Jump to content


- - - - -

Any 24" iMac 3.06GHz owners out there?


#1 Haggar   Mayor of Metro City CAGiversary!   1351 Posts   Joined 14.0 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:31 AM

I'm ordering the 24" iMac 3.06 GHz this weekend, just wondering if anyone here has the same model & what they think of it.

My current computer is a G4 eMac with a 1GHz processor. Yeah, it's really old.

The only options I'm ordering is the wireless keyboard & mouse upgrade & Apple Care. I do work in Dreamweaver & Creative Suite (mostly Photoshop) but I think the standard config. of the 3.06 model should be fine.

Not sure if I'm crazy about the aluminum trim, I kinda miss the white casings.

#2 Strell   LOBSTERS!....IN MY PANTS! CAGiversary!   26583 Posts   Joined 14.8 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:38 AM

*googles price*

Good god. I hope there aren't any here on Cheapassgamer. :p

#3 Haggar   Mayor of Metro City CAGiversary!   1351 Posts   Joined 14.0 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:42 AM

*googles price*

Good god. I hope there aren't any here on Cheapassgamer. :p


But with all the money I've saved using this website I can splurge a little.

#4 Moxio   Supervillain CAGiversary!   35394 Posts   Joined 14.7 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 05:05 AM

I believe Cheapy has a fairly similar iMac setup.

#5 kriegs089   Banned Banned   192 Posts   Joined 12.9 Years Ago  

kriegs089

Posted 29 May 2008 - 05:07 AM

i got the 24" 2.8, and i run the CS3 Master Collection for Mac which is 20GB and runs perfectly fine, i love it and plus its fast as shit

#6 Synergy   Pink Mafia CAGiversary!   606 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 10:55 AM

I'm ordering the 24" iMac 3.06 GHz this weekend, just wondering if anyone here has the same model & what they think of it.

My current computer is a G4 eMac with a 1GHz processor. Yeah, it's really old.

The only options I'm ordering is the wireless keyboard & mouse upgrade & Apple Care. I do work in Dreamweaver & Creative Suite (mostly Photoshop) but I think the standard config. of the 3.06 model should be fine.

Not sure if I'm crazy about the aluminum trim, I kinda miss the white casings.


You'll love that iMac - it's very fast. I use one at work in our lab. I actually like the Aluminum trim and prefer it over the white.

Congrats, ignore the asshats, and enjoy the new comp.

#7 shrike4242   Not My Job Anymore, Go Bother Someone Else. CAGiversary!   49869 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:23 PM

Upgrading it to 4GB of RAM is $110 from Crucial. I'd plan on adding that into the system, that way you're maxed out on RAM and should have it run even faster.

Dreamweaver and Photoshop, like all the other Adobe CS products out there, loves as much RAM as it can get.

#8 Mookyjooky   Work is play... CAGiversary!   5202 Posts   Joined 14.3 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:42 PM

I own it, and get some ram from newegg or whatever. 4gb maxes it out (5300 DDR2 I believe) and it runs like a dream.

I havent had any issues with mine, and I'm a graphic designer and it runs Photoshop CS3 faster than anything else I've owned. Also, if you're feelin Windows nostalgic, boot camp runs like any other windows machine and I've played BioShock on it and its pretty nice.

My only disapointment was buying Battlefield 2142 for the Mac, it was garbage and the Windows version ran 100X better in boot camp.

#9 senorwoohoo   Radio CAGiversary!   14533 Posts   Joined 14.6 Years Ago  

senorwoohoo

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:52 PM

My friend might be buying either one of these, albeit not as decked out, or an iBook for music recording purposes.

Any recs?

#10 magiic   DENNY CRANE! CAGiversary!   5728 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:55 PM

I wish I could buy one

#11 mang9432   Bad Baby 4 Life CAGiversary!   1293 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:24 PM

I use a 20 inch as my work computer.

It's a Dual 2.0 with 2 gig of ram.

I Run final cut express and protools LE on it. I like the aluminum enclosures better than the old white ones, and the computer runs like a champ.

#12 xmrblondex   has Basketball Jones CAGiversary!   1014 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:30 PM

i would say don't get the wireless keyboard, how often would you use it away from the computer? Also it is missing the number pad on the right side of the keyboard. I also recommend using a different wireless mouse, the mighty mouse doesn't have enough functionality for me. I've got a 17" iMac Core Solo, so I'm behind the times, but I love iMacs.

#13 naiku   ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ CAGiversary!   1539 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 05:58 PM

^
agreed.


the only thing i can add is...your going to enjoy leopard. i own a macbook 2.0 core2duo w/ 2gb of ram. It runs most apps great excluding final cut...but thats sorta expected.

