Jump to content


- - - - -

Blizzard Battle chests - $7.99 BB


#61 EdgeCrusher36   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   925 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

EdgeCrusher36

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:21 PM

Why? Best Buy offers free shipping and rewards points. Amazon doesn't do either. Why and God's name would you rather buy from Amazon?


I'd rather shop anywhere than best buy or their website, that would be why.

#62 UnlockPotential   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   548 Posts   Joined 4.7 Years Ago  

UnlockPotential

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:52 PM

ebates + reward zone + BB credit card + BB sale = awesome deal. But outside of these sales, BB prices are ridiculously high. Amazon is awesome just because there are so many ways to earn free gift cards. Amazon also has a more pleasant customer service experience and Prime shipping.. can't be that, yo. I rack up at least $20 a month in free Amazon GCs with Swagbucks and other sites. Plus the Amazon credit card rewards points system is awesome.

#63 mitch079   Fun hurts my lungs. CAGiversary!   12034 Posts   Joined 12.4 Years Ago  

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:31 PM

I went to a store showing as Unavailable for Diablo to pick up another game. They had plenty of all 4 battle chests in the PC section in stock.

mmitch079.pngmmitch079.pngmmitch079.png

 


#64 Sgt Barone   CAG 4 Life CAGiversary!   1987 Posts   Joined 7.9 Years Ago  

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:38 PM

World of Warcraft and Warcraft III battle chests are still in stock online!
<p>Here's to a great year of gaming in 2015 :beer:

#65 cancerman1120   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   9683 Posts   Joined 6.6 Years Ago  

cancerman1120

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:52 PM

Decided to bite on the WoWIII chest. Pretty sure I never played the expansions. Already have the rest of the games. Might have to register them on battlenet to play without disks so thanks for that advice.

#66 Zexy   #PS4MASTERCONSOLE CAGiversary!   2168 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:06 AM

GS has WOW Battle Chest for $5
http://www.gamestop....ttlechest/66582

Taking offers on my PS4 20th Anniversary Ed.


#67 Sauza12   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   87 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:53 AM

can any1 else confirm that the diablo battle chest at their local best buy didnt include original diablo 1?


I got the Diablo Battle Chest for Christmas from my wife and she got it at Best Buy. It did not have Diablo 1 in it. The version with Diablo 1 included has been phased out for the new version which just has Diablo II and its expansion.
My collection
http://www.rfgenerat...lder=Collection
is totally awesome

#68 ezelkow1   CAG in Limbo CAGiversary!   899 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:09 AM

just grabbed 2 of em at my local BB, which as others have said had them all marked as unavailable but they had plenty of copies all of them. Just wished I had waited to order the warcraft3 one and bought it at the store

#69 Masterkyo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   11126 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:18 AM

Picked up WOW battle chest :)
"Evil is Funs"

#70 TommyLove   CAGiversary! Banned   912 Posts   Joined 5.0 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:18 AM

Picked up WC3 and going to check my store tomorrow for D2.
My collection and trade-list:
H: The Legend Of Zelda: Hyrule Historia LE in Mint condition W: equal value in trades or amazon/eBay prices
http://www.cheapassg...ad.php?t=330790
My game plays:
http://www.youtube.com/tommylovehd
Posted Image

#71 MrBonk   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   618 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:25 AM

Annnd they are basically all gone online except for WoW and WC3.

#72 Masterkyo   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   11126 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:45 AM

GS has WOW Battle Chest for $5
http://www.gamestop....ttlechest/66582


ah! I'll go back tomorrow & get my $2 back :)
"Evil is Funs"

#73 pummy84   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   117 Posts   Joined 4.6 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:28 AM

Just a heads up: some stores may have some of these battle chests in stock, when the website says they are out of stock. The website said my local store had no Diablo battlechests in stock, but when I went there this evening, I saw that they had about four on the shelf.

#74 3check   World Builder CAGiversary!   202 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:37 AM

I picked up Starcraft and Warcraft 3 chests. My store had tons but none were visibly marked down.
I just plugged the keys into my battle.net acct and downloaded starcraft right away.

*Just a heads up* I got an error when installing about not being able to rename a file. Quick google search told me to turn off my anti-virus program during the install and that worked for me

#75 mark_IV   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   292 Posts   Joined 4.9 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:38 AM

Just a heads up: some stores may have some of these battle chests in stock, when the website says they are out of stock. The website said my local store had no Diablo battlechests in stock, but when I went there this evening, I saw that they had about four on the shelf.


Same here. Every store within 50 miles from me showed out of stock but stopped into my local store and they had all 4 battle chests in stock with multiples of each.

#76 scottman   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2877 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

scottman

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:59 AM

Wow, these games have longevity. I must have passed on the numerous $9.99 deals as far back as circuit city days, but finally bit at $8 this time for SC. Nice to know about the diskless option. As others said, my store also had a few of each despite the online locator, all with $7.99 shelf tags.

