BA Economics Vs. BS Business

mrsilkunderwear

CAGiversary!
Feedback
151 (100%)
I used to study Economics in CA but took a break from school due to a job offer from an IT company. I worked in QA and really enjoyed working within the industry but realized I need to finish schooling and get my bachelors. Now I am back in school here in Texas studying business. 

I am sure many people here are working professionals and are quite successful in their careers. What I would like to know is your opinion on getting a degree in Economics vs Business (Finance or Global Business). Interested in knowing more about market demand, job flexibility and personal experience in each field. 

Thanks!

Honestly, it depends which field you want to go into.  I graduated with a BA in Economics and a minor in Business in May 2012.  I work for a large company in their finance department but its very entry-level.  Personally, I want to go into accounting work which you can supposedly can do with an Econ degree but most companies wont even look at me since I didnt get a degree in Accounting (which wasnt available at the school I went to).  So if you want a more general business type job, I would recommend the Business degree personally since it seems to open more doors.  Looking back myself, I wish that was the path I chose.

I'm not a experienced professional but I figure I could give my 2 cents about schools/degrees. 

I got a BA in Econ in 2009 and spent nearly a 1.5 years (started at the beginning of my final semester) trying to find a job, but only got offers for sales positions, most of which were nothing more than pyramid schemes. It was bad for pretty much everyone though as the recession hit in late 2008. I went back to school for a MAS (or MS) in Accounting in 2011 and got a really good offer last year while I was in school. I graduated in May and I start in two weeks and cannot wait to finally start working.