Buying a used car- need advice

CENNY

CAGiversary!
Need to buy a used car for mom, have about $12-13k max to spend, was just wondering if the CAGs had any advice. She's in her 60s, and needs something that's not too low (most sedan cars are out I think) because of her back issues. Obviously we would like something that's well made, reliable, and with as low mileage as possible on the clock. What kind of car would you guys suggest looking at? Realistically, what year and mileage would I be looking at for a US or Japanese SUV/crossover/whatever in that price range?

Another thing, I've bought a fair amount of cars in the past, and I really HATE using dealerships, and having to hear their BS. I've had a lot of shitty experiences with them which I won't go into here because it'll just raise my blood pressure. Anyway, would anyone recommend using Carmax? I know they're typically more expensive than dealers, and you can't negotiate on the price of a car, but is the experience really a whole lot more positive? Seems like they're getting more and more popular round here. Any input appreciated.

You might want to look at a Ford Focus. I got a 2009 barely used (it was a rental) with 9000 miles for around 12K. Great gas mileage.

I hate dealerships too. Your experience is very YMMV with them. Most are smarmy crooks, others work with you and are decent.

I've never gone through anything other than a dealership, so I can't help you there.

Seeing how cars are prone to fall apart at any time, something I'd recommend, more so if you end up buying from the newspaper ads or craigslist. If you know a guy who's good with cars, see if he'll come with you. That way, you may be able to get an idea of the shape the car is in if you aren't car savvy yourself.

Given her age, I'd think a Buick would be ideal. They seem to be the choice of many people in their 60's.