Transplanting hard drives from one PS3 to another

johnnypark

CAGiversary!
Feedback
57 (100%)
Hey everyone, I have a somewhat obscure question that I'd like some input on. I have a launch 20GB PS3 that I put a 320GB hard drive into. The PS2 compatibility that was so important to me before seems less relevant as I find myself not really playing PS2 games on it, and when I do half the time they look like ass (Ico!). That, and the power consumption of the launch models makes the environmentalist in me cringe.

I found an awesome deal on a 40GB system, which uses a lot less power. I think I'd be willing to forgo PS2 BC to have a more energy efficient system, although I'm still mulling it over. My main concern, though, is how would the 40GB unit take the 320GB hard drive?

Since the 40GB has media card readers and wireless ethernet, I'm worried that the install on my 320GB drive will have a stroke when it finds itself in a system with different specs. The only other option I'd have is backing up all my data, letting the 40GB system format the drive, and reinstall the backed-up data. I'd prefer not to do that, on account of having about 100GB of data and not having a device on hand which could be used for that much.

So, hypothetically, what do you think (or know) would happen? Would the PS3 OS freak out that some hardware is missing (PS2 stuff) and that new stuff is present (wifi, etc)? I get the feeling that all firmware updates have all the drivers, etc for all versions, so maybe it would essentially be plug and play, so to speak. I'd be quite unhappy, though, if I lost all my DLC and saved games.

Thanks!

Wait.

You're actually concerned that your PS3 draws too much power? Seriously?The 40 you want to upgrade to uses about 60 watts less at most. If it's that big of a deal, just turn off your surge protector or unplug the thing when you get done with it.