Academic references...

dark2025

CAGiversary!
Feedback
11 (100%)
Hey guys, could use your help on something...

I have an undergrad degree, but recently applied to further my education at another school. They said I qualified for their program, but the problem is that they require 2 references, one of whom must be an academic reference.

See, I'm a really laid back kind of guy, so I'd never go to the profs for anything, didn't really provide comments in class (I'm usually too busy playing solitaire or something on my laptop). Basically I'd just read the textbook, listen to lectures, write papers, hand them in, and that's that. The only time a prof would put a face to my name is when I do presentations (which I wasn't required to do often either).

I'm afraid I don't have anyone who could be this academic reference. Is it okay if I just randomly contacted one of my profs (who probably don't even remember my name anymore) and see if he/she would volunteer to answer some questions for the other school? What else can I do?

Thanks for any replies I might get.

Do you know any TAs well enough that can write you a reference, then have the professor sign off on it?

[quote name='62t']Do you know any TAs well enough that can write you a reference, then have the professor sign off on it?[/QUOTE]

Not really. Again, I've never asked them for help. Nor have I participated often in TA taught labs... in fact I don't even recall them used in that role in the last year or so of the courses I took.

One of my friends just ignored the school's request for an academic letter of rec even after they told him it was missing from his file. He got in anyway based on his test score and they gave him a full ride even though he had a shitty GPA. Maybe it could happen for you!