Starting a Business. Tips for Registering a Company?

Lieutenant Dan

CAGiversary!
Feedback
10 (100%)
Anyone have any experience in registering a company? From what I've researched, an LLC looks like it will meet my needs.

The next question seems to be in which state do I register? As background, this be starting as a one-man game/app development company and will be entirely internet-based. I think that opens up my options for registering in a different state. My home state (PA) appears to charge high registration and recurring annual fees.

The primary reason for my starting the company is to avoid personal liability, despite the fact that the odds of running into that situation should be very low. Better safe than sorry!

I'd like to avoid engaging a lawyer to answer these kinds of questions for me; hopefully that's possible.

I'm not a lawyer and this isn't legal advice, but I started an LLC earlier this year myself for one-man game development, so I can share my experiences.  The following is based on what I've done and what I've read online when I was doing my research.

As you found out, LLCs are probably the best option most of the time for this sort of thing.  I thought about forming an S Corp for a while, but LLCs usually have lower taxes (because of pass-through taxing) and fewer formal requirements.

Note that a single-member LLC is going to be viewed differently in some ways versus an LLC with several owners.  One article I read went so far as to suggest giving a small percentage of your company (maybe 4% or 5%) to someone else you trust-- maybe a relative, but not someone as close as your spouse.  The author's reasoning was that courts would be more likely to uphold your company's status that way if you ever had liabilities to fight, rather than risking having them throw that out and just view your company as a sole proprietorship.