Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

Was bored, did mod.


#661 Chronis   Enjoys mediocre games that you hate CAGiversary!   3058 Posts   Joined 7.8 Years Ago  

Posted 09 December 2013 - 01:37 AM

Well, I completely forgot that at some point I bought a triwing screwdriver (probably for this) so I just opened up the Kirby cart. Yup, flash. Bad photo incoming!

DSC00363.jpg

 

 

Side note: wiggy, have you done any work with DS'? I have a DS Lite stashed away that I kind of messed up a while back while trying to put in a replacement touch screen. One of the clips for a ribbon cable broke off and disappeared, which is probably the reason it turns off immediately afte being powered on, and the touch screen is not centered, though that might be because of the cheap screen used and not my own ineptitude. 


11317.png


#662 M47R1X   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   147 Posts   Joined 5.1 Years Ago  

Posted 18 December 2013 - 03:35 PM

Well, I finished this dang GBA, although it could stand to be buffed and polished to get the true automotive sheen that I wanted:

Spoiler


Quick question about it: are scan lines on the screen normal in these screen conversion mods? It's kind of a pain in the butt. Or rather, eyes.



#663 Richard Kain   The Kaiser CAGiversary!   1455 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Richard Kain

Posted 18 December 2013 - 05:22 PM

Quick question about it: are scan lines on the screen normal in these screen conversion mods? It's kind of a pain in the butt. Or rather, eyes.

 

No, I don't believe that scan lines are supposed to be present. Which screen conversion mod are you using? And which model of GBA? Depending on your configuration, it might be necessary to adjust a voltage pot on the motherboard of the GBA. I had to do that for one of my modified GBAs in order to get it working properly.

 

If you're using one of Wiggy's kits, be sure to ask him about the issue. He would know more, and could give you better instructions than I can.



#664 M47R1X   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   147 Posts   Joined 5.1 Years Ago  

Posted 18 December 2013 - 05:47 PM

Technically Wiggy, or rather Zerey, whom of which I believe is Wiggy's supplier (could be wrong). It needed the 40-pin adapter for my GBA. Used an AGS-101 (obviously). The wire was presoldered to the adapter cable. For installation, I followed Wiggy's instructions.

 

EDIT TO AVOID THE DREADED DOUBLE-POST: So I read up on it, and it's apparently fairly common among GBA screen swaps and adjusting the voltage pot is the answer. I'll need to look into this, apparently. Now, is that the same thing as the "contrast control screw" I had heard so much about back in the day?

 

Edit 2: I just read on Zerey's instructions, and yes, it seems that that is the case. Except his instructions say it's a button, not a screw. And it doesn't really look much like a screw. Fiddling is in order!



#665 Richard Kain   The Kaiser CAGiversary!   1455 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Richard Kain

Posted 19 December 2013 - 05:15 PM

In the course of your fiddling, be sure to make small changes, test, and repeat. When dealing with voltages, it's better to under-do and then adjust rather than over-do. If you crank the pot from the get-go, you could burn something out. Slight adjustments until it gets you where you need to be is the way to go.

 

I modified one 32-pin and one 40-pin model GBA, so I got the experience of both models. The 32-pin worked just fine the first time, with no adjustments. But the 40-pin always looked off, with strange ghosting effects, washed-out colors, and scanlines. Adjusting the pot on the motherboard very carefully eventually got the display into parity with the 32-pin model. It can work, it just takes a bit of careful tweaking.



#666 M47R1X   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   147 Posts   Joined 5.1 Years Ago  

Posted 19 December 2013 - 05:48 PM

I fiddled, and it looks much better now. There does seem to be some ghosting still, but the "scan lines" are no longer present, so long as I'm not moving.



#667 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 20 December 2013 - 06:26 AM

In the course of your fiddling, be sure to make small changes, test, and repeat. When dealing with voltages, it's better to under-do and then adjust rather than over-do. If you crank the pot from the get-go, you could burn something out. Slight adjustments until it gets you where you need to be is the way to go.

 

I modified one 32-pin and one 40-pin model GBA, so I got the experience of both models. The 32-pin worked just fine the first time, with no adjustments. But the 40-pin always looked off, with strange ghosting effects, washed-out colors, and scanlines. Adjusting the pot on the motherboard very carefully eventually got the display into parity with the 32-pin model. It can work, it just takes a bit of careful tweaking.

This is actually why it's NOT in our manual.  It's way easier to address the issue with individuals versus just telling everyone that they need to randomly adjust the pot.  Hell, the first time my partner tried to adjust one he took the screwdriver and just spun it around like 3-4 times! O_O

 

That LCD wasn't very happy afterward :(

 

Funny you should say that about the 32 vs 40-pin, as my experience has been the exact opposite.  The 32-pin boards ALWAYS need to be adjusted and the 40-pin almost never need adjustment.  In the end, the 40-pin models take to the mod better, no matter what adjustments have been made, which is sort of a bummer.  At least there seem to be far more 40-pin than 32.



#668 Richard Kain   The Kaiser CAGiversary!   1455 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Richard Kain

Posted 20 December 2013 - 04:44 PM

Funny you should say that about the 32 vs 40-pin, as my experience has been the exact opposite.

