optional, like Ridge Racer 7, is there any benefit to actually installing the files other than load times? I have a 20GB so I don't feel like installing stuff unless it's required.

#39 Purkeynator   Cheap before it was cool CAGiversary!   3239 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

Purkeynator

Posted 18 May 2008 - 05:59 AM

As far as I know the hard drive installs only speed up load times for games. You should be ok to delete any installed files including updates if short on space. As long as you don't actually delete your save (which is under a different heading) you should be ok to delete the other files and updates. As long as you have internet access you should be able to download those files again if you decide to go back to the game later on and play it again.
trade list (mostly guides with a few boxes and manuals)
http://www.cheapassg...ead.php?t=44132

#40 Richlough   ... CAGiversary!   3738 Posts   Joined 13.6 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 06:43 AM

Medal Of Honor : Airborne 1.95 GB (Required) .

card.pngl1.gif


#41 thelonepig   Greasy Pork Pirates! CAGiversary!   6436 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 08:27 AM

Dark Sector is required.

#42 Pratt75   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1772 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 02:20 PM

How easy or difficult is it to install a new hard drive on the PS3? Great thread btw, thank you for all the info.

#43 DD83   'nives 'n 'nades CAGiversary!   8057 Posts   Joined 10.5 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 02:36 PM

How easy or difficult is it to install a new hard drive on the PS3? Great thread btw, thank you for all the info.


I haven't done it but it's really easy. See here.

#44 Pratt75   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1772 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 06:19 PM

I haven't done it but it's really easy. See here.


Dam, that looks simple enough. Thank you for the vid link mguiddy, it's much appreciated.:D

#45 Dark Slayer120   Banned Banned   3838 Posts   Joined 13.7 Years Ago  

Dark Slayer120

Posted 18 May 2008 - 07:19 PM

StrandedBrit- was that a mandatory or optional install?
I updated and organized the list better and alphabetized it. I checked Motorstorm and Tony Hawk Project 8. While they didn't require an "install" per se, they do have a hefty update files over 200mb associated with them. I am wondering if I should include these as installs or not and add them to the list? Your thoughts people?


Dark Sector is required, and I think you should include those as well.
Posted Image

#46 zewone   Thursday CAGiversary!   43156 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 18 May 2008 - 07:37 PM

200MBs+ isn't a small file. I'd include it.

#47 GodlyOne   波動拳! CAGiversary!   979 Posts   Joined 10.5 Years Ago  

GodlyOne

Posted 18 May 2008 - 10:34 PM

It's still weird to me that more disc space equals more required installs for games, great work on the list as it is very helpfull. I'm starting to run out of space on the hard drive.

#48 Pratt75   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1772 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:01 AM

This would work for an HDD upgrade right? If not please let me know.

http://www.compusa.c...0622&CatId=1277

#49 zewone   Thursday CAGiversary!   43156 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:05 AM

This would work for an HDD upgrade right? If not please let me know.

http://www.compusa.c...0622&CatId=1277


Your link doesn't work.

#50 Pratt75   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1772 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:08 AM

Your link doesn't work.


Dam, I don't know why it doesn't work now. Anyway, for anyone looking the compusa site has three pages of the hard drives that look like they would work to me. I don't know why the link won't work though. 250 GB is $99.99.
http://www.compusa.c...0622&CatId=1277 I think this link is working. I'm hoping this is compatible with the PS3.

#51 DD83   'nives 'n 'nades CAGiversary!   8057 Posts   Joined 10.5 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:14 AM

This would work for an HDD upgrade right? If not please let me know.

http://www.compusa.c...0622&CatId=1277


No, you need to get a SATA drive, that one is PATA. I'm surprised that video I posted didn't mention that.

Just about any of these
http://www.compusa.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?Recs=10&Nav=|c:2676|&Sort=4
will work.

The link doesn't work because of the commission... thing the forum software attaches to certain URLs to get cheapy monies.

#52 Richlough   ... CAGiversary!   3738 Posts   Joined 13.6 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:15 AM

You should total all the known games in the 2nd post as well , too see the potential 'grand total' .

[I know some games have 2 sizes , just pick one and be consistent]

card.pngl1.gif


#53 Pratt75   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1772 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:15 AM

ah ha, thank you very much.

#54 shadylane   Believe... CAGiversary!   2596 Posts   Joined 14.2 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 05:55 AM

so what is the process of transferring you content over from one hard drive to the other?

shadylane310.png

33836.png


#55 Pratt75   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1772 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 02:41 PM

Watch the vid link that's posted by mguiddy in post #43. It briefly explains the process.

Woot! Just ordered a 250GB hard drive from newegg.

#56 MrDubbs   The Luck Of The Irish CAGiversary!   2547 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 02:55 PM

The guy in the video says you can go up to 250, yet some people are talking about bigger drives..

who is right?



#57 DD83   'nives 'n 'nades CAGiversary!   8057 Posts   Joined 10.5 Years Ago  

Posted 19 May 2008 - 03:30 PM

The guy in the video says you can go up to 250, yet some people are talking about bigger drives..

who is right?

At the time the video was made I think 250 was the biggest size 2.5" drive made.
It should be able to handle any size 2.5" drive.

#58 Purkeynator   Cheap before it was cool CAGiversary!   3239 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

Purkeynator

Posted 21 May 2008 - 10:31 PM

You should total all the known games in the 2nd post as well , too see the potential 'grand total' .

[I know some games have 2 sizes , just pick one and be consistent]


Done. 60GB system is already toast if you have all the games on the list and want to install them all. Thats about 25 popular PS3 games on that list = about 60GB. I ended up with over 100 games on the PS2 before I had all the games I wanted :(
trade list (mostly guides with a few boxes and manuals)
http://www.cheapassg...ead.php?t=44132

#59 Sarang01   My Use Name Is Saber CAGiversary!   5585 Posts   Joined 13.7 Years Ago  

Posted 21 May 2008 - 10:52 PM

Gah this is really ridiculous.

The PS3 is the ONLY system right now that can offer the ULTIMATE gaming experience because of the extra storage of BR and this HDD shit is going to dang near cripple Sony with that. I say ultimate experience because with BR all the sound files can be uncompressed i.e. PCM and Lossless. NO PC game will offer this for a while, see years even after the next console generation. If PC developers pull their heads out of their asses soon enough and stop JUST being graphic whores and become sound one's you might actually see it happen on PC games. Frankly I wouldn't be surprised if Lossless never makes it to PC gaming. Shame if that happens because then the PC gaming experience will always be inferior to the console one.
Posted Image

"Friends let friends eat each other out.".

#60 FriskyTanuki   I have a piano CAGiversary!   66362 Posts   Joined 14.5 Years Ago  

FriskyTanuki

Posted 21 May 2008 - 10:57 PM

You should add a note to the OP that you can delete the install file when you're done with the game or won't be playing it anytime soon if you want to save space.

Edit: The Hot Shots Golf install's only 3599 MB for me, not the 3.61 GB in the OP.

13th Annual CAG March Madness Tourney Signups Now Live Until 3/16!!!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Latest Podcasts: Day 0 Update & Let's Weekend | Latest Videos: Personal & SmashPad

PSN/XBL: CrashSpyro | Steam: CrashTanuki | Wii U: FriendlyTanuki | My Super Mario Maker Profile

You read it. You can't unread it.