Need help upgrading PC

ProphetZero

CAGiversary!
My wife's only uses the PC she has to play World of Warcraft but in order to play the latest expansion we need to get her an upgrade. I just got 4 gigs of ram installed and it runs a little faster but on low settings and lags just a bit still.

Here is what she has- Athlon 64 X2 Duel Core 6000+ and Radeon HD 3200. G. Skill 4 gig (4 x 1gb) 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800.

What do I need? I did a little research and was recommended I upgrade the graphics card and I think the processor needs upgrading too? I'm not very good at this kind of thing and still learning.

First, we need to know more about your system specs. Primarily what motherboard you have. You can easily find this out by downloading a free program called CPU-Z. Go to the mainboard tab and tell us what you have. Also, what power supply would be a good followup question and is this a pre-built OEM computer like HP or Dell?

The HD 3200 tends to be paired as the onboard graphics for a number of low-end motherboards during those days (some still are) so I would say all that needs to be in order would be to actually plant in a discrete gpu card. I wouldn't even touch the CPU since you are running a very old Athlon 64 X2 dual core from 2007 and would be a waste of money since you are tide down to the AM2 platform.

Depending on how much you love your wife and willing to spend on her, dictates the proper course of action in an upgrade path. If just the gpu is needed or can be upgraded, then something like a $50-100 graphics card like the GTX 650 or AMD 6670 or 7770 would fit the budget nicely. If you got more money to play with, then there's better options to give you more bang per buck.

If I had a cool wife that plays PC games, I would build her a new PC right now. $500-600 would tremendously give you 100 folds in PC gaming abilities.