Jump to content


* * * * - 31 votes

GameStick $17/$20 (in store/online) at Gamestop


#1111 pfiffy   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   38 Posts   Joined 13.7 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 06:57 PM

I hear you but i am literally just going to tell you to stop being lazy and just do it yourself? I mean if you have a google account it should keep all your apps and then you just go through and download them again. I mean is it that tough to copy the micro sd over to another micro sd thats full of roms? I mean yea something like that would be neat, but I never thought it was too tough to copy my old android phone to my new one.

 

Wow.

 

I'm not lazy in the least...

 

Everything installed was not from a google account. Updates to apps- plug-ins for apps- Mapping controls within apps- the roms are in different places as well.

 

Just the android settings of the stick and then the individual settings of every app installed take a great deal of time to set and get right.

 

Perhaps you have unlimited time to do this stuff, I do not. Thanks for your answers, but...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

Does anyone else have any constructive answers to my original post?

 

 

 

Here is my original questions again:

 

 

I'm not yet very familiar at all with inner-workings/procedures/structures of android...

 

Is there a relatively easy way to duplicate (exact same structure, apps, etc.) one Game Stick to a second?

 

Is it possible to clone an an exact copy of an existing Game Stick to a second Game Stick (both sticks already modded to CF 1.4) without having to manually set the second stick up from scratch?

 

Any procedures that could be shared would be appreciated...



#1112 1teaney  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:01 PM

So does this ring up at $17 in store or do I have to a hold for pick up to get it at that price? I need to do some trade-ins and haven't done the pick up process before.

You don't have to hold for pickup. Most of us just did that because stores typically carry a small number of these and didn't want to waste the drive. If you grab one from the shelf and walk to the register it should come up $16.97 and the dock should be $4.97.



#1113 1teaney  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:12 PM

Wow.

 

I'm not lazy in the least...

 

Everything installed was not from a google account. Updates to apps- plug-ins for apps- Mapping controls within apps- the roms are in different places as well.

 

Just the android settings of the stick and then the individual settings of every app installed take a great deal of time to set and get right.

 

Perhaps you have unlimited time to do this stuff, I do not. Thanks for your answers, but...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

Does anyone else have any constructive answers to my original post?

 

 

 

Here is my original questions again:

 

 

I'm not yet very familiar at all with inner-workings/procedures/structures of android...

 

Is there a relatively easy way to duplicate (exact same structure, apps, etc.) one Game Stick to a second?

 

Is it possible to clone an an exact copy of an existing Game Stick to a second Game Stick (both sticks already modded to CF 1.4) without having to manually set the second stick up from scratch?

 

Any procedures that could be shared would be appreciated...

I have never imaged or cloned an Android device and it sounds like that's what you want. I'm sure it's possible, but honestly sounds like you need to have a pretty good understanding of how Android works under the UI. That being said I did find this in the Play Store that might do what you want: https://play.google....taniumBackupPro

 

I found this also, might be useless: http://android.stack...-android-device

 

Since you have root access with CFW I'm thinking that the TitaniumBackupPro would be a good choice.



#1114 AwRy108   AwRy108 CAGiversary!   2049 Posts   Joined 14.0 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:36 PM

Link Pick the system you want to emulate. Then on the next page select Android as the platform you want to emulate on.

 

Okay, another update:  downloaded the "-oid" series of emulators and, ugh, I am not impressed.  I'm using the dock (extra cooling) and have the Bluetooth turned off, and the GameStick still only run NES games at what looks like 1/2 the fps of the original console.  Frameskip set to "default"--which I assume is the same as "Auto"--seems to lock the games at 1/2 to 1/3 of the original fps, which actually starts to become disorienting.

 

The other emulators I tested seem to handle the fps better, so I think I'm going to stick with my original findings, and proclaim the GameStick as a "you get what you pay for" device when it comes running old-school emulators.  Quite a bummer.



#1115 pfiffy   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   38 Posts   Joined 13.7 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:36 PM

I have never imaged or cloned an Android device and it sounds like that's what you want. I'm sure it's possible, but honestly sounds like you need to have a pretty good understanding of how Android works under the UI. That being said I did find this in the Play Store that might do what you want: https://play.google....taniumBackupPro

 

I found this also, might be useless: http://android.stack...-android-device

 

Since you have root access with CFW I'm thinking that the TitaniumBackupPro would be a good choice.

