Jump to content


* * * * - 27 votes

GameStop Trade & Promos XXVII: Values available on the website and on Android/iOS app.

GameStop trade trade-in TIV values promos credit

#1501 elessar123  

Posted 02 March 2015 - 07:27 PM

How did shipping cost you more than $12?

 

That is the cost of a Large Flat Rate Priority Mail Flat Rate Box. You can fit at least 2 fat PS2s in one.

Or the flatter medium flat rate box.



#1502 CookieParty   Artist formerly known as Burritoman CAGiversary!   3260 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

CookieParty

Posted 02 March 2015 - 07:37 PM

Or the flatter medium flat rate box.

Maybe that was the one I was thinking of.

 

I can't remember, but I just sent one to a guy in one for about $10-$12 in a flat rate box.



#1503 WickedCyclone  

WickedCyclone

Posted 02 March 2015 - 07:48 PM

How did shipping cost you more than $12?

 

That is the cost of a Large Flat Rate Priority Mail Flat Rate Box. You can fit at least 2 fat PS2s in one.

I sold 8 fat systems, a slim, and 2 network adapters all together. Wouldn't have fit in a priority box I don't think :D



#1504 shrike4242   Not My Job Anymore, Go Bother Someone Else. CAGiversary!   49872 Posts   Joined 14.3 Years Ago  

Posted 02 March 2015 - 07:51 PM

You don't need a coupon do you?

No, I have a coupon from my PUR account, though I was just mentioning that I was going there anyway and can't complain about trying to get another $1.40 on a trade-in when it's likely the only hardware I'll be trading to GS anytime this month.



#1505 Mafiacrooks   Trolololol CAGiversary!   702 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Mafiacrooks

Posted 02 March 2015 - 08:09 PM

Anybody try using that 10% extra credit on games?? Did it work?

#1506 eulogywerd21   Jesus wept CAGiversary!   3234 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

eulogywerd21

Posted 02 March 2015 - 08:28 PM

It doesn't say anything on the PS2 trade in info about the system must work. I have a back up Slim that still powers up, but I can't get video. Was keeping to harvest parts, but for $25. I wonder if they'll plug it in if I take it to trade.

#1507 sovereignNX-73811   THINKS HE CAN TAKE the whole Ardanian Army CAGiversary!   5688 Posts   Joined 4.2 Years Ago  

sovereignNX-73811

Posted 02 March 2015 - 08:33 PM

It doesn't say anything on the PS2 trade in info about the system must work. I have a back up Slim that still powers up, but I can't get video. Was keeping to harvest parts, but for $25. I wonder if they'll plug it in if I take it to trade.

Uuuuumm...yeah they will. You might be able to dump it off there but if you know how to dissect the hardware...



#1508 Jesse757x   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   444 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

Posted 02 March 2015 - 09:10 PM

It doesn't say anything on the PS2 trade in info about the system must work. I have a back up Slim that still powers up, but I can't get video. Was keeping to harvest parts, but for $25. I wonder if they'll plug it in if I take it to trade.

They'll probably charge you a $25 refurb fee...

#1509 eulogywerd21   Jesus wept CAGiversary!   3234 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

eulogywerd21

Posted 02 March 2015 - 09:14 PM

They'll probably charge you a $25 refurb fee...

I'll end up owning them, before it's all said and done.



#1510 CaptainJoel   In Brightest Day CAGiversary!   15420 Posts   Joined 9.3 Years Ago  

CaptainJoel

Posted 02 March 2015 - 09:54 PM

Did anyone else get a 30% trade credit on games coupons in their app today? I was super surprised.



#1511 shrike4242   Not My Job Anymore, Go Bother Someone Else. CAGiversary!   49872 Posts   Joined 14.3 Years Ago  

Posted 02 March 2015 - 10:11 PM

I'll end up owning them, before it's all said and done.

Probably not, though I'm sure the story would be popcorn-worthy.



#1512 Bobby's Beasting!   All Day! CAGiversary!   4633 Posts   Joined 5.2 Years Ago  

Bobby's Beasting!

Posted 02 March 2015 - 10:52 PM

It doesn't say anything on the PS2 trade in info about the system must work


Wtf lol

#1513 eulogywerd21   Jesus wept CAGiversary!   3234 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

eulogywerd21

Posted 02 March 2015 - 11:00 PM

Wtf lol

Gamestop has, in the past and may still, taken consoles that have issues. I got rid of 2 original Xboxes and 1 launch 360 in this manner. They usually charge a fee to refurbish the unit, but they've still taken them.

 

I don't game on consoles or frequent Gamestops nearly as much as I used to, hence the post/question.



#1514 pittsnoggle   Lord CAGiversary!   4343 Posts   Joined 4.8 Years Ago  

pittsnoggle

Posted 03 March 2015 - 12:05 AM

The ps2 is just a visual check before it is sent to be refurbished so if your ps2 doesnt work you can trade it in, how ever broken ps2 fats sell for more on ebay



#1515 Gamer SDP   not much of a gamer CAGiversary!   4963 Posts   Joined 12.3 Years Ago  

Posted 03 March 2015 - 12:17 AM

anyone else get a message to reset password when trying to signin?

 

Password Reset

To help keep your account secure, we routinely examine and update our global security procedures. Recently, we have strengthened our customer password requirements and are now asking you to please change your GameStop password at this time so you can continue to gain access to your GameStop account.



#1516 kickrockz713   Say it again CAGiversary!   10674 Posts   Joined 6.3 Years Ago  

kickrockz713

Posted 03 March 2015 - 12:20 AM

 

anyone else get a message to reset password when trying to signin?