#14 TimPV3   Butthole CAGiversary!   2621 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 07:47 PM

Tests have proven Macs run better at the same price point, even with lower specs. I believe it was in Popular Mechanics, but I could be wrong. All I know is the article changed my outlook on life.

#15 kriegs089   Banned Banned   192 Posts   Joined 12.9 Years Ago  

kriegs089

Posted 29 May 2008 - 08:10 PM

^ yes, popular mechanics

#16 tehweezner   Mother Leopard CAGiversary!   1243 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 09:36 PM

Tests have proven Macs run better at the same price point, even with lower specs. I believe it was in Popular Mechanics, but I could be wrong. All I know is the article changed my outlook on life.


http://www.popularme...725.html?page=2

the issue i have is that for the desktop test they use the Gateway One which is an overpriced all-in-one unit that is trying to steal some of Apple's "ooh pretty" marketshare. a traditional desktop setup in that price range would yield much different results.

#17 nyprimus4   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   3281 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Posted 29 May 2008 - 09:43 PM

I have the 13.3" White Macbook (2.2ghz Santa Rosa CPU, 1GB of RAM, 120GB HDD, and a super drive). I bought it new 5 months ago with a student discount for $100 off.

I would upgrade RAM and/or hard drive but I pretty much only use FireFox, iChat, VLC, some CS3, and some emulators. The thing very rarely chugs. And I only hold my music and a few movies.

The functionality and the entire package that the Mac brings blows PC out of the water. The thing runs as fast now as when I bought it 5 months ago. And everything is extremely intuitive.

With the monster you ordered - you'll love it.

#18 macgamer   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   1 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

macgamer

Posted 29 June 2008 - 03:51 AM

I am expecting my new 3.06 ghz 24" iMac on Tuesday to share TC's thrill, but I'm still very skeptical on buying all the games I have wanted to play on a Mac (like Roller Coaster Tycoon 3, Civ IV, Age of Empires III, and even Sim City 4) because I made the mistake of doing that with the iMac I have now (1 ghz, 17" 2nd gen) with Warcraft 3 with very laggy results, so I was just curious as to how this Mac handles these types of games, and if I should still expect some lag?

The other thing I wanted to figure out, is how this Mac running boot camp holds up when playing PC games... because if the PC equivalents of all the Mac ports are much faster, I may bog down and actually start buying PC games and play them in boot camp.

Anyone have any opinions on the matter? Seeing as how PC games are much much more economically viable than buying the Mac port, playing games in boot camp may be something I seriously look into, if there are significant speed increases.

#19 Theduck   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   674 Posts   Joined 13.4 Years Ago  

Posted 29 June 2008 - 04:45 AM

The new Imac is great. Don't let poor asshats hate on you.

Stick with 2gb of ram though, for the fact that CS only recognizes up to 2gb of ram at a time.

#20 CheapyD   Head Cheap Ass Administrators   17646 Posts   Joined 15.3 Years Ago  

Posted 29 June 2008 - 05:02 AM

I've got the 24" 2.4ghz with 3GB of RAM...best computer I've ever owned...by far.
Its very fast, the display is beautiful, and it runs almost completely silent.

You may want to skip the wireless keyboard because you will lose the use 2 USB ports on the wired keyboard and the number pad.

#21 Haggar   Mayor of Metro City CAGiversary!   1351 Posts   Joined 14.0 Years Ago  

Posted 07 July 2008 - 09:24 PM

Thanks to everyone who posted, it arrived a little over 2 weeks ago, and I've been really happy with it. Got CS3 Extended installed & configured and I'm good to go for now.

I kept the standard config (24", 3.06GHz, 500GB HD, 2GB Ram) and only opted for the wireless keyboard & mouse. I'll get an AppleCare plan a few months from now and may up the ram down the line if I need it.

Posted Image

#22 Derwood43   is a dad! Be afraid. CAGiversary!   1421 Posts   Joined 14.2 Years Ago  

Posted 08 July 2008 - 12:51 AM

I have the 24" 2.8 ghz core 2 duo with 2 gb of ram.

It's a beauty. No problems, and I run Cinema 4d on it.

#23 naiku   ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ CAGiversary!   1539 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

Posted 08 July 2008 - 03:05 AM

the iMac looks very nice. your dock needs to be like a thousand times larger, but to each his own.

That display is so hot. If you are going to be upgrading the ram, be sure to purchase the ram and install it yourself. apple loves to mark up their ram.

my desktop is here. dont have the best apps but it works.

#24 Chase   imo CAGiversary!   7655 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

Posted 08 July 2008 - 03:23 AM

Well, I don't like Apple products, but that sure is pretty. Nice buy, Haggar.