Stupidest Fee of the Year

Trancendental

CAGiversary!
Feedback
4 (100%)
Verizon Wireless will soon make some customers pay for the privilege of paying their bills.
The nation's largest wireless company is instituting a $2 "convenience charge" for those customers who make one-time bill payments either online or by telephone. The fee will go into effect on Jan. 15.

http://money.cnn.com/2011/12/29/technology/verizon_convenience_fee/?hpt=hp_t2

The phone payment fee is already pushing it - but making people pay two bucks for doing one-time online payments? Most corporations would do anything to get more clients paying online.

That's why this is the stupidest fee of the year.

i had AT&T once on a landline and they charged me $1.XX fee which goes towards low income houses and ppl who need help paying their bills. I said, I'm a student I have zero income...I need help paying my bills. Apparently I needed to be section 8 as a student my tutition (even as a student loan) is considered my income.

i've seen companies charge for online payments because it's easier for us, some companies mainly cable and other communications charge ppl an extra $1 + now to continue to recieve paper bills. Some banks will offer a one time $50 bank credit if you go paperless.

depending on your type of bank account, it's possible your bank will charge you for paying bills online as it's considered a "withdrawl."

meh.

Most sporting venues now allow you to print tickets at home when you purchase them. If you want to use your printer and your ink, and save them the cost of shipping them, or having to pay additional employees to sit at Will Call, it only costs you an additional $3/ticket.

same thing with the government. If you get a parking ticket and want to pay online, which makes it eaier for them, you have to pay a $2 convenience fee. convenience fees should be illegal.

It is pretty lame. Doesn't affect me as I use auto payments, but still lame.