Are 2 year contracts for cell phones good or bad?

thefallingscream

CAGiversary!
I've been thinking about getting a new phone for over a year now. I've been using net10/tracfone for over 3 years now and I'm tired of it.The phone that I have now isn't even a smartphone. I want something that has a touchscreen,3g,apps and a better camera.Walmart has cell phones for 97 cents. They said all I need is a 2 year contract and that's it. Is that any good? Am I going to get hit with charges that I don't know about or what? Really could use some help.

All comes down to monthly charges... How much are you willing to pay? Most people have talk/data/text plans. Some people realize that they don't text/talk much and use WiFi instead of data plan, it's cheaper to go with prepaid plans, like T-mobile's 1000 minutes expire in one year...

I get free phones with 2 year plans, with no hidden fees or charges all the time. The one I have now is probably my 3rd - 4th phone that used a plan like this one. The key is just to make sure you don't care about upgrading and that you're satisfied with your phone, as breaking the contract is usually pretty pricy and convoluted.

tl;dr If you don't care about having the latest phone, its a pretty good deal.

Do the math. Ask how much the monthly plan will be if you DON'T get a contract; it's almost always cheaper. Multiply the savings by 24, and see if that's higher than the rebate you'd get on the phone. It can cost more at the outset, but save you hundreds over two years.

When comparing phones across carriers, don't forget to figure in the cost of the monthly data plan over the course of two years. Most carriers are discounting the cost of their smartphones and making up their money with higher cost dataplans. (and if you plan on using it as a hotspot, that'll cost you too.)