Jump to content


- - - - -

Do I need PS1 Memory card for Ps1 game on PS2?


#1 Admiral Ackbar   It's a trap! CAGiversary!   15825 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Admiral Ackbar

Posted 01 May 2004 - 09:03 PM

I just piucked up FFT for the PS1 and started playing it on my PS2. But it won't save. I thought you could use a ps2 memory card for ps1 games on the ps2. Do I have to go out and pick up a PS1 memory card?

The 2014 E3 Theme: "Coming in 2015."


#2 evilmax17   Yardsaling CAG CAGiversary!   7480 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

Posted 01 May 2004 - 09:04 PM

Yup.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#3 Admiral Ackbar   It's a trap! CAGiversary!   15825 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Admiral Ackbar

Posted 01 May 2004 - 09:05 PM

Thanks

The 2014 E3 Theme: "Coming in 2015."


#4 evilmax17   Yardsaling CAG CAGiversary!   7480 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

Posted 01 May 2004 - 09:07 PM

:D
Posted Image
Posted Image

#5 Kaijufan   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   9848 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Posted 01 May 2004 - 09:13 PM

Once you get a PS1 save on a PS1 memory card you can copy it to a PS2 memory card, but it cant be used. Its good for backup or if your PS1 memory card is full, because you can always copy it back.

#6 Scrubking   Feels the Force CAGiversary!   4804 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

Scrubking

Posted 01 May 2004 - 11:09 PM

When I found this out for the first time I was SO PISSED OFF.

You would think that a mem card that looks exactly like the one for ps1 would be able to save its games.

The 'make money on every single piece of hardware' mentality of the console makers really pisses me off. At least you can play ps1 games.

Gameplay is what makes a game worth playing - not story or graphics


MY SITE


#7 ig88vsbobafett   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   400 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

ig88vsbobafett

Posted 01 May 2004 - 11:13 PM

I have a sony brand PS1 Memory card you can have for $6 shipped if you want it (Paypal is the best)

#8 dtcarson   No cute in-joke here. CAGiversary!   3405 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

dtcarson

Posted 02 May 2004 - 02:09 AM

I can kinda see that, but honestly, who's going to have any/many PS1 games without having at least 1 PS1 mem card? They are different pieces of hardware/accessory; the PS1 card has only 15 blocks, whereas the PS2 card is 8 MB, which seems to be a lot bigger in terms of storage space.

#9 -Never4ever-   That Guy. CAGiversary!   7825 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

-Never4ever-

Posted 02 May 2004 - 03:50 AM

I just piucked up FFT for the PS1 and started playing it on my PS2. But it won't save. I thought you could use a ps2 memory card for ps1 games on the ps2. Do I have to go out and pick up a PS1 memory card?


yup

#10 LV-426RS   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1655 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

LV-426RS

Posted 02 May 2004 - 09:54 AM

I can kinda see that, but honestly, who's going to have any/many PS1 games without having at least 1 PS1 mem card? They are different pieces of hardware/accessory; the PS1 card has only 15 blocks, whereas the PS2 card is 8 MB, which seems to be a lot bigger in terms of storage space.


I'm sure there are many people who never had the Playstation and when they bought the PS2 they got some Playststion games to take advantage of the PS2's already "extensive collection of games!!!!...."

#11 eldad9   Join Date: Jun 2002 CAGiversary!   3958 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

Posted 02 May 2004 - 11:07 AM

When I found this out for the first time I was SO PISSED OFF.

You would think that a mem card that looks exactly like the one for ps1 would be able to save its games.

The 'make money on every single piece of hardware' mentality of the console makers really pisses me off. At least you can play ps1 games.


It's not that. Doing this was basically THE ONLY WAY TO ENSURE BACKWARD COMPATIBILITY.

Sony's really the first company to do this (the Atari consoles were different and never saved anything anyway). Instead of thanking them, you assume a conspiracy.

Sega couldn't even get memory cards right on the Dreamcast (some games not compatible with some memory cards and may cause them to be reformatted- yay).

BTW:

Datel Memory Card 3 Pack - $9 shipped free at best buy

#12 YoshiFan1   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   9599 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:18 AM

I wish Sony would have made a bigger PS1 memory card. I am up to 5 memory cards (I had a 24X Interact card before I got the Sony cards but it erased all my game saves and needless to say, from that point on, I never used a 3rd party card again)

#13 PsyClerk   Cheapass Smartass CAGiversary!   3712 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 03 May 2004 - 11:33 AM

3rd party memory cards = evil

Only buy third party cards if you don't mind losing hours of gameplay.

The worst part about PSOne saves is that some games take only one block (that's good), some take an assload of blocks. Discworld takes between 6-9 blocks, and Wing Commander III takes 9 blocks.

#14 Scrubking   Feels the Force CAGiversary!   4804 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

Scrubking

Posted 03 May 2004 - 12:27 PM

When I found this out for the first time I was SO PISSED OFF.

You would think that a mem card that looks exactly like the one for ps1 would be able to save its games.

The 'make money on every single piece of hardware' mentality of the console makers really pisses me off. At least you can play ps1 games.


It's not that. Doing this was basically THE ONLY WAY TO ENSURE BACKWARD COMPATIBILITY.


Where is the proof for this?

Instead of thanking them, you assume a conspiracy.


I never said anything about a conspiracy :roll:

And if you think they don't want to capitalize on every piece of hardware then you are a fool.

Gameplay is what makes a game worth playing - not story or graphics


MY SITE


#15 E-Z-B   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   3348 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:16 PM

Best Buy has the PS one memory cards from Sony for $9 each. Don't know if it's cheaper or not.

http://www.bestbuy.c...7&type=category
Posted Image

#16 metroidkiller9   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1132 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

metroidkiller9

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:20 PM

you can load from a ps1 mem card on ps2, you just cant save.

#17 LV-426RS   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1655 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

LV-426RS

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:22 PM

you can load from a ps1 mem card on ps2, you just cant save.


Wrong, you can load and save using a PS1 mem card from a PS2 as long as it's a PS1 game.

#18 metroidkiller9   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1132 Posts   Joined 11.5 Years Ago  

metroidkiller9

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:34 PM

you can load from a ps1 mem card on ps2, you just cant save.


Wrong, you can load and save using a PS1 mem card from a PS2 as long as it's a PS1 game.


oh sorry. i meant to say you can load a ps1 file from a ps2 memory card you just cant save it.

#19 BigDirty   Moderator Emeritus CAGiversary!   1517 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:55 PM

The reason that you need the different memory cards is plain and simple, and can be summed up in one word, ARCHITECTURE. The architecture of a PS1 game looks for the corresponding hardware for a memory card to save to.

There is no EASY way around this problem (yes, I said easy, because it may be able to be circumvented, but would likely drain the system resources to do so). To do so, there would have to be some type of emulation within a ROM on the motherboard for when a load/save function is called from a PS1 game, and emulation takes away cycles, and you should see where this is going.

Another point is that the method of PS1 saves only to a PS1 memory card preserves the portability of the game save. A save on a PS1 card can be used not only on all PS2 units, but all PS1 units as well. A save on a PS2 card would restrict the read to only PS2 machines.

Hopefully this clears things up for you guys (and gals).
Posted Image
Posted Image