Jump to content


- - - - -

Gamecube component cable at Gamestop $4.99 YMMV


#31 invinovomitas   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   2 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

invinovomitas

Posted 11 January 2010 - 09:59 PM

The Gamestop link doesn't necessarily show all the stores that have the component cables. You'll find that 99% of the stores that come up in stock just have mislabeled composite cables (Red, Yellow, White) or old RF adapters (one store had an NES/SNES RF adapter labeled GC Component Cable). Don't waste your time with that link unless you want to go to forty stores before your find something useful (employees won't be any help if you call ahead because they don't know the difference between Component/Composite).


You got that right. A couple of months ago I drove all over Houston looking for this cable with no luck. I think the chances of finding one are slim.

#32 theclaw   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   530 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 11 January 2010 - 10:40 PM

As I understand things, and this may very well be wrong...

1) Retail box component cables were exclusively for Japan. The US had to order them online. I don't know if they saw release elsewhere.
2) PAL GC hardware was capable of 480p, but Nintendo removed it from any and all games in the format.
3) The chip inside component cables is a digital-analog converter, which for reasons unknown ignores the digital port's audio capability.

#33 Chronis   Enjoys mediocre games that you hate CAGiversary!   3067 Posts   Joined 9.2 Years Ago  

Posted 11 January 2010 - 11:28 PM

Yeah, last time this thread came up, I went to the only store in the area that the locator listed. They didn't have it. I was sad.... To this day, I'd love to be able to play RE4 and my GBA games in 480p.

11317.png


#34 Kaiser499   Gaming Guru CAGiversary!   3402 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:15 PM

Why was a two year old thread bumped? I thought this was a new thread...disappointed...

oyKh4Vu.jpg

Check Out My Gaming Stream

Kaiser499.png


#35 irishsoccermbw   User was banned for this post CAGiversary!   6152 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

irishsoccermbw

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:25 PM

In for 1

#36 Monoxide1986   Recovering Flipper CAGiversary!   1102 Posts   Joined 4.8 Years Ago  

Monoxide1986

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:30 PM

I agree. And besides just get a Wii that plays Gamecube games, order a $4 component cable for it from monoprice and you are set. Only worry about this cable unless you are a collector. I want one for collection purposes but I will wait until I can find it for cheap. Chances of finding one at a B&M Gamestop are probably slim to none.

#37 FatherChesz   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   583 Posts   Joined 9.0 Years Ago  

FatherChesz

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:40 PM

Link doesn't work...but I guess it's OK. The TV my Gamecube is hooked up to has component in, but doesn't support 480p anyway. Silly Sony.

#38 anotherpoorgamer   Bird's Nest Hair CAGiversary!   5164 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

anotherpoorgamer

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:54 PM

I'd get a used Wii that plays Gamecube games at the prices Ebay wants for the Gamecube component cable. The only reason I would get this cable is to see the difference between s-video and component cable, while using the Gameboy player.

#39 dragonjud   Got games, but no time CAGiversary!   3329 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:04 PM

Threads like these should be locked forever. Come on! Did you really have to go that many pages far back to bump this? Wow


#40 ProppaT   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   215 Posts   Joined 12.7 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:10 PM

Not being mean or anything , I AM ALSO NOT TRYING TO TROLL THIS THREAD, BUT......Is it even necessary to have component for a Gamecube , I mean it isnt even a HD Console . Just wandering


They make a pretty dramatic difference, actually. All the colors look brighter and the image is more crisp.

#41 Fabrizo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   421 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:14 PM

This is honestly just about the only reason left to look for GCN component cables, unless you really don't want a Wii.


From what I've heard Gamecube outputs much clearer signal then Wii does with Component. So if you really care about image quality when running Gamecube games the original system is still the way to go (outside of emulation).

Edit: Oh wow, this thread is ancient. Why would someone bump this? :T

#42 ps2emotions   8 bit heaven CAGiversary!   1142 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

ps2emotions

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:39 PM

I recently hooked my gamecube up to my HDTV using the official component cables and it looks stunning. Also the gameboy player scales the gameboy games to 480p which they look outstanding as well. Super mario sunshine never looked or sounded better than in 480p with dolby pro logic II coming out my pioneer surround sound system. Here is link to a video I put on youtube.