I probably have them mixed up in my mind. I've only done this once, after all. The next time I do one I'll make sure to focus on the 40-pin model. I know I have a few more of those in storage.

 

I don't know if this qualifies as retro, but it is almost certainly a mod that I did. Earlier this week I completely dismantled an old 40-gig PS3, cleaned it out thoroughly, and replaced the fan with a more efficient 19-blade model. When I put it back together it was running much more quietly than it had been previously. (it had gotten to the point where it sounded like a jet engine when you turned it on)

 

The PS3 in question was one I had gotten for my sister as a wedding present. She and her husband have been using it as their DVD/Blu Ray and media player for years. When I got it for them I dropped a 320-Gig drive into it, and copied a slew of DVD movies to it for their viewing convenience. They've gotten a lot of great use out of it over the years, but for a while now the noise it makes while running has been getting on her nerves. This quick mod and cleaning job should keep the old beast going for another few years.



#669 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 22 December 2013 - 01:32 AM

Nice!

I've got a busted launch 60GB that needs love. Would really love to get to it at some point.

#670 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 03 January 2014 - 06:20 PM

Well that Extron switch that I bought a while back didn't have audio in/out, but I thought I could get away with using the H & V sync for audio. Wrong! :(

So I recently bought one with audio ins and outs. Problem is that they aren't RCA or BNC connectors, which means I'd be splicing a lot of female RCA pigtails in. No thanks to that mess. So I'm gonna modify the V/H sync boards (since I don't need them) to run the audio. This way I'll have BNC connectors for everything plus the video and audio in and outputs will all be right next to each other :D

Pulled the boards that need to be modded (V/H sync + Audio)
null_zpse4580bc4.jpg

Backside of one of the sync boards where I will be bypassing to the audio board.
null_zps5d356851.jpg

Little slice with the ol' Dremel
null_zps17143d2b.jpg

Bypassing the sync board and running wire to the audio board
null_zpsc3736b29.jpg

Here's what I would have needed to deal with for the audio.
null_zps9f2be7a0.jpg

Desoldered all the clips and will wire the bypass from the sync boards directly to this board.
null_zps5af4054d.jpg


Ran out of time tonight. Will try and finish tomorrow or early next week (it's at my office, and it's quite possible that I won't make it in tomorrow because of the lovely non-stop snowfall here :/

 

wrote this up last night, and I am indeed still stuck at home.  Hopefully I can get some time in this weekend on it.  If I make it to the office, then I'll just bring it and the tools I need home.  Not much more work to do to it.  Just some wire cutting and soldering.



#671 detectiveconan16   Deposit the bottles. CAGiversary!   5282 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

detectiveconan16

Posted 03 January 2014 - 11:00 PM

Man, these monster video switch boxes are indeed very complicated.

 

I did my last mod for the season, considering I can't leave the window open during the winter for soldering. I finally hacked a PlayStation 1 controller and hooked it up to a Hori Real Arcade Pro 3 which has a USB board. Took me a full day since the wires were 26 gauge but am satisfied with the results. I could've done it cleaner but lacked terminal strips (since they cost $5 a piece at RadioShack sheesh).

 

Meanwhile I'm debating whether or not to bring home an N64 which I can get for really cheap. On one hand, I have a Wii meaning I don't need to play the Nintendo-published classics, but on the other hand I'd like to play Mischief Makers. If I bother to get rid of those damned tabs in the cartridge slot. I'd lean toward a yes. But I wonder if anybody has created a replacement plastic piece like via a 3D print or a mold.


Batsugunner.png


#672 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 03 January 2014 - 11:13 PM

Get a box fan and put a furnace filter in front of it.  Solder all winter long ;)



#673 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 04 January 2014 - 02:34 PM

Finished up the switch. Works perfectly!

Swiss cheesed a bit to run the wires where I'd like.

null_zpsf4a48db2.jpg


Wires taped down and whatnot.

null_zpsa92664ce.jpg


All set to reassemble.

null_zps9f781d96.jpg


And then just the final touch.

null_zpsa78f2cdf.jpg

Works perfectly and it keeps the entire unit as tidy as possible, with no pigtail wires or anything dangling from the back. Couldn't be happier!

#674 detectiveconan16   Deposit the bottles. CAGiversary!   5282 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

detectiveconan16

Posted 04 January 2014 - 02:48 PM

Wow, now all you've gotta do av mods on whatever pre-NES video game systems you find like the Famicom, Intellivision, Ataris, or Magnavox.


Batsugunner.png


#675 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 04 January 2014 - 03:59 PM

Luckily I don't own anything pre-NES :P

But seriously, I do need to get around to adding S-vid ports to my Saturns and possibly modding my TG-16 for S-vid as well (though the latter is a rather significant undertaking). Then the only thing left running on composite in my collection will be the NES, but I never play that anyway. It's all to easy to just play NES games by way of emulation.

#676 detectiveconan16   Deposit the bottles. CAGiversary!   5282 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

detectiveconan16

Posted 05 January 2014 - 12:39 PM

Yeah, Wii or PC FTW.