 

Thank you so much for the effort and response; I will look into these options. :applause:



#1116 1teaney  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:39 PM

Okay, another update:  downloaded the "-oid" series of emulators and, ugh, I am not impressed.  I'm using the dock (extra cooling) and have the Bluetooth turned off, and the GameStick still only run NES games at what looks like 1/2 the fps of the original console.  Frameskip set to "default"--which I assume is the same as "Auto"--seems to lock the games at 1/2 to 1/3 of the original fps, which actually starts to become disorienting.

 

The other emulators I tested seem to handle the fps better, so I think I'm going to stick with my original findings, and proclaim the GameStick as a "you get what you pay for" device when it comes running old-school emulators.  Quite a bummer.

Which controller are you using? I'm using a Dual Shock 3 via USB cable.



#1117 Narse   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   53 Posts   Joined 13.6 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:57 PM

Okay, another update:  downloaded the "-oid" series of emulators and, ugh, I am not impressed.  I'm using the dock (extra cooling) and have the Bluetooth turned off, and the GameStick still only run NES games at what looks like 1/2 the fps of the original console.  Frameskip set to "default"--which I assume is the same as "Auto"--seems to lock the games at 1/2 to 1/3 of the original fps, which actually starts to become disorienting.

 

The other emulators I tested seem to handle the fps better, so I think I'm going to stick with my original findings, and proclaim the GameStick as a "you get what you pay for" device when it comes running old-school emulators.  Quite a bummer.

I'm using the dock, the ethernet port, and a wireless 360 controller with usb receiver. I've got both wifi and bluetooth turned off. The "oid" ones work the best for me in terms of frame rate, and play as close to the original systems as possible. The only downside I've found with them is that the picture quality is muddy compared to the other emulators. The other emulators look gorgeous, but their frame rates don't match the oids.



#1118 xeroblade   Hadouken! CAGiversary!   389 Posts   Joined 11.7 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 08:28 PM

Thank you so much for the effort and response; I will look into these options. :applause:

See someone was nice enough to help you out. I am not that nice. Thanks angel wearing jeans.



#1119 AwRy108   AwRy108 CAGiversary!   2049 Posts   Joined 14.0 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 09:34 PM

Which controller are you using? I'm using a Dual Shock 3 via USB cable.

So am I.

 

I'm using the dock, the ethernet port, and a wireless 360 controller with usb receiver. I've got both wifi and bluetooth turned off. The "oid" ones work the best for me in terms of frame rate, and play as close to the original systems as possible. The only downside I've found with them is that the picture quality is muddy compared to the other emulators. The other emulators look gorgeous, but their frame rates don't match the oids.

The "-oid" emulators seem to have a more stable framerate, but at the cost of it being lower than the newer emulators.  IMHO, the "slideshow" effect is much more noticeable in the older ones.

 

I also see that the "-oid" emulators don't offer any filtering options, which I find quite odd.  Maybe if they offered more tweaking, the end result would be higher fps?



#1120 Tyga24   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1169 Posts   Joined 13.4 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 09:38 PM

You don't have to hold for pickup. Most of us just did that because stores typically carry a small number of these and didn't want to waste the drive. If you grab one from the shelf and walk to the register it should come up $16.97 and the dock should be $4.97.


Thanks for the info as there's a couple of Gamestops a little away from me but worth checking out with all the great responses here.

#1121 zebular   OG Gamer CAGiversary!   683 Posts   Joined 6.7 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 09:52 PM

Wow.

 

I'm not lazy in the least...

 

Everything installed was not from a google account. Updates to apps- plug-ins for apps- Mapping controls within apps- the roms are in different places as well.

 

Just the android settings of the stick and then the individual settings of every app installed take a great deal of time to set and get right.

 

Perhaps you have unlimited time to do this stuff, I do not. Thanks for your answers, but...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

Does anyone else have any constructive answers to my original post?

 

 

 

Here is my original questions again:

 

 

I'm not yet very familiar at all with inner-workings/procedures/structures of android...

 

Is there a relatively easy way to duplicate (exact same structure, apps, etc.) one Game Stick to a second?