#43 Drclaw411   I miss Cartoon Orbit CAGiversary!   3271 Posts   Joined 6.6 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:59 PM

Thread necrophillia

#44 DurbanBrown   to the MOON CAGiversary!   1565 Posts   Joined 6.6 Years Ago  

DurbanBrown

Posted 10 December 2012 - 06:44 PM

Gamecube component cables are supposed to be rare and actually worth something these days...

#45 Saix_XIII   Video Game Addict CAGiversary!   6196 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 06:54 PM

Gamecube component cables are supposed to be rare and actually worth something these days...


Um they are...

Repetition in a game is NOT a bad thing, almost all games are repetitive. What matters is if YOU enjoy the game, then the repetition becomes enjoyable and doesn't feel monotonous or boring.

My Trade List

My GoFundMe - Help Me Get to Star Wars Celebration 2017!


#46 AsherFischell   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   254 Posts   Joined 7.1 Years Ago  

AsherFischell

Posted 10 December 2012 - 06:59 PM

Oh, man. I can't believe this thread got bumped three years after the fact.

#47 Destro   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   22 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 08:36 PM

Those suggesting a Wii, the Wii's video encoder chip is notoriously worse than the GC's. So GC games look worse running off a Wii, than a GC, via 480p. Whether the component cable is worth it to you, considering its rarity/price, is another matter. I got lucky and had a former workmate (ignorant of its value) throw it in a sale of a GC game I bought from him 4 years ago; and to this day I still have my GC hooked up even with a Wii sitting right next to it...

#48 BigT   Hey Zach... CAGiversary!   859 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 08:53 PM

I dont wanna play on my PC nor I have a powerful enough(Youll need a gaming PC for Wii/GC emulation) PC. I my perfectly working GC.


You mainly just need a relatively powerful processor (most important part) and a reasonable graphics card. Works just fine on my HTPC running an Ivy Bridge Core i5-3570 with a Radeon 7770.

PC games usually depend more on a powerful graphics card. Emulators usually depend more on a powerful CPU.

In either case, it is an option... I wanted to clean up my entertainment center space to just have an HTPC, Xbox360, and PS3. The Wii/GC are now in storage because of Dolphin; PCSX2 has done the same for the PS2.

#49 ps2emotions   8 bit heaven CAGiversary!   1142 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

ps2emotions

Posted 10 December 2012 - 08:55 PM

LOL, are you serious? Is this the first time you've used an HDTV? You don't think it looks stretched?


I've used this hdtv for almost 6 years and am well aware of how stretching will make most old games look worse. But in this case the gamecube outputting 480p shows no affect on making the image look worse therefore I set it widescreen. Why would I not do this if it looks just as good filling up the screen and the distortion is not apparent?

#50 defpally   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1168 Posts   Joined 6.5 Years Ago  

defpally

Posted 10 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

I find it interesting that when someone actually uses the Search feature to find a relevant thread we get all these cries of "thread necro!" and when someone pops open a new thread they get shamed for not Searching.

Anyways, even with the better encoding of the Gamecube on GC games over the Wii, this is now even more relevant with the WiiU and newer Wii hardware lacking GC support. When I hook up the WiiU in place of the Wii on Christmas, I will suddenly find myself without an attached venue for playing my old Gamecube games (and there are some real gems in there, notably Viewtiful Joe and Wind Waker, two of my favorites). Now I could keep the Wii hooked up as well, but that means two sensor bars/etc., or hook the Gamecube back up and maybe sell the Wii (I had too keep it for now so I can transfer the content), or give it to a relative. Fortunately I already have the cables (and yes they do make a HUGE difference), I paid full price from Nintendo back in the day for them, and not once regretted the purchase..

#51 Kaiser499   Gaming Guru CAGiversary!   3402 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:43 PM

I find it interesting that when someone actually uses the Search feature to find a relevant thread we get all these cries of "thread necro!" and when someone pops open a new thread they get shamed for not Searching.

