Jump to content


- - - - -

UPS Battery Backup $30 Shipped from CircuitCity.com


#1 csidegamer   Up the Irons! CAGiversary!   1923 Posts   Joined 16.6 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:51 PM

For you PC Gamers that want some power protection.

Found this today. I bought 2.

APC BE550R

Model was recently discontinued.

Great Price, and Free Shipping.

#2 Vader582   Dark Lord of Savings CAGiversary!   3048 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:03 PM

Thanks for the post! In for 2!
I was just complaining about the crappy BB brand ups I have to my wife. It didn't even keep my computer on the last time the power went out. The APC ups on my older computer is years old and catches every brown/blackout without issue.

#3 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   16094 Posts   Joined 17.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:10 PM

i ordered two of these the other day..

not the best but $30 is a nice price... its kept my pc on during power surges a few times.

#4 Caliburn   is Not E. CAGiversary!   1667 Posts   Joined 15.8 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:25 PM

That's a fantastic price; ordered 2 as well.

I would've preferred in-store pickup, but that option kept bouncing me to a store 60 miles away when I have two within a 5 miles radius. Go figure.

Free shipping though, so I should get it before Christmas.

Thanks for the heads-up!

#5 csidegamer   Up the Irons! CAGiversary!   1923 Posts   Joined 16.6 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:39 PM

My pleasure.

Wonder how many they actually have left?

#6 xycury   there is only one CAGiversary!   4503 Posts   Joined 15.4 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 10:36 PM

probably quite a few, this is a popular model.

I would buy ... but I'm short this year. :(

#7 dcgm   Lovin' CAG CAGiversary!   417 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:14 PM

I know very little about these, so ca someone fill me in? Funny I read this topic as we had a 4 hour blackout last night!

Can I attach my refrigerator? I'd rather not take a chance losing food.

Also, will this save me my modem/wireless box? Can I use internet when everyone else has no power?

#8 Samuelc79   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   169 Posts   Joined 17.7 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:31 PM

I know very little about these, so ca someone fill me in? Funny I read this topic as we had a 4 hour blackout last night!

Can I attach my refrigerator? I'd rather not take a chance losing food.

Also, will this save me my modem/wireless box? Can I use internet when everyone else has no power?




Yes you should be able to use wireless internet, as long as you have power to the device, such as DSL modem is hooked up and router is too, then u can use a laptop to connect wireless. I've done it befpre during blackouts and internet works.

I don't know if refrigerators will work with this product at all, i wouldnt think it will be a good thing either, as it uses more power than PC.

#9 dcgm   Lovin' CAG CAGiversary!   417 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:34 PM

Cool, thanks. What about refrigerators? lol I'm dead serious. I'm wondering about voltage issues? Or do I not know what I'm talking about.

#10 Kerig   PSForsaken no longer! CAGiversary!   6261 Posts   Joined 15.9 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:34 PM

Can I attach my refrigerator? I'd rather not take a chance losing food.


ROFL'd.

As much as that sounds like a good idea, I think you'd need a gasoline-powered generator to power a fridge. Best advice: Don't open the fridge until the power is back on and everything should stay cold.

UPS's only last for about 1 hour at the most in general. The main purpose of them is togive you a few minutes to stop what you're doing and save all of your progress/work. Imagine working on a term paper for 5 hours and have all of your work lost because someone plugs a Griddler and Fry Daddy into the same outlet as your computer, blowing the fuse...

#11 dcgm   Lovin' CAG CAGiversary!   417 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:47 PM

Hmm, good point. I use a laptop and I'm obsessive about saving work sooo...probably not for me hehe.

Although still in for 1 for the modem/router.

#12 LonelyController  

LonelyController

Posted 11 December 2008 - 12:04 AM

Nice price, thanks. In for one before they lock up the warehouse.

#13 Jommy   I wish I could come up with a cool title CAGiversary!   2074 Posts   Joined 15.2 Years Ago  

Posted 11 December 2008 - 01:45 AM

Is this enough to power a TV, receiver, and ps3?

#14 guyver2077   CAG Original CAGiversary!   16094 Posts   Joined 17.5 Years Ago  

guyver2077

Posted 11 December 2008 - 03:45 AM

yea no way this would handle a fridge... i have one on my monster pc and it kept it up when the power went out.

i bought another one to connect to my tv, receiver, 360, ps3, etc.. Lets see how it handles that test