Cheapest Fix For A Broken Power Button On Original Xbox

Lost Loser

CAGiversary!
I went to play a game on my original Xbox and found it is not working properly. When I first turned it on the Open/Close button wouldn't work as a Close button, so I pushed the disc tray shut and then found that the Power button no longer works (the the Open/Close seems to be working perfectly fine now). At the moment the only means I have of turning it on or off is to unplug it. I did some Google searches and found this a fairly common problem, but I don't know what my cheapest option for fixing it would be.

I could buy a replacement switch circuit board, like this, but that's $20 on that site and I can probably get a whole Xbox for that money. On eBay I found what appears to be the same thing for $6, but I've never done console surgery before I decided I needed a second opinion on these sorts of things. The guide to replace the circuit board that I read also said I would need to get some very small screwdrivers, so that's got to be added into the cost of that option.

Another option is that I just buy another Xbox and a memory card and transfer my saves over to the new console. So for this option I would need to find the cheapest possible option for buying an Xbox console (wouldn't need any controllers or cords, I've got those) and the cheapest option for a memory card. I'm also not 100% sure if every game transfers to the memory card.

So, I guess I'm just looking for some insight here. Which option would you suggest I go with? If you've ever repaired your own consoles before, how hard was it the first time you tried it? What prices should I be expecting to pay for either path? Is there some third option I haven't thought of that is easier or cheaper than the two I listed?