 

Password Reset

To help keep your account secure, we routinely examine and update our global security procedures. Recently, we have strengthened our customer password requirements and are now asking you to please change your GameStop password at this time so you can continue to gain access to your GameStop account.

 

Just tried to sign in and it let me so I didn't get it.



#1517 GamerSavage   The Throwback Kid CAGiversary!   857 Posts   Joined 6.2 Years Ago  

GamerSavage

Posted 03 March 2015 - 12:25 AM

 

anyone else get a message to reset password when trying to signin?

 

Password Reset

To help keep your account secure, we routinely examine and update our global security procedures. Recently, we have strengthened our customer password requirements and are now asking you to please change your GameStop password at this time so you can continue to gain access to your GameStop account.

 

 

 

Just tried to sign in and it let me so I didn't get it.

I got the message a couple days ago when I signed in on the computer. I went ahead and changed it. Wonder if they're just starting this and not everybody has gotten it. It doesn't hurt to change passwords occasionally though.



#1518 bob330i   just lookin' CAGiversary!   3461 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Posted 03 March 2015 - 04:00 AM

I got the message a couple days ago when I signed in on the computer. I went ahead and changed it. Wonder if they're just starting this and not everybody has gotten it. It doesn't hurt to change passwords occasionally though.

I got it today.  Changed it so I don't get nagged further.



#1519 MSUHitman   Checkmate Arcade Co-Host CAGiversary!   14163 Posts   Joined 12.3 Years Ago  

Posted 03 March 2015 - 05:25 AM

It doesn't say anything on the PS2 trade in info about the system must work. I have a back up Slim that still powers up, but I can't get video. Was keeping to harvest parts, but for $25. I wonder if they'll plug it in if I take it to trade.

I imagine that may be all they do to test it as GS doesn't have PS2 games to test the system with anymore. Most stores don't have movies either.

 

Probably will just see if the PS2 goes to the system menu.



#1520 invizibleskratchpikl   Standing On My Pedals CAGiversary!   240 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

invizibleskratchpikl

Posted 03 March 2015 - 05:56 AM

Hey guys,

Employees will only need to visually inspect the PS2 console. If it looks good, it can be accepted for trade. The PS2 DOES NOT need to be tested.

It can be an original or a slim. If it has the components (AV, cable, AC adapter, controller), you can get $25 store credit. Controller requirement doesn't specify Sony brand or third party. The PS2 without components trades in for $20.

#1521 Vanacloud   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   946 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

Posted 03 March 2015 - 09:25 PM

Traded in my PS2 today, System only (Fat).  Just inspected it, Scanned and done.  It was missing one of those "feets" and the Disk tray Playstation logo in front, $20 original, $4 Refurb fee taken Off.  $16 Trade in credit, $12 Cash.  



#1522 Narukami   http://i.imgur.com/J8SRXIT.jpg The hype is dead. CAGiversary!   2280 Posts   Joined 4.7 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 09:47 AM

For those on the fence, I would highly recommend not trading them into Gamestop. Amazon has sudden trade in value changes on hardware. Since I started following the value changes over a year ago, I've probably seen the value for a Playstation 2 go up into the $70 range about 3 different times. Just wait for Amazon to give a really good value and stay away from the crap company called Gamestop.



#1523 Narukami   http://i.imgur.com/J8SRXIT.jpg The hype is dead. CAGiversary!   2280 Posts   Joined 4.7 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 09:54 AM

Try trading it here, instead.

 

http://www.amazon.co...trdrt_list_asin

 

It's the Toy Story Bundle, but if you trade in just the console, you'll probably get Acceptable, which has a value of $45.25



#1524 Katsumi   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   1482 Posts   Joined 8.6 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:41 PM

Did they bump up trade values today? Or is it a glitch due to the 50% bonus on systems? I'm showing higher values for most of the games I'd like to trade in today. For example, Super Smash is $44 with PRO. I could have sworn yesterday it was lower.



#1525 Vigilante   The Deal Is Already Dead CAGiversary!   36687 Posts   Joined 13.1 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:48 PM

Did they bump up trade values today? Or is it a glitch due to the 50% bonus on systems? I'm showing higher values for most of the games I'd like to trade in today. For example, Super Smash is $44 with PRO. I could have sworn yesterday it was lower.

It was. It's been $35 base since launch.



#1526 sladeums   fnord CAGiversary!   1634 Posts   Joined 12.3 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:50 PM

just traded Destiny yesterday for $18.xx after PUR
today it's $27.50

#1527 Katsumi   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   1482 Posts   Joined 8.6 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:50 PM

It was. It's been $35 base since launch.

Thank you! I thought maybe I was going crazy. So it went from $38.50 to $44 with PRO. Wonder what the promotion is? I won't argue :D



#1528 matrix9280   CAGiversary! Banned   1839 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

matrix9280

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:56 PM

It's not for all games. SMT IV still trades in for 7.



#1529 Vigilante   The Deal Is Already Dead CAGiversary!   36687 Posts   Joined 13.1 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 04:59 PM

Thank you! I thought maybe I was going crazy. So it went from $38.50 to $44 with PRO. Wonder what the promotion is? I won't argue :D

I don't know, but the store inventory search is broken, and GS's site otherwise looks weird when you try to search for a game.



#1530 iduncurr   McNubbin CAGiversary!   2795 Posts   Joined 6.6 Years Ago  

Posted 06 March 2015 - 05:00 PM

I haven't traded games in Gamestop in forever 

-checks out trade-in value-







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: GameStop, trade, trade-in, TIV, values, promos, credit