Collecting US Mint Coins

200STM

CAGiversary!
Hey CAGs I collect video games, hot wheels and vinyl records. Now I am getting into collecting coins. I am collecting the US 50 State Quarters (half way done 23 states to go). I am thinking of buying actual coins from the US mint to collect. I was wondering if any of you CAGs collect US Mint coins? I know I'm not the only one.

I love me a good coin find myself, although I've never bought directly from the US mint. My understanding is, mint coins have more value, but are typically proofs made for the collector's market. I don't go for that- for me, part of the appeal is the idea that these coins have been circulated... I like to imagine my morgan dollar being used in an old west saloon, for example.

It also helps that I work in retail... I don't get as much as did since getting bumped up from cashier, but I still get a shot to pull things out of the till for face value. I got a steel penny just the other week that way. Now if I could just find a James Monroe dollar, I'd be all set for all but the newest coins (Chester A Arthur dollar and El Yunqiue quarter.)

I have purchased coins from the U.S. Mint. I order 2 proof sets (1 for each of my kids). Proof sets are sets specifically manufactured for collectors and receive "special" treatment. They are NOT manufactured with the coins destined for circulation. They are made from polished dies that are not used as long as a normal die. I believe each coin is struck twice. The proof coins will usually have a "frosted" design but the flat background will have a very mirror-like quality. You receive 1 coins for each version of the coin produced that year - each with a "S" mint mark for San Fransisco. (So when they were making the state quarters you received 5 quarters a year)