 

Is it possible to clone an an exact copy of an existing Game Stick to a second Game Stick (both sticks already modded to CF 1.4) without having to manually set the second stick up from scratch?

 

Any procedures that could be shared would be appreciated...

Get Titanium Backup from the Google Play Store.



#1122 Narse   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   53 Posts   Joined 13.6 Years Ago  

Posted 16 January 2015 - 10:16 PM

So am I.

 

The "-oid" emulators seem to have a more stable framerate, but at the cost of it being lower than the newer emulators.  IMHO, the "slideshow" effect is much more noticeable in the older ones.

 

I also see that the "-oid" emulators don't offer any filtering options, which I find quite odd.  Maybe if they offered more tweaking, the end result would be higher fps?

Hm, I'm not getting the lower framerates that you are. The oids are running fast and smooth for me, whereas the others can be choppy and just run slower in general. If it weren't for the muddier picture, it would be perfect.



#1123 baengel98   DIC CAGiversary!   2105 Posts   Joined 4.1 Years Ago  

baengel98

Posted 17 January 2015 - 12:33 AM

13 days after the original post was made every gamestick in my area is now sold out. There were 13 stores (out of 13 stores) within 100 miles of me that had this (I'm assuming one each) and now they are all OOS.

A big thank you to zebular for allowing me to easily watch Justice League Throne of Atlantis on my big screen tv today.

#1124 elbarto1  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 02:05 AM

Yeah they've sold out in most stores near me as well. I've bought 4 sets myself for my 2 tv's and giving away to family/friends but yeah, this thread seems to have helped gamestop unload them.
It's my favorite new toy of 2015.

#1125 ParanoidCitizen   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

ParanoidCitizen

Posted 17 January 2015 - 02:31 AM

Using this controller http://www.amazon.co...asin=B002B9XB0E and a 9ft usb extension right now and am getting great performace out of it with the emulators. 

 

Gonna pick up this genesis one soon. http://www.amazon.co...asin=B00HM3QAWK



#1126 sweeetja713   Damn you CAG mobile theme! CAGiversary!   2405 Posts   Joined 12.3 Years Ago  

sweeetja713

Posted 17 January 2015 - 02:50 AM

Mine was working fine but now the launcher keeps freezing. And anytime I run an app it'll work fine for a while and then become unresponsive. I guess you get what you pay for

Check under your keyboard input to see if it has gamepad checked as a keyboard input. This happened to me and was causing me to think mine was defective. Unchecking it fixed it. I also have the greyed out Android keyboard. I assume it is from having the wireless keyboard off before I started the system. I haven't gotten the chance to get home and restart to test.

I am using a logitech wireless home keyboard w track pad setup and a wireless 360 controller. Sometimes the controller gets turned on before the keyboard and while I didn't get the chance to test after I figured out what was causing the crash, I am pretty sure it's powering on the controller before the wireless keyboard.

#1127 1teaney  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:04 AM

Using this controller http://www.amazon.co...asin=B002B9XB0E and a 9ft usb extension right now and am getting great performace out of it with the emulators.

Gonna pick up this genesis one soon. http://www.amazon.co...asin=B00HM3QAWK


How do you plan on connecting the Genesis controller to the game stick. Do they make a Genesis to USB adapter?

#1128 xbx4lfe   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   48 Posts   Joined 10.4 Years Ago  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:23 AM

just got two Gamesticks and docks. Will be toying with them tonight .



#1129 Sean Price   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   167 Posts   Joined 9.5 Years Ago  

Sean Price

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:47 AM

Holy crap, just read everything from page 1 up to now page 38....

 

My brain is MUSH...

 

bout to go grab one, a dock and an extra controller right now... 

 

Basically the draw on this is Android on a stick for $17  and the cherry on top is that it can do EMULATION and Stream movies/videos

 

 

Am I missing anything?

 

oNe



#1130 ParanoidCitizen   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

ParanoidCitizen

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:48 AM

How do you plan on connecting the Genesis controller to the game stick. Do they make a Genesis to USB adapter?