 

S-video should be easy for the Saturn considering there are pins for it or you can find a cable or something. But I guess a bigger challenge would be to make the composite video look better considering it's pretty muddy especially by VCR standards.


Batsugunner.png


#677 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 05 January 2014 - 01:17 PM

Well I did get this a while back.

null_zpsd5400fdf.jpg

Haven't had a chance to try it out (it came as a freebie), but I'll give it a try ASAP.

#678 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 21 January 2014 - 04:53 AM

Have a handful of otherwise unused solid SFC titles sitting at the office, so I thought I'd spruce them up a bit so we have something to play when folks visit the office (which seems to be happening a lot lately). Still have a few others to finish up. These were fun to do :)

null_zps0170ce24.jpg

#679 detectiveconan16   Deposit the bottles. CAGiversary!   5282 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

detectiveconan16

Posted 21 January 2014 - 09:56 PM

Wow, pretty. Are you going to do the same for  other systems? A Ferrari-Red Outrun or a gunmetal Cybernator?


Batsugunner.png


#680 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 22 January 2014 - 02:33 AM

This was sorta just a random, impromptu project for games we had sitting around. Don't really have plans to do any other games (aside from the other 3 that I still need to make labels for). Mostly just to have some fun stuff to play at the office when we need a break or have visitors. Kinda just show off pieces ;)

#681 MillerTime2523   FUN TIMES IN CLEVELAND CAGiversary!   8359 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago   Has been playing Trials Fusion
XONE

MillerTime2523

Posted 30 January 2014 - 01:46 AM

Wiggy, I was searching the net for some info on making SNES repros when I came across your name. Are you familiar with the process? I'd like to make a cart with the rom from my NBA Jam 2k14 project, but my knowledge on the subject is limited. Seems like something I'd be able to do, but I just need to find more info about it.


KyrieIrvingSig1_zps17eadf84.jpg
Now Playing

Battlefield Hardline // Sunset Overdrive // Trials Fusion


#682 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 23 February 2014 - 05:15 PM

Sorry for the late reply.  I haven't been here as often as I used to be.  Shoot me a PM and we can chat about it (repro talk is not something that CAG is too keen on).



#683 detectiveconan16   Deposit the bottles. CAGiversary!   5282 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

detectiveconan16

Posted 31 March 2014 - 10:30 AM

Saw that Yoshi green SNES controller. Cute.


Batsugunner.png


#684 slowdive21   CAG/Hoarder CAGiversary!   10539 Posts   Joined 8.5 Years Ago  

Posted 29 July 2014 - 03:01 AM

So I have  a $5 credit to use on ebay and I've been looking for parts.  Does anyone know what the "good" security bits look like?

 

I was thinking about these: http://www.ebay.com/...=item540b21e8e3

 

Or maybe these: http://www.ebay.com/...=item258e7a10df

 

any ideas which is better? or are they both junk?



#685 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 09 August 2014 - 03:14 AM

I recommend just skipping the unknown crap out there and just going to a place that sells a good part, period.

http://www.parts-exp...driver--360-215

#686 Richard Kain   The Kaiser CAGiversary!   1455 Posts   Joined 7.7 Years Ago  

Richard Kain

Posted 12 August 2014 - 10:54 PM

I recommend just skipping the unknown crap out there and just going to a place that sells a good part, period.

I would second this, especially if we are talking about a tool that you will be using multiple times. I picked up security screwdrivers for my classic cartridges. I got them from an Amazon distributor. They are quite good, and the longer shafts of the screwdriver make it easier for me to dismantle older consoles.



#687 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 14 September 2014 - 08:58 PM

There, fixed it :)

 

null_zps7c9e3ec7.jpg

 

null_zpse34a4c77.jpg

 

null_zps3c9fd68d.jpg

 

null_zps943ee90e.jpg

 

null_zpsa7e3269f.jpg

 

BONUS!  It seems that this is a typical issue with the Q, so I guess I'm gonna sell these suckers too.   Didn't expect to make any money on the project.  Was just trying to fox my busted Q :)



#688 detectiveconan16   Deposit the bottles. CAGiversary!   5282 Posts   Joined 8.1 Years Ago  

detectiveconan16

Posted 14 September 2014 - 09:49 PM

Can you print a cart slot without the notches for the N64, though I imagine it would be easier to make a mold. I'm surprised no one is even selling that part, choosing to rip people off with a $40 "passthru" cart. Oh well, stick to a hammer or drill.


Batsugunner.png


#689 wiggyx   Dorkity-dork-dork CAGiversary!   1414 Posts   Joined 3.3 Years Ago  

Posted 15 September 2014 - 04:41 AM

Yeah, but it's not worth the time. Easier to just cut the tabs with a Dremel.

#690 M47R1X   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   147 Posts   Joined 5.1 Years Ago  

Posted 15 September 2014 - 06:01 PM

I'd actually be interested in that for my import N64. I'd really rather not take a dremel to it as it's a bit of a rarity, but passthroughs are so ugly.