#77 slowdive21   PUT SOME RESPECK ON MY NAME CAGiversary!   12150 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

slowdive21

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:18 AM

Wow, these games have longevity. I must have passed on the numerous $9.99 deals as far back as circuit city days, but finally bit at $8 this time for SC. Nice to know about the diskless option. As others said, my store also had a few of each despite the online locator, all with $7.99 shelf tags.


They still run pretty well...though my desktop always 'gets giant' after I play Warcraft 3. It basically looks like safe mode with giant icons.

#78 MrBonk   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   618 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:43 AM

Just a heads up: some stores may have some of these battle chests in stock, when the website says they are out of stock. The website said my local store had no Diablo battlechests in stock, but when I went there this evening, I saw that they had about four on the shelf.

Wonder if the same could be said of gamestop's website.

Been wanting to get the FFXIII-2 strategy guide half off, but in person(because after shipping it's like <25% off) but online it says they never have any of either type:cold:

#79 scottman   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2877 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

scottman

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:44 AM

They still run pretty well...though my desktop always 'gets giant' after I play Warcraft 3. It basically looks like safe mode with giant icons.


It must just be changing the resolution to the 600x480 or whatever was optimal back then for these games and not automatically changing back afterwards.

#80 usrevenge   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   376 Posts   Joined 4.3 Years Ago  

usrevenge

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:29 AM

Apologies if this is a dumb question but do you have to have the CD in the drive to play any the games or can you install them and run them entirely from the install?


I think there are NO-CD cracks you can download, I also think an official patch was released ( at least for starcraft) to not need CD anymore either.

#81 ezelkow1   CAG in Limbo CAGiversary!   899 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:44 AM

You can add all of these to a battle.net account. From there you can download installers, so you dont need cds for any of these

There are some compatibility oddities since some of them are old. I noticed with diablo 2 I had to install the expansion in order for it to even run, without that it wouldnt start due to directx errors.

With starcraft there are color issues since it tries to force 16bit color but windows 7 doesnt like that and tries to revert back. In game the colors look fine but the menus and video are messed up. Theres a workaround though of leaving the 'Screen Resolution' change window open in the background, run in win98 compatibility mode, and all is well. I think that one might depend on your graphics card and if it can compensate

#82 DaiMonPaul   On the Fringe CAGiversary!   403 Posts   Joined 3.9 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:04 AM

There are some compatibility oddities since some of them are old. I noticed with diablo 2 I had to install the expansion in order for it to even run, without that it wouldnt start due to directx errors.

With starcraft there are color issues since it tries to force 16bit color but windows 7 doesnt like that and tries to revert back. In game the colors look fine but the menus and video are messed up. Theres a workaround though of leaving the 'Screen Resolution' change window open in the background, run in win98 compatibility mode, and all is well. I think that one might depend on your graphics card and if it can compensate


With Starcraft, you can also kill the Windows 7 Explorer shell and the colors will display perfectly. I set up a batch file that kills the explorer.exe process, opens the game, and then restarts Explorer when the game is exited. It's not ideal, but it's a small inconvenience to get such a great older game working well.

#83 ezelkow1   CAG in Limbo CAGiversary!   899 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:28 AM

Ahh nice, ill have to try that one out too

#84 renandabomb   CAG in Training CAGiversary!   47 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

renandabomb

Posted 07 January 2013 - 07:07 AM

With Starcraft, you can also kill the Windows 7 Explorer shell and the colors will display perfectly. I set up a batch file that kills the explorer.exe process, opens the game, and then restarts Explorer when the game is exited. It's not ideal, but it's a small inconvenience to get such a great older game working well.


yes this is what I had to do with Starcraft: Brood Wars also.

Just create a text file and in the file have this in it:

taskkill /f /IM explorer.exe
"C:\(Path to game)\StarCraft.exe"
Start explorer.exe
The path to game would be wherever you installed Starcraft, where your Starcraft.exe is located. After doing that, rename the notepad file to Starcraft.bat or whatever, just make sure it has the .bat extension. Then just double click the .bat file as normal whenever you wanted to play Starcraft.

#85 Lexian   The Master of Orion CAGiversary!   361 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 07:14 AM

I wish they would bundle Warcraft 1 and Warcraft 2 into a battle chest. Would rebuy them in a heartbeat!
Posted Image

#86 Peezy   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   282 Posts   Joined 3.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:41 AM

diablo 2 , and starcraft brings back alot of memories, are the community still active on those games?


im sure the original starcraft is still active, people tend to stick with the original

#87 gundie   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   432 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:32 PM

Diablo back in stock. Just ordered 1.

#88 The End   is nigh! CAGiversary!   5587 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:35 PM

Diablo back in stock. Just ordered 1.


Thanks for the Head's Up. Managed to get one this time.

#89 Alien Spider   VIGILANTE JUSTICE CAGiversary!   1402 Posts   Joined 12.4 Years Ago  

Alien Spider

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:10 PM

Thanks for the Head's Up. Managed to get one this time.


Same here! :)

rjgspider.png


#90 AlexIW   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   58 Posts   Joined 7.5 Years Ago  

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:30 PM

Thanks indeed for the heads up, hope I'll manage to get it ordered in time..