Sorry posted the wrong link. It's this one. http://www.amazon.co...asin=B00KX75UT6

 

Also they do make usb adapters for all the old controllers. Check out this site. http://www.retrousb....ex.php?cPath=21



#1131 zebular   OG Gamer CAGiversary!   683 Posts   Joined 6.7 Years Ago  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:49 AM

Using this controller http://www.amazon.co...asin=B002B9XB0E and a 9ft usb extension right now and am getting great performace out of it with the emulators. 

 

Gonna pick up this genesis one soon. http://www.amazon.co...asin=B00HM3QAWK

Mayflash makes some really good retro to usb converters as well.
http://mayflash.com/Products/PCUSB/



#1132 ParanoidCitizen   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 10.6 Years Ago  

ParanoidCitizen

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:54 AM

Mayflash makes some really good retro to usb converters as well.
http://mayflash.com/Products/PCUSB/

Thanks for the heads up. I'll probably end up picking up an N64 adapter from them down the line. 



#1133 keyblader1985   Wait, what? CAGiversary!   2968 Posts   Joined 5.7 Years Ago  

keyblader1985

Posted 17 January 2015 - 04:02 AM

Got the PS2 USB adapter I ordered... and I can't get the buttons to work. Not with the -oid apps anyway. The Dpad works but that's it.

I'll try some other emulators, unless someone knows a solution to this?

#1134 postermen   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   33 Posts   Joined 14.0 Years Ago  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 06:25 AM

Is there any app I can download to control this?  I just need something to use for netflix and other streaming sites for my mother in law.



#1135 Brick Frog  

Brick Frog

Posted 17 January 2015 - 10:13 AM

According to this link: http://forum.unity3d...e-60fps.201092/ this thing is capped at 50 FPS. Bummer. 

 

I'm wondering if anyone has talked about the possibility to remove the cap so it can run 60 FPS instead. The android version of Sonic 2 runs ok at 50 but I can tell that it's just a bit slower than how it runs on my Droid Turbo at 60.



#1136 Kogami  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 10:41 AM

Which is the best emulator to run on this? I have all my roms on my sd and have tried retroarch but once it opens a rom it wont close it to open another.



#1137 1teaney  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 02:46 PM

Which is the best emulator to run on this? I have all my roms on my sd and have tried retroarch but once it opens a rom it wont close it to open another.


If you have a mouse connected right click is the equivalent of the back button.

That being said does anyone know the Android keyboard shortcut for Home?

#1138 pfiffy   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   38 Posts   Joined 13.7 Years Ago  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:13 PM

If you have a mouse connected right click is the equivalent of the back button.

That being said does anyone know the Android keyboard shortcut for Home?

 

Not a direct answer to your question, I suppose, but...

 

I have used a Logitech K400 wireless USB keyboard with built-in touchpad and it works extremely well to control android. It has a "home" button on the top of the keyboard which always seems to work. That said, I don't know the key command for the "home" button; it just works out of the box.

 

I have used this keyboard along side of various controllers to great success; in fact I've found it so much easier, I just use both the K400 and various (bluetooth, USB wired/wireless) controller combo most of the time. I recommend the combo if you have the space for a full-sized keyboard.



#1139 HyperG   GamersVlog.com CAGiversary!   2892 Posts   Joined 6.2 Years Ago  

Posted 17 January 2015 - 03:41 PM

Holy crap, just read everything from page 1 up to now page 38....

 

My brain is MUSH...

 

bout to go grab one, a dock and an extra controller right now... 

 

Basically the draw on this is Android on a stick for $17  and the cherry on top is that it can do EMULATION and Stream movies/videos

 

 

Am I missing anything?

 

oNe

Would make better sense if the OP had frequently asked questions, as not everybody has the time to (re)read through 100+ pages. I suppose I'm going to today though since I need to make time to see if my gamestick even works. Might just make notes myself and if I do I will post on my blog.



#1140 The Carrot Cake Kid   Luvs Creamy Frosting CAGiversary!   1499 Posts   Joined 8.7 Years Ago  

The Carrot Cake Kid

Posted 17 January 2015 - 04:02 PM

Trying to install Genesis on a second Gamestick (first one was successful) and it's saying its incompatible. What am I doing wrong? It says dependencies not met at the bottom.

Maybe I need to update SPMC? Can't remember how I got the first stick to work. Was a couple weeks ago.