Anyways, even with the better encoding of the Gamecube on GC games over the Wii, this is now even more relevant with the WiiU and newer Wii hardware lacking GC support. When I hook up the WiiU in place of the Wii on Christmas, I will suddenly find myself without an attached venue for playing my old Gamecube games (and there are some real gems in there, notably Viewtiful Joe and Wind Waker, two of my favorites). Now I could keep the Wii hooked up as well, but that means two sensor bars/etc., or hook the Gamecube back up and maybe sell the Wii (I had too keep it for now so I can transfer the content), or give it to a relative. Fortunately I already have the cables (and yes they do make a HUGE difference), I paid full price from Nintendo back in the day for them, and not once regretted the purchase..



The thread is two years old.

oyKh4Vu.jpg

Check Out My Gaming Stream

Kaiser499.png


#52 defpally   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1168 Posts   Joined 6.5 Years Ago  

defpally

Posted 10 December 2012 - 10:13 PM

The thread is two years old.


Yes, and he obviously used the Search feature to find it (you cannot page back that far manually) - then likely didn't notice the date of the last post. I wish more people would use Search.

#53 MillerTime2523   FUN TIMES IN CLEVELAND CAGiversary!   8514 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

MillerTime2523

Posted 10 December 2012 - 11:43 PM

Gamecube games in Dolphin look amazing. I'm away for college so I ripped some of the games which I left at home, and it looks so good in 1080p.

vT9NWjm.png
Now Playing

NCAA Football 2014 // Skate 2


#54 Not Eric   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2126 Posts   Joined 5.0 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 11:54 PM

The Gamecube is not region free but there is a relatively easy way to play Japanese games depending on how comfortable you are with a soldering gun and opening up your console.

Solder two wires to the board with a switch and you can switch between Japan and US regions. It's what I have on my Gamecube.

Try searching google for a region toggle switch guide or something similar.

There's also stuff like the Freeloader and other disc based solutions .

#55 gomikeoh   I like turtles. CAGiversary!   974 Posts   Joined 7.9 Years Ago  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 11:56 PM

I have an official nintendo branded gc component cable i picked up from gamestop probably around two years ago for like five bucks...

How much are these worth now days?
PC master race.

#56 addicted2games   游戏玩家为生活 !! CAGiversary!   3392 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

addicted2games

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:08 AM

I have an official nintendo branded gc component cable i picked up from gamestop probably around two years ago for like five bucks...

How much are these worth now days?


Looking at completed actions, it looks like they are going from $70-$100 on ebay.

#57 Gosha   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2245 Posts   Joined 13.0 Years Ago  

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:26 AM

I just bought a component cable on ebay for $95 shipped. Just sold the gold club nintendo nunchuk I got for $75 to offset it though.

It's too bad Nintendo can't do another shortrun of Gamecube component cable production and sell them directly from their store. I'm sure people would pay upto $50 direct for them.

#58 Vinny   Bang, bang... pew... CAGiversary!   21026 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:37 AM

Why do people want the official cables? There are generic ones that are just as good for a lot less...

I remember paying $40 or whatever these cost from Nintendo, back when I thought brands for cables mattered. Then I found some on Monoprice for like $8.

Currently playing: 

:wiiu: Xenoblade X (2nd try) - :-k 

:pc: The Witcher - :) 

fyreboltx.png

║My Tradelists: Games, Guides & Game Related GoodiesWantlist


#59 Gosha   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2245 Posts   Joined 13.0 Years Ago  

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:42 AM

Why do people want the official cables? There are generic ones that are just as good for a lot less...

I remember paying $40 or whatever these cost from Nintendo, back when I thought brands for cables mattered. Then I found some on Monoprice for like $8.


There are no third party/generic Gamecube Component Cables. Only only Wii. The Gamecube ones have a special encoder chip built into the cable itself that was never hacked or produced outside of what Nintendo offered.

#60 seanmcc   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   414 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Posted 11 December 2012 - 01:18 AM

Why do people want the official cables? There are generic ones that are just as good for a lot less...

I remember paying $40 or whatever these cost from Nintendo, back when I thought brands for cables mattered. Then I found some on Monoprice for like $8.


Only the Nintendo ones allow progressive scan. There is an actual chip in them.